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Hey, you should play this!

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User acquisition essons learnt from delivering over 100 million game installs. Delivered at the Social Games Summit at GDC Europe 2011 in August 2011.

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Hey, you should play this!

  1. 1. Hey! !You should play this!!
  2. 2. “This is the most promiscuous app audience in thehistory of mankind”! Bing Gordon! VC @ Kleiner Perkins! Ex-Chief Creative Officer / EA! (CC) Steve Lacey!
  3. 3. !"#$#%#&$
  4. 4. !"#$#%#&$
  5. 5. Trivial to try & switch.! ! Gazillion games. ! !How do you stand out?! ! Can you turn "the enemy to a friend?!
  6. 6. Distribution! App stores! Social!Advertising! Cross promo! Brand! Press! Viral! Organic!
  7. 7. Lots of traffic, scalable, predictable, doable! Distribution! App stores! Social!Advertising! Cross promo!
  8. 8. Advertising" Pay upfront as long as cost < LTV!.()/-$+,)-$ !"()*!+,)-$ 0,%,1#*$@&<%!%()*&+,*!.6+.,<! "#$#%&!%()*&+,*! E2%<.2)3&!%5&!:2/#,*!7.<%!2<&)<!(-(#1(:1&! "#$#%&!#,-&,%.)/!A%(:1&! 0123%2(+,*!42(1#%/! F(,#*(,<!7.<%!&96&,<#-&! ".%!35&(6&)! >G()1.)! 7.)&!8&9#:1&!6)#3#,*;&(1<! 0#B<2!0(3&:..B!(<! "#=&<%)&&%!7&#(! 2%3#%45(6#*$! >7.:! @(,,&!.,!#EAH!>,).#I!>661&!C!D..*1&!<5.21! 012))/! ".J&)!42(1#%/!2<&)<!$(B&!%5#<!(<!&(</!(<!0@! >661#?&)! A3(1(:1&! K(6L./!
  9. 9. Distribution" No upfront risk, revenue share of LTV!<(/-)(=>-8)/$ 78)-,9/:+9,;8)&/$ 7>=9(/"#)/$F.,R&9312<#-&! M9312<#-#%/!-()#&<! K#$&!;!=211!&9312<#-#%/!N&-<5()&!.=!)&=&))&!2<&)<! N&-<5()&!.,!32))&,3/! N&-<5()&!.,!&-&)/%5#,*!F.!OG!%)(,<=&)! F.!OG!%)(,<=&)! OG!%)(,<=&)!T=211;1#$#%&U!O,3)&$&,%(1!)&-&,2&! O,%&*)(%&!2<&)!&96&)#&,3&! V&-&1.6$&,%!=2,#,*!TIU! P2<%.$!&-&1.6$&,%! W0211!<&)-#3&X! A.3#(1!<5()#,*! P2<%.$!&-&1.6$&,%! !>661#?&)! 7.:(*&! YJ(-&<!E6&,=&#,%! G(6(/(! N.3BZ.2!>S1#(%&!,&%J.)B<! Q.,*)&*(%&! P5#11#,*.[!G1(/?<5!;!M>!
  10. 10. Social" Free distribution through social network!.,3#=88?@$A8819#B$ (CD$ E%*)8(*$A.3#(1!<5()#,*[!#,-#%&<! D($&P&,%&)!c!<.3#(1!^Hd! e5(%!<.3#(1I!cU!#)(1#%/!#<!1#$#%&! @2%!#%b<!=)&&[!2<&!#%H! !QR=(3%.)!]!^H_! ! !! E6&,=&#,%!! E6&,=&#,%!"#$#%&!2<&=21,&<<!=.)!#EA! 0&(%2)&!1&(&)[!:#*!(2#&,3&! 0&(%2)&!1&(&)[!*..!<%()%!C!>,).#!`!&96&3%!%.! "&-&)(*&!#%[!#%b<!=)&&H! "&-&)(*&!#%[!#%b<!=)&&H!#$6).-&! !!7(9#$#a&!#%H!O%b<!=)&&H!!
