Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Welcoming Remarks: EVPT, Israel Ruiz


Published on

SustainabilityConnect, March 2, 2015

Welcoming Remarks: EVPT, Israel Ruiz

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Welcoming Remarks: EVPT, Israel Ruiz

  1. 1. M a r c h 2 , 2 0 1 5 1 I s r a e l R u i z , E x e c u t i v e Vi c e P r e s i d e n t a n d Tr e a s u r e r O p e n i n g R e m a r k s
  2. 2. How can MIT be a game changing force for campus sustainability in the 21st century?
  3. 3. MIT.nano State-of-the-art cleanroom, imaging, and prototyping facilities at the heart of the MIT campus. Supporting research with nanoscale materials and processes—in fields including energy, health, life sciences, quantum sciences, electronics, and manufacturing.
  4. 4. East Campus Kendall Square Plan
  5. 5. Campus Sustainability Steering Committee Campus Sustainability Task Force Office of Sustainability Climate Change Conversation Environment Initiative Energy Initiative
  6. 6. Campus Sustainability Task Force Co-chairs Andrea Campbell, Professor of Political Science Julie Newman, Director, Office of Sustainability Membership will represent The five schools MIT Energy Initiative MIT Environmental Initiative Committee on the MIT Climate Conversation Key administrative areas (Planning, Procurement, Medical, MITIMCo) Undergraduate students Graduate students
  7. 7. Campus Sustainability Steering Committee Membership Robert Armstrong, Director, MIT Energy Initiative Cynthia Barnhart, Chancellor Israel Ruiz, Executive Vice President and Treasurer Martin Schmidt, Provost Susan Solomon, Director, MIT Environmental Initiative Maria Zuber, Vice President for Research Andrea Campbell, Co-chair Campus Sustainability Task Force (ex officio) Julie Newman, Co-chair Campus Sustainability Task Force (ex officio) Will review and act upon recommendations of the Campus Sustainability Task Force.