Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Clean Energy Ministerial - Digital Media Year+ in Review

This presentation reviews the performance of the Clean Energy Ministerial's digital media platforms - an email newsletter; a large website; and social media accounts on LinkedIn, twitter, Facebook, and YouTube. The review is a "year in review - plus," covering the 15 months from the launch of the twitter, FB, and LinkedIn pages in Feb. 2013 to the conclusion of the CEM's annual meeting in May 2014.

The presentation reviews goals and objectives, defines potential measurements for reporting on each, presents highlights from a detailed review of these measures, and suggests next steps to build on successes and address key challenges.

Related Books

Free with a 30 day trial from Scribd

See all

Related Audiobooks

Free with a 30 day trial from Scribd

See all
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Clean Energy Ministerial - Digital Media Year+ in Review

  1. 1. CLEAN ENERGY MINISTERIAL DIGITAL MEDIA Performance Review & Recommendations Highlights Feb. 2013 through May 2014
  2. 2. 2 SUPPORTING CEM COMMUNICATIONS GOALS CEM communications strive to raise the public profile of the CEM and its achievements. Increased recognition can help drive greater government support and engagement, and broaden CEM’s impact. To meet these goals, CEM’s communications strategy includes media relations, events, positioning, and stakeholder outreach activities. CEM’s digital media platforms support the stakeholder outreach component of the strategy, supporting direct outreach to stakeholders in key target audiences.
  3. 3. 3 OUTREACH OBJECTIVES The objectives of stakeholder outreach include: • Communicating clear and concrete achievements of CEM and initiatives • Informing the ‘engaged’ public of the contributions of CEM and the individual initiatives towards transitioning to a clean energy economy • Providing convincing evidence to industry and technical leaders of the validity and potential and actual impact of CEM initiatives • Increasing the utilization of initiative resources and positive impact from initiative products and services • Using storytelling to more effectively engage with all constituencies, but particularly with the public and other non-technical stakeholders.
  4. 4. 4 ACTIVITIES AND TARGET OUTCOMES Activities Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Newsletter Website Audiences Public CEM governments Policymakers in CEM countries Energy NGOs Climate change constituencies Private sector/industry Outcomes Increased awareness of CEM & its work Increased exposure for CEM information & tools Sustained, year- round discussion about CEM & its work Increased use of CEM information & tools
  5. 5. 5 MEASURING PROGRESS Outcome How can we measure progress in this area? Exposure for CEM information & tools Metrics that address the size and scope of your audience: Followers, impressions, views/opens, extent to which you are reaching target audiences & target countries Awareness of CEM & its work Metrics that address user interest in your content: Likes, shares Discussion about CEM & its work Metrics that address conversation: Replies, comments, mentions of CEM, LinkedIn discussions Use of CEM information & tools Metrics that address content use: Downloads, clicks, video views, page views
  6. 6. 6 THE TRENDS Twitter: High growth and interaction • Fastest growth (994 followers); highest exposure (3,000,000+ impressions); highest shares; highest level of discussion Facebook: Growing platform for public outreach and interaction • Our top platform for shares and for outreach to the public LinkedIn: A growth opportunity • This group could be a strong platform to build discussion with U.S.-based energy sector professionals. YouTube: An enabling foundation • Provides an online archive for our videos, which makes it easier to use them as part of our social media content
  7. 7. 7 THE TRENDS E-newsletter: • Our best platform for outreach to CEM government delegations, with strong user response to our content CEM website: • Our best platform for exposure (views) and use (clicks on CEM tools and resources)
  8. 8. 8 TOP PLATFORM FOR FOLLOWER GROWTH Twitter has our fastest-growing fan base. 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 700 800 900 1000 1/26/2013 3/17/2013 5/6/2013 6/25/2013 8/14/2013 10/3/2013 11/22/2013 1/11/2014 3/2/2014 4/21/2014 6/10/2014 Twitter Followers Facebook Fans LinkedIn Members
