Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.



Published on

Published in: Technology, Art & Photos
  • Be the first to comment


  1. 1. Chapter 18: Classification
  2. 2. Binomial Nomenclature <ul><li>Binomial nomenclature is when a two word system for naming different species. The first word is genus, and the second is species. The reason for this two part name is so it is universal and understood by people across the world. </li></ul>
  3. 3. Linnaeus’s System of Classification <ul><li>The seven categories of classification are kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species. </li></ul>
  4. 4. Problems with Traditional Classification <ul><li>Is a dolphin a fish or a mammal? That is a question that people in Linnaeus’s time had problems with. Although dolphins live in water and have fins like fish, they are warm blooded and breath air like mammals. </li></ul>
  5. 5. Cladograms <ul><li>Cladograms are diagrams that represents evolutionary relationships between organisms. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Molecular Clocks <ul><li>A molecular clock is a diagram that represents a certain amount of time that two species have evolved separately. Molecular clocks use DNA comparisons to do this. </li></ul>
  7. 7. Kingdoms and Domains <ul><li>There are six categories of life called kingdoms. They are Eubacteria, Archaebacteria, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. There are three bigger categories called domains. They are Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukara. </li></ul>
  8. 8. Domain Bacteria <ul><li>Organisms in the domain of bacteria are unicellular, prokaryotic organisms. Some are harmful, like parasites, and some aren’t. Some of the bacteria need oxygen and others don’t need it. </li></ul>
  9. 9. Domain Archaea <ul><li>Archaea are like Bacteria, in the sense that they are prokaryotic and unicellular. They live in in harsh environments where other organisms could not survive. </li></ul>
  10. 10. Domain Eukarya <ul><li>Eukarya contains Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. All eukaryotic organisms except most protists are multicellular and they all have nuclei. </li></ul>