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Paid Search Fundamentals By Matt Van Wagner

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From the SMX East Conference in New York City, September 27-29, 2016. SESSION: Paid Search Fundamentals. PRESENTATION: Paid Search Fundamentals - Given by Matt Van Wagner, @mvanwagner - Find Me Faster, President. #SMX #12D

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Paid Search Fundamentals By Matt Van Wagner

  1. 1. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Matt Van Wagner, President Find Me Faster PAID SEARCH FUNDAMENTALS
  2. 2. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Why I Love Paid Search New Business Opens Goal: Get people in store One Month Later 124,000 Ad Impressions 300+ Qualified Visitors to Site Cost: $185
  3. 3. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Why I Love Paid Search
  4. 4. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Showed only to people here !!!! This Simple Ad… Why I Love Paid Search
  5. 5. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Investment is measurable & scalable. Why I Love Paid Search
  6. 6. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner You Control Messaging / Landing Pages Get going quickly. Discover what words convert (in a “not provided” SEO world). Manage risk of algorithm changes. Predictable, dependable flow of traffic. You write the ads that appear. You determine what pages visitors see first. PPC and SEO are Complementary Why I Love Paid Search
  7. 7. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner What is Google?
  8. 8. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  9. 9. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  10. 10. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner § Reach Audiences Worldwide –  Any Country –  Any Language World’s Favorite Search Engine § 20+ Billion searches/mo. Worldwide § 2/3 of all U.S. searches are powered by Google
  11. 11. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner More than Google.com § Google search powers many web properties § Google search powers many web properties •  Google Maps •  Internet Service Providers (ISPs) Xfinity, Earthlink, Verizon, & others.
  12. 12. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner More than just Text Ads Google places banner and rich media ads across the internet. •  Internet users spend 95% of their time browsing & reading website content. •  Google’s display ad network reaches 2 Million+ websites, videos, & mobile apps around the world.
  13. 13. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner AdWords: A Powerful, Global Online Advertising Platform Full control in your hands! •  Create Ads •  Set Budgets •  Scheduling •  Targeting •  Reporting
  14. 14. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner What is Bing?
  15. 15. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  16. 16. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Your Ads Reach Here
  17. 17. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Bing Ads Network Keeps Growing! CBS I CBS Interactive Top 10 global web property 300+ million Daily Visitors 70% of search is in mobile Younger, affluent demographic Source: Search Engine Land http://searchengineland.com/bing-ads-cbs-interactive-syndication-259124
  18. 18. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner •  Create Ads •  Set Budget •  Scheduling •  Geo-Targeting •  Reporting •  Easy Import from AdWords Bing Ads: A Powerful Global Advertising Platform
  19. 19. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner What is Yahoo?
  20. 20. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  21. 21. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  22. 22. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  23. 23. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Paid Search Overview Keywords: Ads: Words & phrases that trigger ads to show Really, really, short sales pitches in text or images. Landing Page: The first page people see after they click your ad. Optimization: Active daily management for all of the above. Measuring, testing & tracking. Modifications to increase clicks, conversions, revenues, and profits. Bids: How much you are willing to pay to show your ads, get clicks & conversions. Conversions: Actions taken by your visitors that you want to track such as leads, orders, downloads, phone calls.
  24. 24. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Input Machine Output
  25. 25. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Input Machine Output Keywords Ads Website Money Budget Bids Geography Schedule Demographics Device Types Visitors Leads Phone calls Orders Downloads Store Visits
  26. 26. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Geographic Time of Day / Day of Week Demographic Device Types Remarketing / Behavioral / Audiences Targeting Options
  27. 27. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Where you have an advantage…exploit it! Improve Ad Position & ROI Bid By Time Zone Target Areas by Language Choose Your Battle zones Geographic Targeting
  28. 28. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Geographic Targeting
  29. 29. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Time & Day of Week Targeting Note: Ad scheduling works differently on AdWords vs Bing Ads. Bing Ads: Set schedule based on when the users see your ads AdWords: Schedule based on your AdWords account setup location.
  30. 30. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Demographic Targeting With Bing Ads, you can bid more for your best demographic segments in search.
  31. 31. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Device Targeting Set Bids Appropriate to Device Performance
  32. 32. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  33. 33. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner How Do Paid Search Engines Really Work? ● How does an ad get selected? ● Does the highest bid always get the top spot? ● How much does it cost to show my ad? ● What is the best ad position? Paid Search Auctions
  34. 34. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner How Search Engines Work You Search Engine
  35. 35. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner You Search Engine Advertisers Search Engine is the Middleman
  36. 36. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner What is Best Ad Position? In general, the higher your ads appear, the more clicks you get and the more you pay.
