Successfully reported this slideshow.

The Washington Institute: 30 Years Strong



1 of 2
1 of 2

More Related Content

Related Audiobooks

Free with a 14 day trial from Scribd

See all

The Washington Institute: 30 Years Strong

  1. 1. TWI sponsors press trip to the Middle East Wye River Plantation conference inaugurated HRH Prince Hassan bin Talal of Jordan addresses Institute Gulfwatch, Peace Watch, and Policy Watch series begin Sec. Def. Dick Cheney addresses Institute First Presidential Study Group provides advice to incoming administration Institute moves to 1828 L Street For. Min. Shimon Peres addresses Institute International Policy Conference in Jerusalem Sec. State George Shultz addresses Wye Conference. Vice Pres. Dan Quayle Addresses first Soref Conference Sec. State Baker uses TWI briefing book during Madrid Middle East talks TWI briefs President-elect Bill Clinton Nat. Sec. Adv. Anthony Lake addresses Soref Symposium Sec. State Warren Christopher addresses Institute Robert Satloff becomes Institute executive director. Middle East Peace Process Program starts Turkish President Suleyman Demirel adresses Institute Military Fellows Program starts Shimon Peres, Prince Faisal Hussein of Jordan address Institute Weinberg Founders Conference starts Turgut Ozal Lecture Series starts with Prof. Bernard LewisTurkish Research Program starts Vice Pres. Al Gore speaks at 10th anniversary celebration For. Min. Ariel Sharon appears jointly with PLO Chief Negotiator Ahmed Qurei (Abu Ala) at Institute. Barbi Weinberg is founding president and Martin Indyk founding director Institute sponsors first Israeli-Arab conference in Amman 1993 Mike Stein elected Institute president Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir addresses Institute Def. Min. Yitzhak Rabin addresses Institute Institute delegation meets with King Abdullah II in Amman Fred Lafer elected Institute president
  2. 2. Stern Library opened Presidential advisor and peace negotiator Dennis Ross joins Institute Future Israeli Def. Min. Gen. Moshe Yaalon is visiting fellow Presidential Study Group calls for prevention of Iranian nuclear weapons Former PA Minister Nabil Amr is visiting scholar Nat. Sec. Advisor Condoleezza Rice addresses Institute Egyptian writer Ali Salim addresses Institute Pres. Bill Clinton honored Gulf and Energy Policy Program starts Natan Sharansky and Saad Eddin Ibrahim honored British prime minister Tony Blair honored Zeev Schiff Lecture, Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence, Stein Lecture Series, Lafer Symposium start First Scholar- Statesman Award Dinner honors Bernard Lewis and George P. Shultz Condoleezza Rice honored Florida Symposium starts Amb. Itamar Rabinovich and Amb. Michael Oren honored Amb. Dennis Ross and Elliott Abrams honored Former head of Israeli Military Intelligence Gen. (Ret.) Amos Yadlin is visiting fellow Sec. Def. Chuck Hagel addresses Institute Fikra Forum begins Arabic website debuts Book Prize inaugurated Minister of Absorption Tzipi Livni addresses Institute Howard Berkowitz elected Institute president Martin Gross elected Institute president Richard Abramson elected Institute president Dr. Henry Kissinger honored Deputy Nat. Sec. Advisor Denis McDonough addresses Institute