Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Raid Levels


Published on

Differnet RAID levels with their detail information

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

Raid Levels

  2. 2. RAID 0 (STRIPING) o Minimum 2 disks. o Excellent performance ( as blocks are striped ). o No redundancy ( no mirror, no parity ). o Don’t use this for any critical system.
  3. 3. RAID 1 (MIRRORING) o Minimum 2 disks. o Good performance ( no striping. no parity ). o Excellent redundancy ( as blocks are mirrored ).
  4. 4. RAID 5 DISTRIBUTED PARITY o Minimum 3 disks. o Good performance ( as blocks are striped ). o Good redundancy ( distributed parity ). o Best cost effective option providing both performance and redundancy. Use this for DB that is heavily read oriented. Write operations will be slow.
  5. 5. RAID 6 (BLOCK STRIPING) o Just like RAID 5, this does block level striping. However, it uses dual parity. o In the below diagram A, B, C are blocks. p1, p2, p3 are parities. o This creates two parity blocks for each data block. o Can handle two disk failure o This RAID configuration is complex to implement in a RAID controller, as it has to calculate two parity data for each data block
  6. 6. RAID 10 (MIRRORING AND STRIPING) o Minimum 4 disks. o This is also called as “stripe of mirrors” o Excellent redundancy ( as blocks are mirrored ) o Excellent performance ( as blocks are striped ) o If you can afford the dollar, this is the BEST option for any mission critical applications (especially databases).
  7. 7. RAID 0+1 A RAID 0+1 (also called RAID 01), is a RAID level used for both replicating and sharing data among disks. RAID 0+1 is a mirror of stripes. The usable capacity of a RAID 0+1 array is the same as a RAID 1 array, where half of the total capacity is used to mirror the other half.