Google Tech For Better Content


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  • Date Sparklines Edward Tufte
  • Whether you are selling conference registrations, looking for new leads, selling a product or interested in increasing readership: Work out the goal for your web site and even your web pages Be specific – no vague goals: Think about driving business to the most profitable item you sell or the new or underdeveloped area of your business
  • This term in your reports refers to the range of conversion rates for each combination that we expect you'd observe if that combination were adopted and shown to all users. The range is an estimate based on the observed conversion rate measured during the experiment. The range can also be expressed as a value with a "plus or minus" component; for example, a conversion rate range of 32 to 36 percent translates to a conversion rate of 34% +/- 2.
  • Google Tech For Better Content

    1. 1. Google Technology for Better Content Adam Howitt
    2. 2. Adam Howitt Consulting <ul><li>M.Eng Software Engineering </li></ul><ul><li>Worked for Procter & Gamble </li></ul><ul><li>Moved to US in 2000 </li></ul><ul><li>ColdFusion Developer since 2000 </li></ul><ul><li>Analytics Specialist since 2004 </li></ul>
    3. 3. Who Are You? <ul><li>Marketers </li></ul><ul><li>Executives </li></ul><ul><li>Designers / Developers </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Flash? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Flex? </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Other </li></ul>
    4. 4. Overview <ul><li>Search Engine Optimization </li></ul><ul><li>Google Analytics </li></ul><ul><li>Goals and the Call to Action </li></ul><ul><li>Tracking E-Commerce </li></ul><ul><li>Tracking E-Mail /Other Campaigns </li></ul><ul><li>Google Optimizer </li></ul><ul><li>Google AdWords </li></ul>
    5. 5. SEO Basics <ul><li>Page titles </li></ul><ul><ul><li><title>Google Analytics Specialist…</title> </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Meta descriptions </li></ul><ul><ul><li><meta name=&quot;description&quot; content= &quot; … &quot; > </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Headings </li></ul><ul><ul><li><h1>Google Analytics Specialist</h1> </li></ul></ul><ul><li>URLs </li></ul>
    6. 6. Dynamic SEO <ul><li>Generate titles automatically </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Cardinality: specific to generic </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>SKU > Name > Category > Manufacturer </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Generate headings to match titles </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Name SKU </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Generate meta description from abstract </li></ul>
    7. 7. How do you improve this page?
    8. 8. Demonstration of Analytics <ul><li>Spot the Difference Poll </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Version 1 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>30,760 views 167 purchases </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Version 2 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>31,601 views 484 purchases </li></ul></ul>
    9. 9. Results <ul><li>Conversion rate: 0.54% vs. 1.53% </li></ul><ul><li>317 x $100 = $31,000 difference in 3 days </li></ul><ul><li>Is it worth the 3 hours / $200 of design? </li></ul><ul><li>Is it worth the 3 hours of analytics? </li></ul>
    10. 10. Google Analytics Dashboard
    11. 11. Why Track pages?
    12. 12. Tracking Code configuration <ul><li>Basic, Virtual pages, PDFs, downloads </li></ul><ul><li>Sub-domains </li></ul><ul><li>E-Commerce </li></ul><ul><li>Email / Campaigns </li></ul><ul><li> </li></ul>
    13. 13. Tracking Flash and Flex <ul><li>Which videos to people watch in the movie? </li></ul><ul><li>Which navigation device do people use? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Old way – virtual URLs </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>urchinTracker(‘/videoUI/{category}/{title’}); </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>New system for tracking feature usage </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li> </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><li>Tracy Spratt on tracking flex </li></ul><ul><ul><li>External Interface object </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li> </li></ul></ul>
    14. 14. Pick a Goal <ul><li>Event Registrations – sign up </li></ul><ul><li>Leads – register </li></ul><ul><li>Sales – buy something </li></ul><ul><li>Readership – subscribe </li></ul><ul><li>Be more specific </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Don’t just buy something, buy this </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Most profitable or </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Underdeveloped </li></ul></ul></ul>
    15. 15. Why Track Goals?
    16. 16. Goal Setup Tips <ul><li>Be as short as possible with Head Match </li></ul><ul><ul><li> </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>/thankyou.cfm </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Aggregate different goal pages with Virtual URLS </li></ul><ul><ul><li>E.g. /regForms/doc and /regForms/pdf </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>/regForms/ </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Third party tools warning </li></ul>
    17. 17. E-Commerce Overview
    18. 18. E-Commerce Features <ul><li>Best performing categories </li></ul><ul><li>Best performing products </li></ul><ul><li>Site Overlay </li></ul>
    19. 19. Why Track Campaigns?
