Liturgical year


Published on

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Liturgical year

  1. 1. The Liturgical Year
  2. 2. Liturgical refers to the Mass; the Liturgical calendar tells us which readings from scripture are to be read at Mass. There are six seasons in the Liturgical Year: ⇒ADVENT ⇒CHRISTMAS ⇒ORDINARY TIME ⇒LENT ⇒EASTER ⇒ORDINARY TIME Yes, there are TWO seasons of Ordinary Time
  3. 3. ADVENT -The Church begins a new Liturgical year -Advent lasts for four weeks, from the first Sunday of Advent until Christmas Day -“Advent” means “coming”. -The Advent season is a time of prayer and preparation for the feast of Christmas -Customs of the season include the Advent Wreath (3 violet & 1 pink candle) and the Jesse Tree (symbols of the family of Jesus) -Vestments during Advent are violet Pg. 193
  4. 4. -Christmas is the shortest Liturgical season -Spans from Christmas Day on December 25 until the Feast of the Baptism of Jesus -The Christmas Season includes these feasts: ~ The Nativity of Jesus (Dec. 25) ~ Feast of the Holy Family (Dec. 30 OR the Sunday after Christmas) ~ The Solemnity of Mary (January 1) ~ The Epiphany – celebrates the visit of the Magi (January 6) ~ Baptism of Jesus (Second Sunday in January - Vestments during the Christmas Season are WHITE
  5. 5. ORDINARY TIME -During the Church Year, there are two seasons called Ordinary Time -The first begins on the Monday after the Feast of the Baptism of Jesus, and ends on the day before Ash Wednesday -Vestments are GREEN during Ordinary Time
  6. 6. LENT -The Lenten Season lasts 40 days -There is no ALLELUIA said or sung during Lent -Lent is a time of prayer and sacrifice in preparation for Easter -Lent begins on Ash Wednesday: -On Ash Wednesday, blessed palm from the previous Palm Sunday is burned to ashes -Catholics are blessed with the ashes, and the words: ~“Turn away from sin and be faithful to the Gospel” OR ~“Remember you are dust and to dust you shall return.” * This blessing is a sacramental. Sacramentals give grace, but are not sacraments -Lent includes Holy Week, which begins on Palm Sunday (aka Passion Sunday) -Vestments are violet, except during the Easter Triduum -The Easter Triduum: -Holy Thursday – The Last Supper – white vestments -Good Friday – Jesus’ passion and death – Red vestments *There is NO MASS on Good Friday - Holy Saturday – Easter vigil – white vestments
  7. 7. -The Easter Season begins on Easter Sunday -Easter is the greatest feast of the Liturgical Year -Easter celebrates the Resurrection of Jesus -The Easter Season includes these feasts: -Ascension – 40 days after Easter; celebrates Jesus ascending into Heaven -Pentecost 50 days after Easter; recalls the descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles - Vestments are WHITE
  8. 8. ORDINARY TIME -This season of Ordinary Time runs from the day after Pentecost to the feast of Christ the King -This Season is a time of growth; the Church reflects on the Bible’s teachings as applied to daily life. There is an emphasis on missions and works of mercy and charity -The feast of Christ the King is on the last Sunday of the Liturgical year -Vestments during Ordinary Time are green, except on Trinity Sunday (white) and on the feast of a martyr (red). Trinity Sunday is the first Sunday after Pentecost, and celebrates the mystery of the Blessed Trinity. -There are many Feast Days of Mary and Saints during Ordinary Time -May is a month dedicated to the Blessed Mother; October is a month dedicated to the Holy Rosary