  9. 9. 9 TOP PLATFORM FOR IMPRESSIONS We have gained over 3 million total impressions (potential views) on twitter, the highest among our social media platforms. And monthly impressions have risen sharply in 2014. 0 100000 200000 300000 400000 500000 600000 700000 800000 Impressions per Month
  10. 10. 10 CONNECTING WITH TARGET AUDIENCES On twitter, a mix of organizations (below) & individuals – including big players like the IEA & UNFCCC – have retweeted our content or mentioned us.
  11. 11. 11 TOP PLATFORM FOR SHARES (RETWEETS) Twitter is our best platform for shares (retweets) of our content. We are earning a greater number of retweets per tweet over time – reflecting rising awareness and interest in our content. 0 0.2 0.4 0.6 0.8 1 1.2 1.4 2013 Jan - Apr 2014 May 2014 2013 Jan - Apr 2014 May 2014 Facebook Twitter Shares/Retweets and Likes/Favorites per Post or Tweet Likes Shares
  12. 12. 12 TOP PLATFORM FOR DISCUSSION Our fans are using twitter to interact with us in many ways: To respond to our comments To discuss our content, within their network To draw our attention to something To promote/discuss our events To ask questions To add commentary on our tweets
  13. 13. 13 TOP PLATFORM FOR ENGAGING WITH THE PUBLIC Facebook is our top platform for informing and interacting with the public. Among 100 different accounts that have liked/shared our content, about 80% are individuals – members of the energy-interested public. The other 20% are organizations, including some from CEM target audiences: • Energy NGOs: CLASP, IPEEC, Buildings Performance Institute – Europe, Light Up the World, National Green Energy Council • Industry groups: Expo Biomasa, AVEBiom • Climate constituencies: UNFCCC
  14. 14. 14 TOP PLATFORM FOR LIKES 0 0.2 0.4 0.6 0.8 1 1.2 1.4 2013 Jan - Apr 2014 May 2014 2013 Jan - Apr 2014 May 2014 Facebook Twitter Likes Shares 0 20 40 60 80 100 120 Feb-13 Mar-13 Apr-13 May-13 Jun-13 Jul-13 Aug-13 Sep-13 Oct-13 Nov-13 Dec-13 Jan-14 Feb-14 Mar-14 Apr-14 May-14 Likes Likes Facebook is our top platform for likes (thumbs up) on our content. The total number of likes per month has risen over time (left). The number of likes per post is also growing (right), reflecting rising awareness and interest in our content.
  15. 15. 15 MOST LIKED/SHARED FACEBOOK CONTENT Most liked on our page: Most shared on our page:
  16. 16. 16 AN ENABLING PLATFORM Our YouTube account’s biggest strength is that it provides us with an online home for our videos, one that enables us (and others) to easily share them on social media and websites. Total minutes watched: 1,221 Average length of view: • 1 minute, 40 seconds (only 38% of the video, on average) Top content: • Women: A Driving force for Clean Energy: 197 views, 421 minutes • Global Atlas video: 120 views, 321 minutes
  17. 17. 17 AN UNTAPPED OPPORTUNITY? Our LinkedIn group represents a large potential opportunity for outreach, especially in the U.S. energy sector. Members are primarily U.S. professionals – Johannesburg is the only international city in the list of top audience locations. 28% of group members say that they work in the energy sector.
  18. 18. 18 MEMBER-DIRECTED ACTIVITY Our LinkedIn group is self-directed – any group member can begin a discussion. This has enabled the CEM team to spend little time developing and managing the group – no more than 30-60 minutes per week. To date, discussions and replies are very low. But a more focused effort to market the group and build discussion could bring the group to life.
  19. 19. 19 TOP PLATFORM FOR GOVERNMENT OUTREACH Our e-newsletter is our best platform for outreach to CEM governments. A large share of the newsletter’s 2,817 subscribers are members of government delegations. The list includes a smaller percentage of industry members, NGOs, and the public.
  20. 20. 20 STRONG USER RESPONSE The e-newsletter audience is showing strong interest in and response to our newsletter content. Percentage who open the email: • 20%-25%, which is in line with industry averages Percentage who click: • 5%-8%, which is above industry averages 0% 5% 10% 15% 20% 25% 30% Spring 2013 Summer 2013 (Post CEM4) Fall 2013 Winter 2014 Spring 2014 Open and Click Rates for E-Newsletter % who opened % who clicked Industry avg. (government) Industry avg. (government)
