Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Pieces of Wales


Published on

Whenever I'm asked 'What part of Wales are you from?', I could simply say 'Swansea' - or else I could say, 'How long have you got? Look at this!'

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

Pieces of Wales

  1. 1. Pieces of Wales A guide to the sum of its parts Created by Swansea Jack - 2013
  2. 2. WALES
  3. 3. That is what Wales looks like from satellites far above the earth – devoid of any artificial boundaries – pure Wales! But how was / is our Nation subdivided?
  4. 4. There had been many boundaries in its earlier history, with ancient tribal areas occupied by the Ordivices and the Silures (to name just two), and many kingdoms that came and went. But here is a simple look at three sets of more modern boundaries.
  5. 5. • The ‘Historic’ Counties • The ‘Preserved’ Counties • The ‘Principal Areas’ (of local government) Each section contains maps and numbered web-links for further research. The numbers in those maps are also used in the cross-tabulations that follow.
  6. 6. The ‘Historic’ Counties It is now accepted that there are 13 ‘Historic’ Counties of Wales. Well there were the odd disputes as to whether Monmouthshire was, or should be, a part of Wales. That can be delved into elsewhere. Suffice it to say, when I learned geography in school (1950s and 1960s) – we learned there were 12 ‘real’ Counties and one (Monmouthshire) that was considered Welsh when we wanted - or needed it to be so - and English when that served our purpose better!
  7. 7. The ‘Historic’ Counties See key to names / numbers on next slide.
  8. 8. The ‘Historic’ Counties - and urls 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Anglesey (Sir Fôn) Brecknockshire (Sir Frycheiniog) Caernarfonshire (Sir Gaernarfon) Cardiganshire (Sir Aberteifi or Ceredigion) Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin) Denbighshire (Sir Ddinbych) Flintshire (Sir y Fflint) Glamorganshire (Sir Forgannwg) Merionethshire (Sir Feirionnydd) Monmouthshire (Sir Fynwy) Montgomeryshire (Sir Drefaldwyn) Pembrokeshire (Sir Benfro) Radnorshire (Sir Faesyfed)
  9. 9. The ‘Historic’ Counties
  10. 10. The ‘Preserved’ Counties Through a combination of accretion and division (the new math?), 13 counties became 8. Some were ‘absorbed’ or combined – in whole, or in part – to form ‘new’ counties, while others were divided into smaller counties. Some consider there to be only 6 in number – you may often see maps in which one (Glamorgan - numbered 2,3 and 4 on the following map) is not subdivided. Following the map of the ‘Preserved’ Counties - are links to each.
  11. 11. The ‘Preserved’ Counties See key to names / numbers on next slide.
  12. 12. The ‘Preserved Counties’ – and urls 1. Gwent 2. South Glamorgan 3. Mid Glamorgan 4. West Glamorgan 5. Dyfed 6. Powys 7. Gwynedd 8. Clwyd
  13. 13. The ‘Principal Areas’ The reduction from 13 ‘Historic’ Counties to 8 ‘Preserved’ Counties was unsatisfactory to some – but of necessity, given the nature of the population distribution in Wales. The more populous North-East and South-East areas naturally underwent subdivision – such that there are now 22 ‘Principal Areas’ – for local government purposes. Their boundaries sometimes follow geographic lines that are different from parts of the boundaries of the ‘Historic’ and the ‘Preserved’ Counties - and most likely the result of some ‘Taffymandering’!
  14. 14. The ‘Principal Areas’ See key to names / numbers on next slide.
  15. 15. The ‘Principal Areas’ – and urls 1 Merthyr Tydfil (Merthyr Tudful) 2 Caerphilly (Caerffili) 3 Blaenau Gwent 4 Torfaen (Tor-faen) 5 Monmouthshire (Sir Fynwy) 6 Newport (Casnewydd) 7 Cardiff (Caerdydd) 8 Vale of Glamorgan (Bro Morgannwg) 9 Bridgend (Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr) 10 Rhondda Cynon Taf 11 Neath Port Talbot (Castell-nedd Port Talbot) 12 Swansea (Abertawe) 13 Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin) 14 Ceredigion 15 Powys 16 Wrexham (Wrecsam) 17 Flintshire (Sir y Fflint) 18 Denbighshire (Sir Ddinbych) 19 Conwy 20 Gwynedd 21 Isle of Anglesey (Ynys Môn) 22 Pembrokeshire (Sir Benfro)
  16. 16. The ‘Principal Areas’ - with some of the main towns
  17. 17. Cross tabulations The following 6 tables (in 3 pairs) show how a ‘County’ or ‘Area’ in one ‘set’, fits into – or combines with – others. [In some instances, a different name spelling may be used to identify the same area. The colors are simply to aid in viewing the entities within a paired set – and may NOT always be that same (or any) color in another paired set.] In each pair; the second table is a reciprocal of the first. The pairs are: A. 1. ‘Historic’ versus ‘Preserved’; 2. ‘Preserved’ versus ‘Historic’ B. 1. ‘Historic’ versus ‘Principal’; 2. ‘Principal’ versus ‘Historic’ C. 1. ‘Preserved’ versus ‘Principal’; 2. ‘Principal’ versus ‘Preserved’
  18. 18. In each pairing, the first table (1) shows what percentage of the area named in the left column is within the area named in the right column. The second table (2) shows what percentage of the area named in the left column is comprised of the area named in the right column.
  19. 19. View the following slides with Caernarfonshire * as the example: * [ Blue background, Map # 3 ] In Table A1 (‘Historic’ versus ‘Preserved’), 80% of Caernarfonshire (Map #3 – in left column) is within Gwynedd (Map #7) and 20% is within Clwyd (Map #8) – each in right column. In Table A2 (‘Preserved’ versus ‘Historic’), Caernarfonshire (Map #3 – in right column) is seen to comprise 35% of Gwynedd (Map #7) and 18% of Clwyd (Map #8) – each in left column.
  20. 20. Paired tables – A1 and A2 A1
  21. 21. Paired tables – A1 and A2 A2
  22. 22. . . . Continuing . . . In Table B1 (‘Historic’ versus ‘Principal’): 80% of Caernarfonshire (Map #3 – in left column) is within Gwynedd (Map # 20) and 20% is within Conwy (Map #19) – each in right column. In Table B2 (‘Principal’ versus ‘Historic’): Caernarfonshire (Map #3 – in right column) is seen to comprise 35% of Conwy (Map #19) and 47% of Gwynedd (Map # 20) - each in left column.
  23. 23. Paired tables B1 and B2 B1
  24. 24. Paired tables B1 and B2 B2
  25. 25. Need a break? Don’t confuse Clwyd (in Tables A1 and A2) with Conwy (in Table B1 and/or Conwy (in Table B2) - Conwy is only a part (35%) of Clwyd - see Table C1 and Table C2 A word from the Welsh to the English : Chwarae teg! [It means ‘Fair play !] You are doing well if you are keeping up !
  26. 26. Paired tables C1 and C2 C1
  27. 27. Paired tables C1 and C2 C2
  28. 28. Thank you very much ! Diolch yn fawr !