  11. 11. App Stores" If you win the lottery!(CD$ E%*)8(*$ .,3#=88?@$A8819#B$G2)&!(J&<.$&,&<<!%.!*&%! G2)&!(J&<.$&,&<<!%.!*&%! 0@!B#11&!%5&!(66!#)&3%.)/!=&(%2)&H!P5(,3&<I!".2</H! =&(%2)&H!P5(,3&<I!@&g&)! D..*1&h!i<!=2%2)&!2,31&()!! !A#$61&!KEG!1#<%!(1*.)#%5$! @1(3B!:.9!KEG!1#<+,*<!!  f<&!<3(1&(:1&!<.2)3&<! 7235!5()&)!%.!W*($&X! %.!*&%!%.!KEG!1#<%!! !M96&3%!>661&!%.!?9!%5#<! N(6#!#%&)(+.,!.,!!! >,).#!7()B&%!D&,#2<I! ! !
  12. 12. Cross promotion"Free distribution through sharing traffic! CF%$+8);89(8$ G)8//$+)8&8$%#-F8)?$ A26&):!&3.,.$#&<!.=!<3(1&! O$6).-&!&3.,.$#&<! f<&)!"K!c!"KT*($&U!j!F! f<&)!61(/!.%5&)!*($&<!(,/J(/! P.<%<!c!P.<%T2<&)U!j!k! F.!3.<%<! F&&!$(,/!<233&<<=21!*($&<! E,&!*($&!#<!&,.2*5! E,1/!=.)!:#**&<%!3.$6(,#&<! >,/:./!3(,!2<&!#%! ! O,3)&$&,%(1!%.!(11!.%5&)!2<&)!(342#<#+.,!
  13. 13. E*$+)(3#/$ H(),9(-$ I(J$,%K$
  14. 14. A#-$%#F$>/#)/$J8)$J)##$ L#@$8>$9(?#$1,&#/M$L8F$,=8>-$/8&#$&8)#N$
  15. 15. O8)?/$J8)$+>=9(/"#)/$
  16. 16. P/#)/$F,%-$1,&#/$
  17. 17. Average 6 games / month!n!Y!d!m!_!l!k!^! 7.,%51/! e&&B1/!
  18. 18. Younger = more games!o!n!Y!d!m! 7.,%51/!_! e&&B1/!l!k!^! f,&)! ko!%.!lm! ld!%.!_m! _d!%.!mm! md!%.!dm! E-&)!dm! ko!/&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<!
  19. 19. Old men with time to spare?!o!n!Y!d!m! 7.,%51/!_! e&&B1/!l!k!^! f,&)! ko!%.!lm! ld!%.!_m! _d!%.!mm! md!%.!dm! E-&)!dm! 0&$(1&! 7(1&!dm! ko!/&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! .-&)!dm! /&()<!
  20. 20. More people try new games Thursday-Friday!l^p!kop!kYp!kmp!klp!k^p! op! Yp! mp! lp! ^p! 7.,(/! K2&<(/! e&,&<(/! K52)<(/! 0)#(/! A(%2)(/! A2,(/! Note: !% of new users per weekday of total new users over a week. " ! !Days are UTC.!
  21. 21. Tips for high performing ads! Clear value proposition! Brand! Faces! Colors! Unexpected! Freshness!
  22. 22. Genres with best ad CTR" (compared to average CTR)!lH^!kHo!kHY!kHm!kHl!kH^!^Ho!^HY!^Hm!^Hl!^H^!
  23. 23. Most addictive genres" (average # of sessions per game in genre) !k[l^^!k[^^^! o^^! Y^^! m^^! l^^! ^! Note: !# of sessions is internal metric, not directly same as game sessions ! !Data may be skewed due to certain games reloading pages often!
  24. 24. 1. Metrics! Don’t fly blind!Double down on best channels!
  25. 25. 2. Diversity!Don’t rely on one channel! Experiment!
  26. 26. 3. Scalable! Put your resources "into channels that scale! Play the lottery, " but don’t depend on it!
  27. 27. 4. Own or outsource!Either dedicate real resources" or get a publisher! It’s a marathon!
  28. 28. 5. Think big!Leverage success to new titles!Build a portfolio or borrow one with cross-promotion!
  29. 29. Get new users for free! www.applifier.com!

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