    20. 20. Campaign Features <ul><li>Determine ROI </li></ul><ul><li>Does email work better than snail mail? </li></ul><ul><li>Which email generated the most leads/revenue? </li></ul><ul><li>Is e-mail better than pay-per-click traffic? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Consider tracking email signups as a goal </li></ul></ul><ul><li> </li></ul>
    21. 21. What if you could… <ul><li>Produce candidate copy </li></ul><ul><li>Run focus groups with some of your traffic </li></ul><ul><li>Review the results </li></ul><ul><li>Identify the best candidate </li></ul><ul><li>Launch the winner </li></ul>
    22. 22. Google Website Optimizer <ul><li>Design your experiment </li></ul><ul><li>Set a goal </li></ul><ul><li>How much traffic to test </li></ul><ul><li>Prepare candidate copy </li></ul><ul><li>Identify a winner </li></ul>
    23. 23. How Optimizer Works <ul><li>X % of your traffic see the experiment </li></ul><ul><li>Measures conversions of each combo </li></ul><ul><ul><li>How many impressions </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>How many conversions </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Conversions deviation </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Initially distributes combos evenly </li></ul><ul><li>As leaders emerge traffic is weighted </li></ul><ul><li>Google declares a winner </li></ul><ul><li>Original copy can sometimes win! </li></ul>
    24. 24. Experiment Results
    25. 25. Testing Notes <ul><li>Test one thing at a time </li></ul><ul><li>A/B testing minimizes external influences </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Publicity, campaigns, seasons </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Only A/B testers count to experiment result </li></ul>
    26. 26. What to Test? <ul><li>Images – demographic, color balance </li></ul><ul><li>Text – tone, audience, pace, length, emphasis </li></ul><ul><li>Colors (text, buttons, backgrounds) </li></ul><ul><li>Fonts – spacing, flow, words per line </li></ul><ul><li>Position of page elements </li></ul><ul><li>Navigation </li></ul><ul><li>Promotions </li></ul><ul><li>Pricing </li></ul><ul><li>Limiting distractions </li></ul>
    27. 27. Overview of Google AdWords <ul><li>Create an account </li></ul><ul><ul><li> </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Pick keywords and create ads </li></ul><ul><li>You pay for each click, not impression </li></ul><ul><li>Click-thru-rate (CTR) = clicks / impressions </li></ul><ul><li>Add conversion page code </li></ul><ul><li>Minimum $1 per day budget </li></ul><ul><li>Minimum price per click $0.05 </li></ul>
    28. 28. Google AdWords Traditional <ul><li>Create a Google AdWords account </li></ul><ul><li>Pick 130+ keywords related to your site </li></ul><ul><li>Create an Ad unit </li></ul><ul><li>Consequences </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Low click thru rate and suspended keywords </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Expensive keywords $1.50 per click or more </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Ads that aren’t continually shown </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Poor conversion rates once they hit your site </li></ul></ul>
    29. 29. Smarter Google AdWords <ul><li>Pick a page to promote </li></ul><ul><li>Pick keywords found on that page </li></ul><ul><li>Pick a 20 character title </li></ul><ul><li>Write 2 x 30 character copy </li></ul><ul><li>Choose your market and launch </li></ul>
    30. 30. AdWords Grouping and Matching <ul><li>Grouping is critical </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Separate keywords into like groups </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Separate groups into campaigns </li></ul></ul><ul><li>One ad unit / destination URL per group </li></ul><ul><li>Exact match vs. phrase match vs. broad match </li></ul>
    31. 31. Consequences <ul><li>Cheaper ads $0.05+ vs. $1.50 </li></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>E.g. 30x more impressions for $1.50 </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><li>Higher click thru rate </li></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>E.g. 30x more clicks for $1.50 </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><li>Better targeted ads </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Each visitor is more likely to stay </li></ul></ul>
    32. 32. Summary <ul><li>Build a site around a goal </li></ul><ul><li>Google Analytics: Measure the results </li></ul><ul><li>Google Website Optimizer: A/B Test </li></ul><ul><li>Google AdWords: Drive more traffic </li></ul>
    33. 33. Use numbers to decide the fate of your website, not emotion.
    34. 34. References <ul><li>Google Analytics, Mary E. Tyler & Jerri Ledford </li></ul><ul><ul><li>ISBN: 0470053852 </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Google Analytics </li></ul><ul><ul><li> </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Google Adwords and Optimizer </li></ul><ul><ul><li>http:// </li></ul></ul>