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Getting Started with Paid Search Advertising

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From the SMX West Conference in San Jose, California, March 3-5, 2015. SESSION: Paid Search Fundamentals. PRESENTATION: Getting Started with Paid Search Advertising - Given by Matt Van Wagner, @mvanwagner - Find Me Faster, President. #SMX #13D

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Getting Started with Paid Search Advertising

  1. 1. March 3, 2015 Paid Search Fundamentals Matt Van Wagner President, Find Me Faster @mvanwagner
  2. 2. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Opening New Business Goal: Get people in store One Month Later: 124K Ad Impressions 300+ Qualified Visitors to Site Cost - $185 Why I Love PPC
  3. 3. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Why I Love PPC Shows only to these people !!!! This Simple Ad…
  4. 4. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Investment in PPC ads is measurable & scalable. Why I Love PPC
  5. 5. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Why I Love PPC PPC Allows You More Control over Messaging Get going quickly. Discover what words convert (in a “not provided” SEO world). Manage risk of algorithm changes. Predictable, dependable flow of traffic. You write the ads that appear. You determine what pages visitors first see. Shows you what keywords convert !!! PPC and SEO are Complementary
  6. 6. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  7. 7. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D What is Google?
  8. 8. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D •Reach Audiences Worldwide • Any Country • Any Language • 20+ Billion searches/mo. worldwide • 67% of all U.S. searches are powered by Google World’s Favorite Search Engine
  9. 9. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Google Search Ads
  10. 10. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Google search powers many web properties Google is default search engine - AOL - Ask - Google Maps - Internet Service Providers (ISPs) such as Xfinity, Earthlink, Verizon, & others. Where ever Google provides search results, they can also place ads. More than just Google.com
  11. 11. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D More than just Text Ads Google places banner and rich media ads across the internet. • Internet users spend 95% of their time browsing /reading website content. • Google’s display ad network reaches 2 Million+ websites, videos, & mobile apps around the world.
  12. 12. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D A Powerful, Global Online Advertising Platform Puts full control in your hands! • Creating Ads • Budgeting • Scheduling • Targeting • Reporting Google AdWords
  13. 13. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D This is Bing
  14. 14. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D This is Yahoo!
  15. 15. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Microsoft & Yahoo! Formed a Search Alliance (Jul-09) The Yahoo! Bing Network Microsoft’s Bing Search Powers Bing and Yahoo! natural and paid search results Microsoft’s Bing Ads Unified ad serving platform to manage campaigns on Yahoo! and Bing. ** Display ads not included in the alliance.
  16. 16. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Huge Search Market Unique Searchers Unique searchers on the Yahoo! Bing Network. Yahoo! Bing Network unique searchers that don’t use Google. In the U.S. 5.6 Billion searches monthly; roughly 1/3 of all U.S. searches. 163 Million unique searchers 54 Million searchers who are not using Google Wordwide 489 Million unique searchers 94 Million who do not use Google!
  17. 17. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Your Ads Reach Here
  18. 18. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D And Here…
  19. 19. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Puts Full Control into Hands of Advertisers! • Creating Ads • Budgeting • Scheduling • Geo-Targeting • Reporting • Plus…. Easy Import from Google AdWords Bing Ads
  20. 20. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Paid Search Overview Keywords: Ads: Words & phrases that trigger ads to show Really, really, short sales pitches in text or images. Landing Page: The first page people see after they click your ad. Optimization: Active daily management for all of the above. Testing & tracking results, increasing conversions, revenues, and returns on ad spend. Bids: How much you are willing to pay to show your ads, get clicks & conversions. Conversions: Actions taken by your visitors that you want to track such as leads, orders, downloads, phone calls.
  21. 21. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Geographic Time of Day / Day of Week Demographic Device Types & Browsers Behavioral Targeting Options
  22. 22. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Where you have an advantage…exploit it! Improve Ad Position & ROI Bid By Time zone Target Areas by Language Choose Your Battle zones Geographic Targeting
  23. 23. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Geographic Targeting
  24. 24. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Time & Day Targeting Note: Ad scheduling works differently on Google AdWords vs Bing Ads. Bing Ads: Scheduling times based on where users see the ad. Google AdWords: Schedule based on your AdWords account location.
