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Paid Search Fundamentals By Matt Van Wagner

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From the SMX West Conference in San Jose, California, March 1-3, 2016. SESSION: Paid Search Fundamentals. PRESENTATION: Paid Search Fundamentals - Given by Matt Van Wagner, @mvanwagner - Find Me Faster, President. #SMX #13D

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Paid Search Fundamentals By Matt Van Wagner

  1. 1. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Matt Van Wagner, President Find Me Faster PAID SEARCH FUNDAMENTALS
  2. 2. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Why I Love Paid Search New Business Opens Goal: Get people in store One Month Later 124,000 Ad Impressions 300+ Qualified Visitors to Site Cost: $185
  3. 3. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Why  I  Love  Paid  Search  
  4. 4. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner     Showed only to people here !!!! This Simple Ad… Why I Love Paid Search
  5. 5. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Investment is measurable & scalable. Why I Love Paid Search
  6. 6. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner You Control Messaging / Landing Pages Get going quickly. Discover what words convert (in a “not provided” SEO world). Manage risk of algorithm changes. Predictable, dependable flow of traffic. You write the ads that appear. You determine what pages visitors see first. PPC and SEO are Complementary Why I Love Paid Search
  7. 7. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner What is Google?
  8. 8. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  9. 9. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  10. 10. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner § Reach  Audiences  Worldwide     –  Any  Country   –  Any  Language   World’s Favorite Search Engine § 20+  Billion  searches/mo.   Worldwide   § 67%  of  all  U.S.  searches   are  powered  by  Google  
  11. 11. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner More than Google.com § Google  search  powers  many  web   properties   § Google  is  default  search  engine  for   –  AOL,  Ask     § Google  search  powers  many  web   properties   •  Google  Maps   •  Internet  Service  Providers  (ISPs)    Xfinity,  Earthlink,        Verizon,  &  others.      
  12. 12. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner More than just Text Ads Google places banner and rich media ads across the internet. •  Internet users spend 95% of their time browsing & reading website content. •  Google’s display ad network reaches 2 Million+ websites, videos, & mobile apps around the world.
  13. 13. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner AdWords:    A  Powerful,  Global  Online  Advertising  Platform     Puts  full  control   in  your  hands!     •  Creating  Ads     •  Budgeting     •  Scheduling     •  Targeting       •  Reporting  
  14. 14. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner What is Bing?
  15. 15. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  16. 16. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Your Ads Reach Here
  17. 17. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner   •  Creating  Ads     •  Budgeting     •  Scheduling     •  Geo-­‐Targeting       •  Reporting     •  Easy  Import  from     Google  AdWords     Bing Ads: A Powerful Global Advertising Platform
  18. 18. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner What is Yahoo?
  19. 19. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  20. 20. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  21. 21. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Paid Search Overview Keywords: Ads: Words & phrases that trigger ads to show Really, really, short sales pitches in text or images. Landing Page: The first page people see after they click your ad. Optimization: Active daily management for all of the above. Measuring, testing & tracking. Modifications to increase clicks, conversions, revenues, and profits. Bids: How much you are willing to pay to show your ads, get clicks & conversions. Conversions: Actions taken by your visitors that you want to track such as leads, orders, downloads, phone calls.
  22. 22. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Geographic Time of Day / Day of Week Demographic Device Types Behavioral Targeting Options
  23. 23. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Where you have an advantage…exploit it! Improve Ad Position & ROI Bid By Time Zone Target Areas by Language Choose Your Battle zones Geographic Targeting
  24. 24. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Geographic Targeting
  25. 25. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Time & Day of Week Targeting Note: Ad scheduling works differently on Google AdWords vs Bing Ads. Bing Ads: Scheduling times based on where users see the ad. Google AdWords: Schedule based on your AdWords account location.
  26. 26. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Demographic Targeting With Bing Ads, you can bid more for your best demographic segments in search.
  27. 27. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  28. 28. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner How Do Paid Search Engines Really Work? ● How does an ad get selected? ● Does the highest bid always get the top spot? ● How much does it cost to show my ad? ● What is the best ad position? Paid Search Auctions
  29. 29. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner How Search Engines Work You Search Engine
  30. 30. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner You Search Engine Advertisers Search Engine is the Middleman
  31. 31. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner What is Best Ad Position?   In general, the higher your ads appear, the more clicks you get and the more you pay.
