Sacraments vocation1


Published on

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Sacraments vocation1

  1. 1. Matrimony and Holy Orders
  2. 2. •Vocation = a calling to an occupation or a way of life •Vow = a sacred promise Matrimony – the union of a man and woman who freely enter into a loving covenant with each other in Christ. ⇒to be valid, the sacrament must be entered into freely, with the intention of faithfulness and permanence ⇒Purposes of Matrimony include mutual support and growth in love of the husband and wife and being open to the procreation of children ⇒Mutual = given and received equally ⇒Procreation = the conception of children
  3. 3. ⇒The wedding mass is called the Nuptial Mass ⇒After the scripture readings, the couple receives the nuptial blessing ⇒The bride and groom are the ministers of the sacrament. ⇒The priest or deacon acts as a witness to the vows spoken by the couple. ⇒The bride and groom are encouraged to receive the sacrament of Reconciliation before the marriage ceremony. ⇒Matrimony usually takes place during a mass, connecting it to the great sacrament of Eucharist
  4. 4. HOLY ORDERS – The sacrament in which bishops, priests and deacons are ordained to serve the Church in a special way. => Ordained men are called to sanctify, teach, and build the Christian community ⇒ordain means “to set aside” ⇒The mission entrusted by Christ to His Apostles continues through Holy Orders ⇒Only a baptized man who is called to it by God may be validly ordained in the Catholic Church ⇒Like Baptism and Confirmation, Holy Orders confers an indelible spiritual character. ⇒Indelible means permanent; it lasts forever
  5. 5. RITE of HOLY ORDERS – the bishop imposes his hands on the head of the person being ordained, as he says a blessing asking for the outpouring of the Holy Spirit. •Bishops and priests are anointed with chrism and are presented with items to carry out their mission (chalice, etc) •Deacons are presented with books of the Gospels
  6. 6. STAGES of HOLY ORDERS Bishops – - are empowered to carry on the work of the Apostles. - Bishops have the responsibility of leading, teaching, and sanctifying the Church
  7. 7. Priests – - assist the bishop of a diocese - celebrate the sacraments, especially Eucharist and Reconciliation - proclaim the Gospel - coordinate other ministries in a parish
  8. 8. Deacons – - provide service for the needy - are authorized to preach - may administer Eucharist, but cannot consecrate - may baptize, proclaim the Gospel, and officiate at marriages and funerals - deacons may be permanent or transitional. Transitional deacons are on their way to becoming priests.
  9. 9. Parish Ministries carried out by the Laity (not in a Religious order): ⇒Lectors proclaim scripture other than the Gospel at mass ⇒Cantors sing and lead the congregation in hymns ⇒Eucharistic Ministers give Communion at mass and take the Blessed Sacrament to those who are not able to get to church ⇒Altar servers assist the priest at mass and at other services (Stations, 40 Hours Devotion…) ⇒Catechists teach the faith to others
  10. 10. SACRAMENTALS Sacramentals are sacred signs and actions which may resemble sacraments. - Sacramentals signify spiritual effects and give actual grace in our daily life - sacramentals include: *all prayers *sacred actions *blessed objects *songs and hymns *blessings and sprinkling with holy water *Ashes and candles *aspirations = short, quick prayers (ex: Lord, guide me) *Nature, when it inspires feelings of awe in the Creator