  25. 25. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Demographic Targeting With Bing Ads, you can bid more for your best demographic segments.
  26. 26. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  27. 27. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D How Do Paid Search Engines Really Work? ● How does an ad get selected? ● Does the highest bid always get the top spot? ● How much does it cost to show my ad? ● What is the best ad position? Paid Search Auctions
  28. 28. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D How Search Engines Work You Search EngineSchumann Dichterliebe
  29. 29. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D How Search Engines Work You Search Engine Advertisers Schumann Dichterliebe CD
  30. 30. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D What is Best Ad Position? In general, the higher your ads appear, the more clicks you get and the more you pay.
  31. 31. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Your Keywords & Max Bids User Search Query: Blue Widgets Red Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets $.10 Blue Green Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets Buy blue widgets today. Free next-day shipping. www.widgetworld.com/bluewidget In Your Perfect World... You're a Winner!!! CPC = $.10 or less! Your Ad Your Site:
  32. 32. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D …this would be a great set of answers. Ads Competing Against Each Other On a search for the color blue… What Search Engines Want
  33. 33. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$10 $ .30 $ 6 If highest bid determined ad display… What Advertisers Want Ads Competing Against Each Other on Bid Price …results may not be quite as relevant.
  34. 34. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Quality Score, Bids and Ad Ranking ● Relevancy: Relationship of Keywords  Ads  Landing page The nature of the click ● Historical Performance (CTR): Keywords Keywords + Ads in combination Ad groups, campaigns, account ● Max Bid Price A Hybrid Solution – Quality Scoring
  35. 35. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Who Wins the Top Spot? $ .30 $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$6 $ 5 .95 .90 .30 .30 .10 .25 .80 .95 Lets Say Quality Scores look like this AD RANK = QS x Max Bid 1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
  36. 36. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D What Do They Pay? $ 3$ 1 $ 2 $ 4 $.25$6 $ .30 $ 5 .95 .90 .30 .30 .15 .25 .80 .95 Lets Say Quality Scores look like this AD RANK = QS x MAX Bid 1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90 $ .10 $ .96 $3.18 $4.81 $1.68 Lesson: Write relevant ads and select relevant keywords. Bid reasonably.
  37. 37. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Getting Started What is the primary goal of your campaign? ● Leads, sales, brand building? How do you define success? ● Online vs. offline sales conversions. ● Steps on the path towards sales conversion. Measure real world actions, not just CTR or CPC! How do you measure success? ● AdWords and Bing Ads conversion tracking. ● Web analytics (Google Analytics, Omniture, Coremetrics, etc). ● How much the phones are ringing. ● Total company sales and profits increasing.
