Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

2010 AHP Champion Award Presentation


Published on

The 2010 AHP Champion Award was presented to the following individuals on June 19, 2010 at the AHP 40th Anniversary Seminar in Lexington, Kentucky.

Walt Wiggins, 1977-1978 President – Quarter Racing World
Erbert Eades, 1978-1979 President – The Blood-Horse
Don Price, 1979-1980 President – Michigan Harness Horseman
Les Ford, 1985-1986 President – The Harness Horse
Thom Mezick, 1986-1987 President – Horsemen’s Corral
Peter Winants, 1987-1988 President - The Chronicle of the Horse
Tracy Gantz, 1988-1989 President – The Thoroughbred of California
Chris Brune, 1989-1990 President, 1992 to present, Executive Director – Eastern/Western Quarter Horse Journal
Bill Shepard, 1990-1991 President – Paint Horse Journal
Nancy Lee Comer, 1991-1992 President – The Chronicle of the Horse
Karl Little, 1992-1993 President – Cutting Horse Chatter
Jennifer Forsberg Meyer, 1993-1994 President – California Horse Review

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

2010 AHP Champion Award Presentation

  1. 1. AHP presents the AHP Champion Award to individuals for their distinguished service to the association and its growth. Collectively, the winners become the AHP Circle of Champions. The recipients of this award are individuals who were instrumental in the development and growth of American Horse Publications. Each recipient receives a commemorative pin, individual plaque, and their names honored online at the AHP web site. The Executive Committee presented its recommendations for nominees at its mid-year Board Meeting, where the Board approved awarding the 2010 AHP Champion Award to 12 individuals. The first three Champions were all involved in the development of AHP programs.
  2. 2. Walt Wiggins Quarter Racing World 1977-1978 AHP President
  3. 3. Erbert Eades The Blood-Horse 1978-1979 AHP President
  4. 4. Don Price Michigan Harness Horseman 1979-1980 AHP President
  5. 5. The next three Champions really paid their dues through some rough times in the association. And we were holding two seminars a year.
  6. 6. Les Ford The Harness Horse 1985-1986 AHP President
  7. 7. Thom Mezick The Horsemen’s Corral 1986-1987 AHP President
  8. 8. Peter Winants The Chronicle of the Horse 1987-1988 AHP President
  9. 9. While the association was still in a transitional period in AHP history, the next three presidents’ terms were fun and on the cusp of the change.
  10. 10. Tracy Gantz The Thoroughbred of California 1988-1989 AHP President
  11. 11. Chris Brune Eastern/Western Quarter Horse Journal 1989-1990 AHP President 1992-present Executive Director
  12. 12. Bill Shepard Paint Horse Journal 1990-1991 AHP President
  13. 13. The presidency took on more responsibilities for the next three honorees as the awards contest expanded and membership grew.
  14. 14. Nancy Lee Comer The Chronicle of the Horse 1991-1992 AHP President
  15. 15. Karl Little Cutting Horse Chatter 1992-1993 AHP President
  16. 16. Jennifer Forsberg Meyer California Horse Review 1993-1994 AHP President
  17. 17. Arnold Kirkpatrick (Thoroughbred Record) Lucille Shuler (Arabian Horse World) Melvin Peavey (Horse World) Don Valliere (Turf & Sport Digest) Alexander Mackay-Smith (The Chronicle of the Horse) Snowden Carter (Maryland Horse)
  18. 18. Tony Chamblin (The Horsemen’s Journal) Ruth Brown (Eastern/Western Quarter Horse Journal) Stanley F. Bergstein (Hoof Beats) Bob Gray (Horseman) Audie Rackley (The Quarter Horse Journal)
  19. 19. Walt Wiggins (Quarter Racing World) Erbert Eades (The Blood-Horse) Don Price (Michigan Harness Horseman) Les Ford (The Harness Horse) Thom Mezick (Horsemen’s Corral) Peter Winants (The Chronicle of the Horse) Tracy Gantz (The Thoroughbred of California) Chris Brune (Eastern/Western Quarter Horse Journal) Bill Shepard (Paint Horse Journal) Nancy Lee Comer (The Chronicle of the Horse) Karl Little (Cutting Horse Chatter) Jennifer Forsberg Meyer (California Horse Review)