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SME Tech Summit Yahoo Search Marketing Carl Bellamy Presentation

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SME Tech Summit Yahoo Search Marketing Carl Bellamy Presentation

  1. 1. Carl Bellamy Yahoo! Search Marketing - Small Business SME Tech Summit 2009
  2. 2. Agenda <ul><li>What is Search Engine Marketing? (SEM / PPC) </li></ul><ul><li>How does it work? </li></ul><ul><li>What are some of the sites my ad’s appear on? </li></ul><ul><li>What can SEM do for my business? </li></ul><ul><li>Case Study – LawLive Australia. </li></ul>
  3. 3. <ul><li>SEM is essentially a way of advertising your website on search engine results pages (in the sponsored result listing.) </li></ul><ul><li>You don’t go looking for customers, they find you! </li></ul><ul><li>You only pay when someone clicks on your ad! </li></ul>What is Search Engine Marketing? (SEM / PPC)
  4. 4. How does it work?
  5. 5. Sources: Yahoo! Internal data Show me some examples…
  6. 6. Sources: Yahoo! Internal data Yahoo!7 example… Organic, Natural Search Results, SEO Paid Search Results, SEM, PPC
  7. 7. Sources: Yahoo! Internal data Organic, Natural Search Results, SEO Bing example… Paid Search Results, SEM, PPC
  8. 8. What are some of the sites my ad’s appear on?
  9. 9. What can SEM do for my business? <ul><li>SEM offers you an easy and powerful way to connect with customers who are already interested in your product / service. </li></ul><ul><li>SEM provides you with a Pay for performance advertising medium. </li></ul><ul><li>SEM is a fully measurable advertising option in the tough economic climate. </li></ul>
  10. 10. Yahoo! Search Marketing Proprietary and Confidential. ©2007 All Rights Reserved Introducing Stuart Milne Operations Manager for LawLive Australia
  11. 11. CPC Case Study: www.LawLive.com.au SME Technology Summit 2009 Stuart Milne LawLive
  12. 12. Agenda <ul><li>What is LawLive? </li></ul><ul><li>Account Structure </li></ul><ul><li>Campaign Management </li></ul><ul><li>Results </li></ul><ul><li>Q & A </li></ul>
  13. 13. What is LawLive? <ul><li>Legal Contracts & Documents Online </li></ul><ul><li>Find your Document </li></ul><ul><li>Answer Questions </li></ul><ul><li>Document is Customised & Delivered </li></ul>NO COMPROMISE ON QUALITY
  14. 14. <ul><li>Campaign </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Ad Group </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Keywords </li></ul></ul></ul>Account Structure Budgets and Preferences The advertisements users see The words users search on Basic Structure Keep it simple
  15. 15. Account Structure LawLive Example Document Category (Campaign) Sub-Categories (Ad Groups) Keywords Casual employee agreement Casual employee contract Casual employee contracts Casual employee policy Casual employment agreement Casual employment agreements Casual employment contracts Casual Employment Documentation Casual employment form Casual work agreement documents Casual employment templates Casual employment
  16. 16. <ul><li>Reporting Metrics </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Impressions </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Clicks </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Click Through Rate (CTR) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cost per Click (CPC) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Average Position </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Conversions </li></ul></ul>Campaign Management TEST, TEST & TEST <ul><li>Drivers </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Keywords </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Advertisement </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Relevance </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Bid </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Landing Page </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Site Content </li></ul></ul>
  17. 17. <ul><li>Average Results </li></ul><ul><ul><li>CPC between $0.02 and $2.00 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Between 2% and 21% CTR </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Document Price = $60 * 6 Conversions = $360 (Ex GST) </li></ul><ul><li>Advertising cost = $90.11 (Ex GST) </li></ul><ul><li>ROI is equal to 3.99 </li></ul><ul><li>#1 provider in Australia, New Zealand and South Africa* </li></ul><ul><ul><li>*as ranked by Alexa </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Reduce Guess Work </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Take the lessons you learn to other marketing activities </li></ul></ul>Results
  18. 18. Questions Question Time

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