  38. 38. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Campaign Ad Group Ad 1 keywords keyword1 keyword2 keyword3 keyword4 . . Ad 2 Landing Page Structure of a PPC Account
  39. 39. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  40. 40. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Getting Semantics Straight Keywords are not Search Queries Keywords = what you bid on Search Queries = what users type into a search box
  41. 41. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Keyword Match Types Match types control how closely your keywords match with a user’s search query: Broad Match: Very loose matching = tons of traffic Broad Match Modifier: Loose, more control = lots of traffic Phrase Match: Tighter matching = less traffic Exact Match: Tightest matching = least traffic Negative Match: Prevents matches, restricts traffic
  42. 42. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Exact Match Match Type Exact Syntax [word1 word2] What it matches to: Queries with only those words Queries with exact word order Optionally: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such as wedded, wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents. User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake [wedding cake] YES wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
  43. 43. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Phrase Match Match Type Phrase Syntax “word1 word2 word3” What it matches to: Queries with those words together Queries in that word order Also matches to: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such as wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents. User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake “wedding cake” YES Chelsea wedding cakes bakery “wedding cakes” YES gluten-free cakes, weddings “wedding cakes” NO wedding cupcake “wedding cakes” NO weeding cake “wedding cakes” MAYBE bride’s cake “wedding cakes” NO
  44. 44. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Broad Match Match Type Broad Match (DEFAULT) Syntax word1 word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries with words in any order Synonyms search engines believe could be relevant Session-based matches User Search Query: Your keyword is: Can it Match? wedding cake wedding cake YES cakes wedding cake MAYBE pictures of wedding cakes wedding cake YES wedding cup cakes wedding cake YES yellow cake wmd wedding cake YES hemarroid cream wedding cake YES
  45. 45. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Broad Match Modifier Match Type Broad Match Keyword Syntax +word1 +word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries containing those words in any order Queries must contain word(s) with the + sign Optionally: Plurals, close variants User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake +wedding +cake YES birthday cakes +wedding +cake NO pictures of wedding cakes +wedding +cake YES weeding cup cakes +wedding +cake YES cakes +wedding +cake NO hemarroid cream +wedding +cake NO
  46. 46. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Negative Match Match Type Negative Match Keyword Syntax -word, or –word1 word2 word3 What it excludes: Search queries containing that literal word If you want to exclude plurals, add them explicitly. Optionally: There are Exact, Phrase and Broad match negatives available (AdWords). User Search Query: Your negative keywords are: Will it prevent the match wedding cake -wedding YES birthday cakes -wedding NO pictures of wedding cakes -wedding YES weeding cup cakes -wedding NO cakes -wedding NO hemorrhoid cream -wedding NO
  47. 47. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Building Keyword Lists Start with your own brain ● What words / phrases describe what you are promoting? ● What words do other people use? ● Synonyms, misspellings. ● Words that will bring the wrong people to you. ● Start with keywords that contain 2 or 3 words (aka terms, tokens) ● Absolutely use your own brand names.
  48. 48. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Create Keyword Lists shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds labrador puppies labradors black lab puppies black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs retreivers pug dogs puppies small pet dogs lassie dogs collies poodles toy poodles shitzo mutts weiner dogs irish retriever sheep herding dogs pure bred dobermans pit bulls vietnamese pot belly pigs dalmations dalmation puppies dalmation pups golden retrievers golden retriever
  49. 49. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Organize Keyword Lists Pull them into smaller, tighter groups: Labradors labrador puppies labradors black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs Shepherds shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds Retrievers golden retrievers golden retriever retreivers Pugs pug dogs pug dog pugs
  50. 50. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Keyword Tools Search Engine Tools Google: Search Based Keyword Tool Microsoft: Microsoft Advertising Intelligence Competitive Analysis Tools – Ads & Keywords AdGooroo SpyFu Keyword Spy WordTracker Ispionage Keyword Manipulation Tools Rapid Keyword Permutator WordStream Microsoft Excel SEOBook Acquisio Broad Match Modifier Generator
  51. 51. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Rapid Keyword Software This tool will save you hours in text manipulations
  52. 52. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  53. 53. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Write Great Ads Note the Variety of Copy Styles: 1st Person story. Trusted Authority – “Uses Quotes” Price Appeal Convenience - Call 800 # Get Information – Medical Alert Guide We’re different from “Them” Which of these is the best ad?
  54. 54. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Who are you selling to? Who are you talking to? Who buys? Who influences? Who is it actually for? What motivates them? Speak directly to one of these people.
  55. 55. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D What are you selling?
  56. 56. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D What are they really buying?
  57. 57. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Features: Timer, Easy to Use, Discount, Affordable Free Shipping Benefits: Organize pills better Take charge of your health Keep parents well connected Are you selling what they're buying?
  58. 58. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Stress Benefits, Not Features Feature Benefit Creative Benefit Vibrating Watch Alarm Get pill reminders even if you have trouble hearing. Vibrating pill reminder. Works even when Mom’s TV is blaring away. Vibrating pill reminder works even if Dad’s hearing aid is off.