  32. 32. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Your Keywords & Max Bids User Search Query: Blue Widgets Red Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets $.10 Blue Green Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets Buy blue widgets today. Free next-day shipping. www.widgetworld.com/bluewidget In Your Perfect World... You're a Winner!!! CPC = $.10 or less! Your Ad Your Site:
  33. 33. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner …this would be a great set of answers. Ads Competing Against Each Other On a search for the color blue… What Search Engines Want
  34. 34. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$10 $ .30 $ 6 If highest bid determined ad display… Ads Competing Against Each Other on Bid Price …results may not be quite as relevant. What Advertisers Want
  35. 35. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Quality Score, Bids and Ad Ranking ● Relevancy: Relationship of Keywords à Ads à Landing page The nature of the click ● Historical Performance (CTR): Keywords Keywords + Ads in combination Ad groups, campaigns, account ● Max Bid Price A Hybrid Solution – Quality Scoring
  36. 36. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Who Wins the Top Spot? $ .30 $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$6 $ 5 .95 .90 .30 .30 .10 .25 .80 .95 Lets Say Quality Scores look like this AD RANK = QS x Max Bid 1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
  37. 37. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner $ .30 $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$6 $ 5 .95 .90 .30 .30 .10 .25 .80 .95 Lets Say Quality Scores look like this 1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90 What Do They Pay? $ .10 $ .96 $3.18 $4.81 $1.68 Lesson: Write relevant ads and select relevant keywords. Bid reasonably.
  38. 38. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Getting Started What is the primary goal of your campaign? ● Leads, sales, brand building? How do you define success? ● Online vs. offline sales conversions. ● Steps on the path towards sales conversion. Measure real world actions, not just CTR or CPC! How do you measure success? ● AdWords and Bing Ads conversion tags. ● Web analytics (Google Analytics, Omniture, Coremetrics, etc). ● How much the phones are ringing. ● Total company sales and profits increasing.
  39. 39. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  40. 40. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Getting Semantics Straight Keywords are not Search Queries Keywords = what you bid on Search Queries = what users type into a search box
  41. 41. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Building Keyword Lists Start with your own brain ● What words / phrases describe what you are promoting? ● What words do other people use? ● Synonyms, misspellings. ● Words that will bring the wrong people to you. ● Start with keywords that contain 2 or 3 words (aka terms, tokens) ● Absolutely use your own brand names.
  42. 42. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Creating Lists of Keywords shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds labrador puppies labradors black lab puppies black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs retreivers pug dogs puppies small pet dogs lassie dogs collies poodles toy poodles shitzo mutts weiner dogs irish retriever sheep herding dogs pure bred dobermans pit bulls vietnamese pot belly pigs dalmations dalmation puppies dalmation pups golden retrievers golden retriever
  43. 43. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Organize Keyword Lists Pull them into smaller, tighter ad groups: Labradors labrador puppies labradors black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs Shepherds shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds Retrievers golden retrievers golden retriever retreivers Pugs pug dogs pug dog pugs
  44. 44. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Keyword Match Types Match types control how closely your keywords match with a user’s search query: Broad Match: Very loose matching = tons of traffic Broad Match Modifier: Loose, more control = lots of traffic Phrase Match: Tighter matching = less traffic Exact Match: Tightest matching = least traffic Negative Match: Prevents matches, restricts traffic
  45. 45. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Broad Match Match  Type   Broad  Match    (DEFAULT)   Syntax word1 word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries with words in any order Synonyms search engines believe could be relevant Session-based matches User Search Query: Your keyword is: Can it Match? wedding cake wedding cake YES cakes wedding cake MAYBE pictures of wedding cakes wedding cake YES wedding cup cakes wedding cake YES yellow cake wmd wedding cake YES hemarroid cream wedding cake YES
  46. 46. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Broad Match Modifier Match Type Broad Match Modified Keyword Syntax +word1 +word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries containing those words in any order Queries must contain word(s) with the + sign Optionally: Plurals, close variants User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake +wedding +cake YES birthday cakes +wedding +cake NO pictures of wedding cakes +wedding +cake YES weeding cup cakes +wedding +cake YES cakes +wedding +cake NO hemarroid cream +wedding +cake NO
  47. 47. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Phrase Match Match Type Phrase Syntax “word1 word2 word3” What it matches to: Queries with those words together Queries in that word order Also matches to: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such as wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents. User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake “wedding cake” YES Chelsea wedding cakes bakery “wedding cakes” YES gluten-free cakes, weddings “wedding cakes” NO wedding cupcake “wedding cakes” NO weeding cake “wedding cakes” MAYBE bride’s cake “wedding cakes” NO
  48. 48. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Exact Match Match Type Exact Syntax [word1 word2] What it matches to: Queries with only those words Queries with exact word order Optionally: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such as wedded, wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents. User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake [wedding cake] YES wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
  49. 49. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Negative Match Match Type Negative Match Keyword Syntax -word, or –word1 word2 word3 What it excludes: Search queries containing that literal word If you want to exclude plurals, add them explicitly. Optionally: AdWords has Exact, Phrase and Broad match negatives available. User Search Query: Your negatives are: Will it prevent the match? wedding cake -wedding YES birthday cakes -wedding NO pictures of wedding cakes -wedding YES weeding cup cakes -wedding NO cakes -wedding NO hemorrhoid cream -wedding NO
  50. 50. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  51. 51. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Write Great Ads Note the Variety of Copy Styles: 1st Person story. Trusted Authority – “Uses Quotes” Price Appeal Convenience - Call 800 # Get Information – Medical Alert Guide We’re different from “Them”
  52. 52. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Who are you selling to? Who are you talking to? Who buys? Who influences? Who is it actually for? What motivates them? Speak directly to one of these people.
