Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Greek education system


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Greek education system

  1. 1. Greek Education System
  2. 2. Levels of Education Compulsory Education Post-Compulsory Education 1. Pre-primary education (4-5 years) 1. General upper secondary schools (16-18 years) 2. Primary education (6-12 years) 2. Vocational upper secondary schools (16-18 years) 3. Lower secondary general education (13-15 years) 3. Post-secondary non-tertiary institutes-IEK (18+ years)
  3. 3. Pre-primary education  Children aged 4 years may attend public or private pre-primary schools (nipiagogeia). Pre-primary attendance is compulsory for all five-year-old children; it remains optional, however, for fouryear old children.  Education and care for children under 4 years of age is provided at child centers (paidikoi stathmoi) Attendance is optional for this age group. Municipal/community child centers are run by the local municipalities and communities.
  4. 4. Primary education(1)    Primary education is provided in primary schools for children aged from 6 up to 12 years old. Primary schools are divided into one-teacher, twoteacher schools etc up to six-teacher schools or twelve teacher schools, depending on the number of regular employees. In all grades of primary school are taught Modern Greek Language, Mathematics, Arts Education, Physical Education and Information and Communication Technology
  5. 5. Primary education(2)  In primary education apart from the typical primary school there are also other types of schools. 1. 2. 3. 4. 5.  Αll-day primary schools, Minority Schools, Cross-cultural Education Schools, School Units of Special Education European School The all-day primary school was established with the aim to expand the teaching hours as well as to cover the needs arising from the contemporary conditions of the children’s families.
  6. 6. Secondary education(1)   Secondary education is divided into two cycles: compulsory lower secondary and non-compulsory upper secondary education. Compulsory lower secondary education is provided in Gymnasia while non-compulsory upper secondary education includes two types of schools: Geniko Lykeio and Epaggelmatiko Lykeio (Vocational Lykeio). Compulsory lower secondary lasts for 3 years and concerns students of 13 to 15 years of age while non-compulsory concerns students over 15 years of age.
  7. 7. Secondary education(2)  In secondary education apart from the typical secondary schools there are also other types of schools ; 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. Ecclesiastic schools, Minority Schools, Cross-cultural Education Schools, Experimental Schools, Music Schools, Art Schools, Special Education Schools, Second Chance Schools
  8. 8. Secondary education(3)   In parallel with the mainstream schools of secondary education operate Esperina Gymnasia (Evening Gymnasia) and Esperina Genika and Epaggelmatika Lykeia (Evening Genika Lykeia and Evening Vocational Lykeia). There are also Epaggelmatikes Scholes (Vocational Training Schools) operating during the day only which together with Vocational Lykeia make up secondary Vocational Education
  9. 9. Post-Secondary education  Post-secondary non-tertiary education in Greece is mainly organised around, and implemented through, the operation of Vocational Training Institutes (I.E.K.) which are post-secondary education institutions providing formal initial and further vocational education and training. IEK graduates can receive a Certificate or a Diploma of Vocational Training equivalent to that of the Vocational Lyceum (EPAL) with professional rights enabling access to the labour market in both the public and the private sectors.
  10. 10. Tertiary education   Tertiary Education in Greece is public and funded primarily by the state. It comprises two parallel sectors: a) the University sector, which includes the universities, the technical universities, and the School of Fine Arts, and b) the Technological sector, which includes the (Higher) Technological Education Institutions (TEIs). Admission of students to the above institutes depends on their performance at nation-wide exams. Tertiary education in Greece is provided free of charge
  11. 11. Administration of Education The administration of primary and secondary education is conducted hierarchically by:     Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs; Regional Directorates of Education; Prefectural Directorates of Primary and Secondary Education; Schools.
  12. 12. Regional Directorates of Education(1) There are thirteen Regional Education Directorates under the Minister of Education implementing educational policy and linking local agents to central services and organizations. They are responsible for the administration and supervision of other decentralized services in their area, as well as for the coordination of local School Advisors.
  13. 13. Regional Directorates of Education(2) Each Regional Education Directorate consists of the following: 1. 2. 3. An Administration Department A Department of Pedagogical Guidance for Primary Education A Department of Pedagogical Guidance for Secondary Education
  14. 14. Regional Directorates of Education(3) The following services come also under the Regional Directorates : 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. The Regional Further Education Centres (PEK) The Centres of Differential Assessment, Diagnosis and Support of Special Education Needs (KEDDY) Regional Support and Educational Planning Centres (PEKESES) Environmental Education Centres (KPE) Pre-Primary, Primary, Special and Secondary Education Advisors
  15. 15. Regional Directorate of Education of South Aegean Sea Regional Directorate of Primary and Secondary Education in the South Aegean Sea is a large public, non-profit educational organization in Greece which is responsible for schools, teachers and students in two Prefectures : 1. 2. Cyclades islands Dodecanese islands
  16. 16. Regional Directorate of Education of South Aegean Sea It has under its administration in 44 islands of South Aegean Sea  596 Schools  7072 Teachers Directorate of Secondary Education in Dodecanese islands: 102 schools 2000 teachers
  17. 17. Thank you 