  59. 59. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Tips for Writing Great Ads Switch from your Left Brain to you Right Brain Go for a walk Sing a song Laugh Doodle · Do not start writing ads in Excel spreadsheets! · Start with story-telling. Talk out loud. · Try a “non-verbal zero draft” · Go listen to your sales team at work.
  60. 60. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Writing Great Ads Headlines Use keywords in the headline when possible. Write dozens of headlines, till you find ones you like. Key Headline Concepts Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life. Great Words to Use in Headlines Find. Compare. Save. New. Improved. Easiest. Top-Rated.
  61. 61. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Writing Great Ads @mvanwagner Ad Copy Use your keywords in the body copy, too, but don’t stuff. Same Key Concepts as Headlines Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life. Try full sentences. Use idioms only when appropriate Avoid gimmicks and overly-idiomatic expressions.
  62. 62. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Ads Designed to Filter Clicks - Many words have more than one meaning (homonyms). - You need to clearly identify purpose and intent of your ad. - You will have fewer clicks, and lower CTR, but you’ll get more of the right clicks. Home Care for Elders Need help with in-home care for an elderly loved one? Call us. www.home-care.com California Home Care Experienced with all aspects of home care. Call us Today! www.home-care.com California
  63. 63. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Ad Extensions
  64. 64. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Ad Extensions
  65. 65. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Shopping Ads
  66. 66. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Evaluating Ad Performance Which of these Ads is performing better? Lessons: Be wary of small samples sizes. Measure against conversions, not just click-through rates (CTR). Conversion Rate: 10.5% Conversion Rate: 2.5%
  67. 67. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Banner and Image Visual Ads Image Ads Video Ads Mobile Ads
  68. 68. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  69. 69. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Bidding & Budgeting Options Bidding Cost Per Click (CPC) Cost Per Conversion (CPA) aka cost per action/acquisition Cost Per Thousand Impressions (CPM) Budgeting Daily, Weekly or by Campaign @mvanwagner
  70. 70. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D How Much is a Click Worth? How much is a Visitor (click) worth? What is your site conversion rate now? What is your offline close ratio? How does that translate to revenues? Clicks 20 Conversion % 5% Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
  71. 71. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D How Much is a Click Worth? How much can you afford to pay for each click? Cost per Click (CPC) $ .25 Clicks 20 Conversion % 5% Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00 Target MAX Bid CPC = CPA / Clicks = $5.00 / 20 = .$25
  72. 72. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Bid Modifiers Not every click has the same value. Bid modifiers allow you to bid up or down, depending on: Device Location Time of Day Retargeting Audiences Placements, topics, and keywords (GDN).
  73. 73. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  74. 74. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Landing Pages Lobster Bisque? Master the basics. Get fancy later. Any page can be a landing page Use properly built webpages: Include Title, Description, Alt Tags, and spider-able body copy. Get users quickly to what they want: no more than 1 - 2 clicks. @mvanwagner
  75. 75. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Landing Pages
  76. 76. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Landing Pages
  77. 77. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Landing Pages
  78. 78. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D
  79. 79. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Process Creates Sustainable Advantage Its not just about keywords, ads, bids Plan on working in a disciplined manner Use Systems-Level Thinking Align campaign goals with larger company goals. Increase sales, not visitors Track Performance and Make Adjustments Be methodical, measure and test everything you can Don’t react too quickly, but don’t get analysis-paralysis Set Good Goals and work towards them Better PPC Every Day
  80. 80. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Stay Fresh & Keep Learning! • Books – Advanced Google AdWords 3rd Edition by Brad Geddes – http://www.advancedadwordsbook.com/ • Blogs, News Sites – www.SearchEngineLand.com – www.MarketingLand.com – www.thesempost.com – www.ppchero.com
  81. 81. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D Resources • Books – Winning Results with Google Adwords by Andrew Goodman – Pay-Per-Click Search Engine Marketing in an Hour A Day by David Szetela & Joe Kerschbaum with Michael Flores
  82. 82. searchmarketingexpo.com @mvanwagner #SMX #13D

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