  53. 53. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner What are you selling?
  54. 54. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner What are they really buying?
  55. 55. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Features: Timer, Easy to Use, Discount, Affordable Free Shipping Benefits: Organize pills better Take charge of your health Keep parents well connected Are you selling what they're buying?
  56. 56. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Stress Benefits, Not Features Feature Benefit Creative Benefit Vibrating Watch Alarm Get pill reminders even if you have trouble hearing. Vibrating pill reminder. Works even when Mom’s TV is blaring away. Vibrating pill reminder works even if Dad’s hearing aid is off.
  57. 57. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Tips for Writing Great Ads Switch from your Left Brain to you Right Brain Go for a walk Sing a song Laugh Doodle · Do not start writing ads in Excel spreadsheets! · Start with story-telling. Talk out loud. · Try a “non-verbal zero draft” · Go listen to your sales team at work.
  58. 58. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Writing Great Ads Headlines Use keywords in the headline when possible. Write dozens of headlines until you find ones you like. Key Headline Concepts Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life. Great Words to Use in Headlines Find. Compare. Save. New. Improved. Easiest. Top-Rated.
  59. 59. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Writing Great Ads Ad Copy Use your keywords in the body copy, too, but don’t stuff. Same Key Concepts as Headlines Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life. Try full sentences. Use idioms only when appropriate Avoid gimmicks and overly-idiomatic expressions.
  60. 60. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Ads Designed to Filter Clicks Many words have more than one meaning (homonyms). Clearly differentiate the purpose of your ad. You will get fewer clicks, and lower CTR, but you’ll get more of the right clicks. Home Care for Elders Need help with in-home care for an elderly loved one? Call us. www.home-care.com California Home Care Experienced with all aspects of home care. Call us Today! www.home-care.com California
  61. 61. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Ad Extensions Image  Extensions     Expanded  Sitelinks   Bad  Extensions     Sitelinks   Social  Extensions  
  62. 62. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Ad Extensions [[   []  
  63. 63. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Shopping Ads Feed-­‐based  ads  through   Merchant  Center  on  Bing  Ads   and  AdWords.     Entirely  different  auction.       You  can  have  keyword-­‐based   ads  and  shopping  ads  on  the   Search  Engine  Results  Page   (SERP).  
  64. 64. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Evaluating Ad Performance Which of these ads performing better? Lessons: Be wary of small samples sizes. Measure against conversions, not just click-through rates (CTR). Conversion Rate: 10.5% Conversion Rate: 2.5% Now which?
  65. 65. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Banner / Image Ads Image Ads Video Ads
  66. 66. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  67. 67. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Bidding & Budgeting Options Bidding Cost Per Click (CPC) Cost Per Conversion (CPA) aka cost per action/acquisition Cost Per Thousand Impressions (CPM) Budgeting Daily, Weekly or by Campaign
  68. 68. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner How Much is a Click Worth? How much is a Visitor (click) worth? What is your site conversion rate now? What is your offline close ratio? How does that translate to revenues? Clicks   20   Conversion  %   5%   Cost  Per  Conversion    (CPA)   $  5.00  
  69. 69. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner How Much is a Click Worth? How much can you afford to pay for each click? Cost  per  Click  (CPC)   $  .25   Clicks   20   Conversion  %   5%   Cost  Per  Conversion    (CPA)   $  5.00   Target MAX Bid CPC = CPA / Clicks = $5.00 / 20 = .$25
  70. 70. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Bid Modifiers Not every click has the same value. Bid modifiers allow you to bid up or down, depending on: Device Location Time of Day Retargeting Audiences Placements, topics, and keywords (GDN).
  71. 71. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Campaigns Ad 1keywords keyword1 keyword2 keyword3 keyword4 . Ad 2 Landing Page Structure of a PPC Account Ad Group
  72. 72. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  73. 73. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Landing Pages Master the basics. Get fancy later. Any page can be a landing page Use properly built webpages: Include Title, Description, Alt Tags, and spiderable body copy. Get users quickly to what they want.
  74. 74. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Landing Pages
  75. 75. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Landing Pages
  76. 76. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Landing Pages
  77. 77. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner
  78. 78. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Process Creates Sustainable Advantage §  Its not just about keywords, ads, bids §  Plan on working in a disciplined manner Use Systems-Level Thinking §  Align campaign goals with larger company goals. §  Increase sales, not visitors Track Performance and Make Adjustments §  Be methodical, measure and test everything you can §  Don’t react too quickly, but don’t get analysis-paralysis Set Good Goals and work towards them Better PPC Every Day
  79. 79. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner Stay Fresh & Keep Learning! •  Books –  Advanced  Google  AdWords  3rd  Edition   by  Brad  Geddes   –  http://www.advancedadwordsbook.com/     •  Blogs, News Sites –  www.SearchEngineLand.com   –  www.MarketingLand.com   –  www.thesempost.com   –  www.ppchero.com  
  80. 80. #SMX #13D @mvanwagner SEE YOU AT THE NEXT #SMX THANK YOU!

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