Indian Presidential Race 2012


Published on

This Presentation will provide you the optimum details about selection,eligibility,nominees.history,introduction Of President Of India.!

Published in: News & Politics, Education
1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Indian Presidential Race 2012

  1. 1. Prepared By:- Rupendra Shaikul Akram
  2. 2.  India achieved independence from the UnitedKingdom, on 15 August 1947, as a Dominionwithin the Commonwealth of Nations. Under the new constitution, India became arepublic. The office of Governor-General and roleof the King were swept aside, being replaced bythe new office of President of India and Dr. RajendraPrasad became the first President.
  3. 3.  The President of India is the head of state of the Republic of India. The President is the formal head of thelegislature, executive and judiciary branches ofIndian Democracy and is the commander-in-chiefof the Indian Armed Forces. On 25 July 2007, Pratibha Devisingh Patil becamethe 12th and the current President and also thefirst woman to serve in the office. The 14th indirect presidential election will be heldin India on July 19th 2012 to elect the 13th Presidentof India. The last date for filing nominations is the 30 ofJune while the counting of votes is set to be done on the22nd of July 2012.
  4. 4. A citizen of India Of 35 years of age or above Qualified to become a member of the Lok Sabha Certain office-holders, however, are permitted to stand as Presidential candidates. These are:-The current Vice President.-The Governor of any State.-A Minister of the Union or of any State (Including Prime Minister and Chief Ministers).
  5. 5.  Whenever the office becomes vacant, the new President is chosen by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both houses of Parliament, the elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies (Vidhan Sabha) and the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry.
  6. 6. Party/Alliance PercentageUPA - TMC 37.6%NDA 28%SP 6.2%Left 4.7%TMC 4.4%BSP 3.9%AIADMK 3.3%BJD 2.7%
  7. 7.  -Manmohan Singh, present Prime Minister of India-Pranab Mukherjee, present Finance Minister of India-Hamid Ansari, present Vice President of India-A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, former President of India-Gopal Krishna Gandhi, former Governor of West Bengal and grandson of Mahatma Gandhi-P. A. Sangma, senior NCP leader from Meghalaya and former Speaker of the Loksabha-Meira Kumar, present Speaker of the Loksabha-Somnath Chatterjee, former Speaker of the Loksabha
  8. 8.  On Wednesday,TMC chief Mamta Banerjee had got SP Chief Mulayam singh yadav on her side to reject Sonia Gandhi’s nominees Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee and Vice-President Hamid Ansari as Presidential Candidates. Congress general seceratary Janardan Dwivedi declared after the meeting with Sonia Gandhi that party cannot afford former president APJ Abdul Kalam ,Somnath Chaterjee and PM Manmohan Singh as Presidents, suggested by Mamta Banerjee. Although the BJP hasn’t made it Official but many of its leaders have said that they would have no objection to Kalam’s Candidature.
  9. 9.  We would like to choose former president of India Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam as our future President. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam(born 15 October 1931), is an Indian scientist and administrator who served as the 11th President of India from 26 July 2002 to 24 July 2007.Why?????? After graduating from Madras Institute of Technology (MIT – Chennai) in 1960, Kalam joined Aeronautical Development Establishment of Defense Research and Development Organization as a chief scientist. There, Kalam started his career by designing a small helicopter for theIndian Army A. P. J. Abdul Kalams 79th birthday was recognised as World Students Day by United Nations. He also has received honorary doctorates from 40 universities. The Government of Indiahas honoured him with the Padma Bhushan in 1981 and the Padma Vibhushan in 1990 for his work with ISRO and DRDO and his role as a scientific advisor to the Government.
  10. 10.  In 1997, Kalam received Indias highest civilian honour, the prestigious Bharat Ratna for his immense and valuable contribution to the scientific research and modernisation of defence technology. He was the second scientist after the late Homi Bhabha to receive this award. In May 2011, Kalam launched his mission for the youth of the nation called the What Can I Give Movement with a central theme to defeat corruption. He was nominated for the MTV Youth Icon of the Year award in 2003. In his book India 2020, Kalam strongly advocates an action plan to develop India into a knowledge superpower and a developed nation by the year 2020. Kalam had taken credit of inventing the Agni,Prithvi, and Aakash missile system.