  21. 21. 21 A STRONG SOURCE OF CLICKS TO WEBSITE The newsletter has earned 1,623 total clicks across 5 issues. The clicks are broad-based; every article and link receives at least a few clicks. Because the newsletter features CEM content almost exclusively, 99% of these clicks took users to the CEM website. Our most-clicked story: • CEM4 Outcomes: 71 clicks
  22. 22. 22 TOP PLATFORM FOR VIEWS The CEM website is the permanent online home of CEM news, tools, and other content. It is our top source of exposure (views), receiving 262,907 page views in this period. Most-viewed pages: • Home page: 37,669 views; 14.3% of total site page views • CEM4 page: 10,339 views; 3.9% of total • About: 9,694 views; 3.7% of total • CEM5 page: 6,113 views; 2.3% of total The number of page views is holding fairly steady in 2014, with a modest rise in May and June 2014.
  23. 23. 23 TOP PLATFORM FOR CLICKS Our website is also our top platform for clicks on CEM PDF documents and links to CEM-related websites. Clicks per month are rising, as more users access site tools and resources. Clicks on PDFs: • 16,467 total for the period Most-clicked PDFs: • CEM5 Key Results (80) • CEM5 Briefing Paper (46) • CEM5 Agenda (41) 0 500 1000 1500 2000 2500 3000 2013 Jan - Apr 2014 May-14 Average Clicks per Month Link Clicks PDF clicks Clicks on (non-PDF) links: • 11,828 total for the period Most-clicked links: • CEM participants’ portal (1,222) • World EV Cities Portal (387) • IREED.org (238)
  24. 24. 24 KEY CHALLENGES AND RECOMMENDATIONS Twitter: • Challenge: Growing discussion means there is a growing need to respond to comments and replies. • Recommendation: Develop a process for addressing and responding to replies and comments. Facebook: • Challenge. Limited exposure. Facebook’s page algorithm controls how many/few users see your content. • Recommendation: Focus on developing shareable content – which is actionable, positive, timely, and includes an image. Shares drive greater exposure. Share key content during the work week.
  25. 25. 25 KEY CHALLENGES AND RECOMMENDATIONS YouTube: • Challenge: Limited use. Views are declining, and users watch only about one-third (1.6 minutes) of a given video. • Recommendation: To encourage more views, give YouTube better visibility – promote it on our website, in our newsletter, and on our social media platforms. Also, ensure that future videos we add to the channel are short if possible – 2 minutes or less in length. LinkedIn: • Challenge: This self-directed group has little activity. • Recommendation: Develop a focused strategy for marketing the group (to add new members) and for stimulating & sustaining discussion.
  26. 26. 26 KEY CHALLENGES AND RECOMMENDATIONS E-newsletter: • Challenge: Clicks and opens have declined slightly, and our newsletter format has not been refreshed in over a year. • Recommendation: Assess the potential for a more-frequent publishing schedule and revamped newsletter format to drive more opens and clicks (by offering more timely content, more links to click, etc.). Website: • Challenge: Page views and site visits peaked in April 2013 (around CEM4) and then declined in May 2013. Visits and page views have held steady since that time. • Recommendation: Assess specific objectives for website efforts to grow site traffic and develop a focused strategy to market the website to meet those goals.
  27. 27. 27 FOR MORE INFORMATION More detailed performance analysis for each platform, including a detailed discussion of strengths, challenges, opportunities, and recommendations is included in the longer version of this presentation.

    Be the first to comment

    Login to see the comments

This presentation reviews the performance of the Clean Energy Ministerial's digital media platforms - an email newsletter; a large website; and social media accounts on LinkedIn, twitter, Facebook, and YouTube. The review is a "year in review - plus," covering the 15 months from the launch of the twitter, FB, and LinkedIn pages in Feb. 2013 to the conclusion of the CEM's annual meeting in May 2014. The presentation reviews goals and objectives, defines potential measurements for reporting on each, presents highlights from a detailed review of these measures, and suggests next steps to build on successes and address key challenges.

Views

Total views

291

On Slideshare

0

From embeds

0

Number of embeds

4

Actions

Downloads

3

Shares

0

Comments

0

Likes

0

×