Web MetricsIt is a set of standards for measuring how successfula website is !!
Overview of Commonly used Web Metrics• Bounce Rate• Weighted Bounce Rate• Page Views• Page Views per Visit• Exit Rate• Entry Page Rate• Multi-Page Visit Entry Rate• Visits per Visitors• Page Views/No Reloads• Reload Percentage• Entry to Exit Ratio• Order Conversion• ROI• Average Time on site• Average Cost Per Click• Cost Per Action• Visitor Engagement Degree• Average Response Time• Value of a Buyer• Unique Visitors• Visits/Sessions• Impressions• Cost per Thousand Impressions• Hit Rate• Customer Acquisition Cost• Geographic Location• Search Engine Keywords• Clickstream
Bounce Rate• Definition: It represents the percentage of visitors who enterthe site and "bounce" (leave the site) rather than continueviewing other pages within the same site.• Calculation: Single Access / Entries• Type: Percent
Weighted Bounce Rate• Definition: Same as Bounce Rate, but gives a higher values topages that are viewed more often on the site, thus pushing yourmost popular pages with this problem to the top of the list.• Calculation: (Single Access / Entries) * (Page Views / Total PageViews)• Type: Percent
Page Views• Definition: It shows the number of times a page was viewed.• Calculation: It is calculated on the basis of a code scriptinstead of the formula, like SELECT COUNT (*) AS PAGEVIEWS into PAGEVIEWS.txtFROM www3*.log WHERE EXTRACT_EXTENSION(cs-uri-stem)• Type: Count
Page Views per Visit• Definition: This is the average number of pages that a visitorviews before leaving a website.• Calculation: Page Views / Visits• Type: Numeric
Exit Rate• Definition: It is the percentage of visitors exiting or leavingyour site from a particular page on your site.• Calculation: Exits / Visits• Type: Percent
Entry Page• Definition: An entry page is a Web page where readers arrive atyour site from some other domain. These are the pages wherepeople are linking to or search engines have ranked highly onyour site.• Calculation: Entries / Visits• Type: Percent
Multi-Page Visit Entry Rate• Definition: When a page is the entry page, how often does itlead to at least one other page• Calculation: (Entries - Single Access) / Entries• Type: Percent
Visits per Visitors• Definition: This is the average number of visits per unique visitor(daily, weekly, monthly, etc.)• Calculation: Visits / Daily Unique Visitors,Visits / Weekly Unique Visitors, etc.• Type: Numeric
Page Views/No reloads• Definition: It measures how many page views did a page get, notcounting reloads, but counting Back button or additional pathviews to the page• Calculation: Page Views – Reloads• Type: Numeric
Reload Percentage• Definition: It is the percentage of the page that how many timesviewer have reloads of that page• Calculation: Reloads / Page Views• Type: Percent
Entry to Exit Ratio• Definition: It is the ratio of entries to exits for a page providesa rough proxy for the popularity and value of a page.• Calculation: Entries / Exits• Type: Percent
Order Conversion• Definition: It represents what percentage of visits results in anorder.• Calculation: Orders / Visits• Type: Percent
ROI• Definition: It is a performance measure used to evaluate theefficiency of an investment or to compare the efficiency of anumber of different investments.• Calculation: (Gain from Investment - Cost of Investment)/Cost ofinvestment• Example: If you spend 1000$ on your website and earn 2000$ your ROI is 200%.
Cost Per Action• Definition: Your “cost per action” is the advertising cost you pay forone completed action.• Calculation: Advertising Cost / Total Completed Actions = Cost perAction• For example: If last month you spent $1,000 on advertising to generate 2,000 visitors and20 of them subscribed to your newsletter, your cost per action for a newslettersubscription is…$1,000 ad cost / 20 subscriptions = $50.00 Cost per Action
Average Cost per Click• Definition: It is the average amount that youve been charged for a click onyour ad.• Calculation: Total Cost/Total Clicks
Average Time On Site• Definition: Avg time on site is the amount of time (in minutes orseconds) visitors have spent on your website.• Calculation: [Total Time Spent]/([Visits]-([Visits]*([Single PageVisits]/[Entries])))
Visitor Engagement Degree• Definition : VED is a metric, in its simple form, intended todetermine how "engaged" site visitors are.• Calculation: VED = unique visitors/ total pages viewed• For e.g. : If your site got 5,000 unique visitors this month and 30,000 total pageviews then, 5,000/30,000 = 7.17 pages per visitor. Your VED is 7.17.• Type: Numeric
Average Response Time• Definition: It measures how much time it takes the target webapplication to generate a response.• Calculation: Request/Response Time• Measurement: It is measured in milliseconds and Peak Response Times(PRT).
Value of a Buyer• Definition: Your “value of a buyer” is the average gross profityou earn from a completed action.• Calculation: Average Action Value x Gross Profit as % of Sales =Value of a Buyer.• For example: Lets assume last month you spent $1,000 on advertising to generate2,000 visitors and 20 bought at an average of $100 per sale with a gross profitmargin of 90%; your value of a buyer was...$100 average sales value multiplied by 90% gross profit = $90.00 Value of a BuyerYou generate $90 in gross profit for every customer through your website.
Unique Visitors• Definition: It refers to a person who visits a Web site more than once within aspecified period of time• Calculation: Unique Visitors are calculated based on IP address. When a visitor firstlooks at a page on your site, StatCounter records the visitors IP address. You canalso implement the code like SELECT COUNT(DISTINCT user_id) FROM page_views
Visits/Sessions• Definition: A visit is an interaction, by an individual, with a website consisting of one or more requests for an analyst-definable unit of content.• Calculation: A visit is simply a “Unique ID + Session Number.”
Impressions• Definition: Impressions are based on advertisements on a thirdparty site trying to drive traffic to another site.• Calculation: Two methods are used to calculate this– server-initiated and client initiated. Server initiated ad counting usesthe sites web content server for making requests, formattingand re-directing content. Client-initiated ad counting relies onthe users browser to perform these activities• Type: Count
Cost Per Thousand Impression• Definition: Cost per thousand impressions (CPM) is the cost perthousand advertising impressions.• Calculation: CPM= Cost of Advertising($)/Impressions Generated (# inthousands)• CPM is useful in comparing the relative efficiency of differentadvertising opportunities or media and in evaluating the costs ofoverall campaigns.
Hit Rate• Definition: It is a request for a file from the web server. Availableonly in log analysis. The number of hits received by a website isfrequently cited to assert its popularity.• Calculation: Total number of server requests serviced by theserver
Customer Acquisition Cost• Definition: It represents the cost associated with acquiring anew customer.• Calculation: Sales and marketing costs + Overhead expenses /Number ofcustomers.
Geographic location• Definition: It helps us in indicating that from which location weare getting more visitors.• Calculation: Based on the IP address of the visitors.
Search Engine Keywords• It shows us What keywords did people search to find your site .This may aswell serve as the foundation for your keyword research and expand yourcontent.
Clickstream• Clickstream is about logging a user’s activities on a website. With the understanding of visitors’ behavior, youwill be able to optimize your web site to enhance userexperience and conversion.