  37. 37. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Your Keywords & Max Bids User Search Query: Blue Widgets Red Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets $.10 Blue Green Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets Buy blue widgets today. Free next-day shipping. www.widgetworld.com/bluewidget In Your Perfect World... You're a Winner!!! CPC = $.10 or less! Your Ad Your Site:
  38. 38. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner …this would be a great set of answers. Ads Competing Against Each Other On a search for the color blue… What Search Engines Want
  39. 39. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$10 $ .30 $ 6 If highest bid determined ad display… Ads Competing Against Each Other on Bid Price …results may not be quite as relevant. What Advertisers Want
  40. 40. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Quality Score, Bids and Ad Ranking ● Relevancy: Relationship of Keywords à Ads à Landing page The nature of the click(er) ● Historical Performance (CTR): Keyword Keyword + Ad Ad groups, campaigns, account ● Max Bid Price A Hybrid Solution – Quality Scoring
  41. 41. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Who Wins the Top Spot? $ .30 $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$6 $ 5 .95 .90 .30 .30 .10 .25 .80 .95 Lets Say Quality Scores look like this AD RANK = QS x Max Bid 1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
  42. 42. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner $ .30 $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$6 $ 5 .95 .90 .30 .30 .10 .25 .80 .95 Lets Say Quality Scores look like this 1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90 What Do They Pay? $ .10 $ .96 $3.18 $4.81 $1.68 Lesson: Write relevant ads and select relevant keywords. Bid reasonably.
  43. 43. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Getting Started What is the primary goal of your campaign? ● Leads, sales, brand building? How do you define success? ● Online vs. offline sales conversions. ● Steps on the path towards sales conversion. Measure real world actions, not just CTR or CPC! How do you measure success? ● AdWords and Bing Ads conversion tags. ● Web analytics (Google Analytics, Omniture, Coremetrics, etc). ● How much the phones are ringing. ● Total company sales and profits increasing.
  44. 44. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  45. 45. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Getting Semantics Straight Keywords are not Search Queries Keywords = what you bid on Search Queries = what users type into a search box
  46. 46. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Building Keyword Lists Start with your own brain ● What words / phrases describe what you are promoting? ● What words do other people use? ● Synonyms, misspellings. ● Words that will bring the wrong people to you. ● Start with keywords that contain 2 or 3 words (aka terms, tokens) ● Absolutely use your own brand names.
  47. 47. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Creating Lists of Keywords shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds labrador puppies labradors black lab puppies black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs retreivers pug dogs puppies small pet dogs lassie dogs collies poodles toy poodles shitzo mutts weiner dogs irish retriever sheep herding dogs pure bred dobermans pit bulls vietnamese pot belly pigs dalmations dalmation puppies dalmation pups golden retrievers golden retriever
  48. 48. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Organize Keyword Lists Pull them into smaller, tighter ad groups: Labradors labrador puppies labradors black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs Shepherds shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds Retrievers golden retrievers golden retriever retreivers Pugs pug dogs pug dog pugs
  49. 49. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Keyword Match Types Match types control how closely your keywords match with a user’s search query: Broad Match: Very loose matching = tons of traffic Broad Match Modifier: Loose, more control = lots of traffic Phrase Match: Tighter matching = less traffic Exact Match: Tightest matching = least traffic Negative Match: Prevents matches, restricts traffic
  50. 50. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Broad Match Match Type Broad Match (DEFAULT) Syntax word1 word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries with words in any order Synonyms search engines believe could be relevant Session-based matches User Search Query: Your keyword is: Can it Match? wedding cake wedding cake YES cakes wedding cake MAYBE pictures of wedding cakes wedding cake YES wedding cup cakes wedding cake YES yellow cake wmd wedding cake YES hemarroid cream wedding cake YES
  51. 51. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Broad Match Modifier Match Type Broad Match Modified Keyword Syntax +word1 +word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries containing those words in any order Queries must contain word(s) with the + sign Optionally: Plurals, close variants User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake +wedding +cake YES birthday cakes +wedding +cake NO pictures of wedding cakes +wedding +cake YES weeding cup cakes +wedding +cake YES cakes +wedding +cake NO hemarroid cream +wedding +cake NO
  52. 52. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Phrase Match Match Type Phrase Syntax “word1 word2 word3” What it matches to: Queries with those words together Queries in that word order Also matches to: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such as wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents. User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake “wedding cake” YES Chelsea wedding cakes bakery “wedding cakes” YES gluten-free cakes, weddings “wedding cakes” NO wedding cupcake “wedding cakes” NO weeding cake “wedding cakes” MAYBE bride’s cake “wedding cakes” NO
  53. 53. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Exact Match Match Type Exact Syntax [word1 word2] What it matches to: Queries with only those words Queries with exact word order Optionally: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such as wedded, wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents. User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake [wedding cake] YES wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
  54. 54. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Negative Match Match Type Negative Match Keyword Syntax -word, or –word1 word2 word3 What it excludes: Search queries containing that literal word If you want to exclude plurals, add them explicitly. Optionally: AdWords has Exact, Phrase and Broad match negatives available. User Search Query: Your negatives are: Will it prevent the match? wedding cake -wedding YES birthday cakes -wedding NO pictures of wedding cakes -wedding YES weeding cup cakes -wedding NO cakes -wedding NO hemorrhoid cream -wedding NO
  55. 55. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  56. 56. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Write Great Ads Note the Variety of Copy Styles: 1st Person story. Trusted Authority – “Uses Quotes” Price Appeal Convenience - Call 800 # Get Information – Medical Alert Guide We’re different from “Them”
  57. 57. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Who are you selling to? Who are you talking to? Who buys? Who influences? Who is it actually for? What motivates them? Speak directly to one of these people.
