Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Where to find German Connections in Vancouver 2018

42 views

Published on

These are the 7 main questions I get asked over and over by newcomers, people wishing to immigrate and locals who hope to hire someone German-speaking. My blog & magazine answer these and many more questions: Westcoast German News & Das Schwarze Brett Magazine. The background song is by Richard Type and the S-Bahn Band "So Much Happy Oktoberfest Cheer".

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Where to find German Connections in Vancouver 2018

  1. 1. The top 7 Questions sent to Westcoast German News http://www.westcoastgermannews.com
  2. 2. How can I immigrate to Canada?  There are a few German Canadian immigration specialists you might want to contact:  Kerstin Hewel – specializes in immigration & citizenship matters - https://khewel.com/en/about  Monika Sievers-Redekop LLM – immigration citizenship applications, based inVancouver & Hamburg - http://www.redekopimmigrationlaw.com  Antya Schrack – assistance with immigration, visitor, student visas + work permits - http://www.immigrate-to-canada.ca
  3. 3. Where can I find a job?  www.craigslist.org - findVancouver, BC  www.westcoastgermannews.com - German Canadian Blog  www.linkedin.com - type in tags in search bar (bartender etc.)  www.indeed.ca - a school is seeking an administrator now!  www.workopolis.com = choose location, company, type  www.wowjobs.ca - search by relevance, distance within, posted, employer or location
  4. 4. German Bread – where is it?  Andy’s Bakehouse – www.facebook.com/andysbakehaus/  Artisan Bake Shop – http://artisanbakeshoppe.ca  European Breads www.europeanbreads.com  Gesundheit Bakery – www.gesundheitbakery.ca  Rich Lea Bakery – www.richleabakery.ca  Altmaerker German Sausage House - www.altmaerker.ca  There are also German Rye products at some supermarkets
  5. 5. Need a German-speaking employee  Short-term, you can post the employee you are looking for in the blog: www.westcoastgermannews.com  Long-term, you can post the employee you are looking for in the magazine “Das Schwarze Brett”  Contact the www.germancanadianbusiness.com - the German Canadian Businesses Association may know someone  Craigslist is the main site – www.craigslist.org
  6. 6. Where to watch theWorld Cup  Vancouver Alpen Club - http://vancouveralpenclub.ca - will specialize in the German games  Blenheim Pub - http://www.blenheimpub.com - only showing the Germany vs. Sweden game on June 23, 2018 at 11 am.  Manchester Public Eater - “Official German House”  http://jenningsculture.com/manchester-public-eatery.html  Red Card Sports Bar - http://www.redcardsportsbar.ca -  Where the German Language Meetup Group watches games
  7. 7. Networking with other Germans  www.germancanadianbusinesses - for Germans living and working inVancouver, BC, or for anyone selling German products or services inVancouver, BC  http://www.swisscanadianchamber.com - build business and networking opportunities for Switzerland & western Canada  Austrian Canadian Council – located in Ottawahttp://www.austrian-canadian- council.ca/WebPages/ACC%20Mission.html  German Canadian Chamber of Commerce Inc.http://kanada.ahk.de/en/
  8. 8. Meeting other Germans  Vancouver German Language & Culture Group - https://www.meetup.com/german-21/  Swiss Society - http://www.swiss-society.org  Swiss Outdoors Club - http://www.swiss- society.org/outdoors-club  Tyrol Ski and Mountain Club - http://www.tyrolskiclub.com  Vancouver Alpen Club – www.vancouveralpenclub.ca - they offer Skat Group Nights, Alpenplattler dancing, choirs etc.
  9. 9. Do you have any other questions?  Contact me through Facebook messenger, 604 828 8788 or admin@westcoastgermannews.com  My next issue of “Das Schwarze Brett” magazine will come out on September 1st and I want to add a classified section, with 5 lines of text for $25 to join.  I am Elke Porter, secretary of the German Canadian Business Association, blogger for Westcoast German News, teacher at the Westside German School and moderator of “Germans in Vancouver” and “Westcoast German News” Facebook pages

×