Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

How to spend your marketingbudget? - Talk by Ward van Gasteren

60 views

Published on

A Growth Hacking expert explaining how to find your most valuable marketing-channel, and where you should spend your budget.

Published in: Marketing
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

How to spend your marketingbudget? - Talk by Ward van Gasteren

  1. 1. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands How To Know Where Your Marketingbudget is Worth Most Ward van Gasteren
  2. 2. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands About me Clients I help you grow ● Higher website conversion ● More traffic & leads ● Marketing efficiency I don’t just do it: I’ll teach you and show you step-by-step how to do it.
  3. 3. We’ll start with the hardest question... May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  4. 4. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands What is Growth Hacking?
  5. 5. Became a buzzword... May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  6. 6. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands It’s not... Magic Tips & Tricks Attracting visitors
  7. 7. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands It’s not... Magic Tips & Tricks Attracting visitors Instead it is.. Datadriven It’s a process Convert & nurture
  8. 8. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Growth Hacking is... ...a process focused on customer-growth using experiments based on data, user-behaviour and well-known practices.
  9. 9. But I understand it’s confusing May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  10. 10. Growth Hacking vs. Marketing May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  11. 11. Growth Hacking vs. Marketing May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  12. 12. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Some well-known Growth Hacks
  13. 13. Hotmail May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  14. 14. Hotmail May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 12 million users in 18 months after launch
  15. 15. Hotmail May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 12 million users in 18 months after launch (In 1997 there were only 70 million people with internet)
  16. 16. Dropbox May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  17. 17. Dropbox May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com sep 2008 > jan 2010 = 100.000 > 4.000.000
  18. 18. Dropbox May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com sep 2008 > jan 2010 = 100.000 > 4.000.000 In just april 2010 there were 2,8 million invites send.
  19. 19. We work with a system May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  20. 20. We work with a system May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  21. 21. Facebook May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Referral TwitterMail AdWords Google
  22. 22. Facebook May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Referral TwitterMail AdWords Google
  23. 23. Facebook May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Referral TwitterMail AdWords Google
  24. 24. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  25. 25. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Reach on FB + Google + email Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue
  26. 26. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Number of people 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reach on FB + Google + email Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue
  27. 27. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Calculate average customer lifetime value 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue ● 1 Ticket = $ 10
  28. 28. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Calculate average customer lifetime value 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue ● 1 Ticket = $ 10 ● On average people visit 1,5 times
  29. 29. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Calculate average customer lifetime value 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue ● 1 Ticket = $ 10 ● On average people visit 1,5 times ● 1 in 2 people tell a friend about us
  30. 30. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Calculate average customer lifetime value 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue ● 1 Ticket = $ 10 ● On average people visit 1,5 times ● 1 in 2 people tell a friend about us CLTV = 1,5 x 10 + (0,5 x 10)
  31. 31. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Calculate average customer lifetime value 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue ● 1 Ticket = $ 10 ● On average people visit 1,5 times ● 1 in 2 people tell a friend about us CLTV = 1,5 x 10 + (0,5 x 10) = $20
  32. 32. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue CLTV = $20 Conversion rate = 11.000 reached > 250 cust.
  33. 33. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue CLTV = $20 Conversion rate = 11.000 reached > 250 cust. 44 reached > 1 cust.
  34. 34. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue CLTV = $20 Conversion rate = 11.000 reached > 250 cust. 44 reached > 1 cust. = 2,27 %
  35. 35. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 11.000 450 900 300 250 125 Reached people Website-visitors Number of contactdetails Number of 1st time visits Number of 2nd/3rd/4th/etc. visits Reach by word-of-mouth (WOM) Retention Revenue CLTV = $20 Conversion rate = 11.000 reached > 250 cust. 44 reached > 1 cust. = 2,27 % $20 x 2,27% = $ 0,45
  36. 36. Facebook May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Referral TwitterMail AdWords Google CLTV = $26 Conv. = 3,5% 1 visit = $0,91 CLTV = $18 Conv. = 1,8% 1 visit = $0,32 CLTV = $11 Conv. = 0,8% 1 visit = $0,09 CLTV = $20 Conv. = 2,2% 1 visit = $0,44 CLTV = $15 Conv. = 0,8% 1 visit = $0,12 CLTV = $21 Conv. = 5,2% 1 visit = $1,09
  37. 37. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands www.bit.ly/attribution-ward Want to learn how?
  38. 38. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands How to take advantage of this knowledge?
  39. 39. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Click-through-rate 11.000 450 900 300 250 100 Retention Revenue 82% 50% 66% 84% 50%
  40. 40. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 11.000 450 900 300 250 100 Retention Revenue 82% 50% 66% 84% 50%
  41. 41. How to find your most valuable channel? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com 11.000 450 900 300 250 100 Retention Revenue 82% 50% 66% 84% 50% 2% 20% 50% 20% 15% Sorry this is more realistic...
  42. 42. How to improve each fase? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Awareness Acquisition Activation Revenue Retention Referral
  43. 43. How to improve each fase? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  44. 44. How to improve each fase? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  45. 45. How to improve each fase? May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  46. 46. Awareness May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to expand your reach?
  47. 47. Awareness May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to expand your reach? Key question: Where are my potential customers?
  48. 48. Awareness May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to expand your reach? Where are my potential customers?
  49. 49. Awareness May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to expand your reach? Where are my potential customers?
  50. 50. Awareness May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to expand your reach? Where are my potential customers?
  51. 51. Acquisition May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to get somebody to your website?
  52. 52. Acquisition May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to get somebody to your website? How to get someone’s interest?
  53. 53. Acquisition May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to get somebody to your website? How to get someone’s interest? From this book
  54. 54. Activation May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to get someone’s contactdetails?
  55. 55. Activation May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to get someone’s contactdetails? What can you give, that has value for the customer?
  56. 56. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody?
  57. 57. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? Key question: What are someone’s pro’s and con’s?
  58. 58. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? What are someone’s pro’s and con’s?
  59. 59. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? What are someone’s pro’s and con’s?
  60. 60. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? What are someone’s pro’s and con’s? Problem / Solution / Timing
  61. 61. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? What are someone’s pro’s and con’s? Problem / Solution / Timing Try retargeting
  62. 62. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? What are someone’s pro’s and con’s? Problem / Solution / Timing Try retargeting
  63. 63. Revenue May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to convert somebody? What are someone’s pro’s and con’s? Problem / Solution / Timing Try retargeting Better timing
  64. 64. Retention May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to make someone come back?
  65. 65. Retention May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to make someone come back? Key question: How to make the second time better?
  66. 66. Retention Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to make someone come back? How to make the second time better?
  67. 67. Referral May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to stimulate “word-of-mouth”?
  68. 68. Referral May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to stimulate “word-of-mouth”? Key question: What highlevel-emotions do I spark?
  69. 69. Referral May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to stimulate “word-of-mouth”? What highlevel-emotions do I spark?
  70. 70. Referral May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to stimulate “word-of-mouth”? What highlevel-emotions do I spark?
  71. 71. Referral May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to stimulate “word-of-mouth”? What highlevel-emotions do I spark?
  72. 72. Referral May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com How to stimulate “word-of-mouth”? What highlevel-emotions do I spark?
  73. 73. Round-up May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  74. 74. Round-up May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  75. 75. Round-up May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com
  76. 76. Round-up May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Later
  77. 77. Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Questions? Pssst… Let’s connect
  78. 78. May 8 2018 - Breda, Netherlands Ward van Gasteren Growth Hacking Expert www.growwithward.com Let’s connect! www.linkedin.com/in/wardvangasteren

×