  58. 58. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner What are you selling?
  59. 59. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner What are they really buying?
  60. 60. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Features: Timer, Easy to Use, Discount, Affordable Free Shipping Benefits: Organize pills better Take charge of your health Keep parents well connected Are you selling what they're buying?
  61. 61. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Stress Benefits, Not Features Feature Benefit Creative Benefit Vibrating Watch Alarm Get pill reminders even if you have trouble hearing. Vibrating pill reminder. Works even when Mom’s TV is blaring away. Vibrating pill reminder works even if Dad’s hearing aid is off.
  62. 62. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Tips for Writing Great Ads Switch from your Left Brain to you Right Brain Go for a walk Sing a song Laugh Doodle · Do not start writing ads in Excel spreadsheets! · Start with story-telling. Talk out loud. · Try a “non-verbal zero draft” · Go listen to your sales team at work.
  63. 63. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Writing Great Ads Headlines Use keywords in the headlines when possible. Write dozens of headlines until you find ones you like. Key Headline Concepts Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life. Great Words to Use in Headlines Find. Compare. Save. New. Improved. Easiest. Top-Rated.
  64. 64. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Writing Great Ads Ad Copy Use your keywords in the body copy, too, but don’t stuff. Same Key Concepts as Headlines Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life. Try full sentences. Use idioms only when appropriate Avoid gimmicks and overly-idiomatic expressions.
  65. 65. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Ad Extensions Image Extensions Expanded Sitelinks Bad Extensions Sitelinks Social Extensions
  66. 66. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Ad Extensions [[ []
  67. 67. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Expanded Text Ads https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/7048854?hl=en NEW OLD
  68. 68. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Transition to New Format – NOW!!!
  69. 69. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Shopping Ads Feed-based ads through Merchant Center on Bing Ads and AdWords. Entirely different auction. You can have keyword-based ads and shopping ads on the Search Engine Results Page (SERP).
  70. 70. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Evaluating Ad Performance Which of these ads performing better? Lessons: Be wary of small samples sizes. Measure against conversions, not just click-through rates (CTR). Conversion Rate: 10.5% Conversion Rate: 2.5% Now which?
  71. 71. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Banner / Image Ad / Video Ads Image Ads Video Ads https://www.youtube.com/yt/advertise/index.html
  72. 72. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  73. 73. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Bidding & Budgeting Options Bidding Cost Per Click (CPC) Cost Per Conversion (CPA) aka cost per action/acquisition Cost Per Thousand Impressions (CPM) Budgeting Daily, Weekly or by Campaign
  74. 74. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner How Much is a Click Worth? How much is a Visitor (click) worth? What is your site conversion rate now? What is your offline close ratio? How does that translate to revenues? Clicks 20 Conversion % 5% Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
  75. 75. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner How Much is a Click Worth? How much can you afford to pay for each click? Cost per Click (CPC) $ .25 Clicks 20 Conversion % 5% Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00 Target MAX Bid CPC = CPA / Clicks = $5.00 / 20 = .$25
  76. 76. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Bid Modifiers Not every click has the same value. Bid modifiers allow you to bid up or down, depending on: Device Location Time of Day Retargeting Audiences Placements, topics, and keywords (GDN).
  77. 77. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Campaigns Ad 1keywords keyword1 keyword2 keyword3 keyword4 . Ad 2 Landing Page Structure of a PPC Account Ad Group
  78. 78. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  79. 79. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Landing Pages Master the basics. Get fancy later. Any page can be a landing page Use properly built webpages: Include Title, Description, Alt Tags, and spiderable body copy. Get users quickly to what they want.
  80. 80. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Landing Pages
  81. 81. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Landing Pages
  82. 82. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Landing Pages
  83. 83. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner
  84. 84. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Process Creates Sustainable Advantage §  Its not just about keywords, ads, bids §  Plan on working in a disciplined manner Use Systems-Level Thinking §  Align campaign goals with larger company goals. §  Increase sales, not visitors Track Performance and Make Adjustments §  Be methodical, measure and test everything you can §  Don’t react too quickly, but don’t get analysis-paralysis Set Good Goals and work towards them Better PPC Every Day
  85. 85. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner Stay Fresh & Keep Learning! •  Books –  Advanced Google AdWords 3rd Edition by Brad Geddes –  http://www.advancedadwordsbook.com/ •  Blogs, News Sites –  www.SearchEngineLand.com –  www.MarketingLand.com –  www.thesempost.com –  www.ppchero.com
  86. 86. #SMX #12D @mvanwagner SEE YOU AT THE NEXT #SMX THANK YOU!

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