Santosh trophy


Published on

The correct format and structure of Santosh Trophy, India's most prestigious football tournament.

Published in: Sports
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Santosh trophy

  1. 1. Santosh Trophy India’s Most Prestigious Football Tournament A brief look at the tournament format & structure
  2. 2. Well, let’s face it. Nobody in India gives a damn about Santosh Trophy. The whole country cheered for foreign teams at the just concluded World Cup… and yet when it comes to our own players, our own tournament… Nobody cares.
  3. 3. There is no media coverage at all…
  4. 4. Hence a few cyber warriors promoted this tournament out of their own free will (and time). #SantoshTrophy
  5. 5. Yet most newspapers don’t even report the score. And the few journalists who do, make mistakes. Some renowned National newspapers even called the Pre Quarter Finals stage as “Round of 16”! Yeah, its usually 16 teams at this stage for other tournaments, but NOT in the case of Santosh Trophy.
  6. 6. Here’s how it works - Cluster Last year’s winner Goa, runners up West Bengal, and semi finalists Services & Tamilnadu do not take part in the initial stages. The rest of the Indian states are divided into 8 clusters Cluster 1: Karnataka | Meghalaya | Jharkhand Cluster 2: Maharashtra | Chandigarh | Tripura | Andhra Pradesh Cluster 3: Punjab | Pondicherry | Gujarat | Nagaland Cluster 4: Manipur | Rajasthan | Jammu & Kashmir Cluster 5: Delhi | Arunachal Pradesh | Madhya Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh Cluster 6: Haryana | Sikkim | Chhattisgarh Cluster 7: Kerala | Uttarakhand | Himachal Pradesh | Assam Cluster 8: Mizoram | Bihar | Railways | Orissa
  7. 7. Here’s how it works. Cluster winners. The winner of each cluster then proceeds to the pre-quarterfinal rounds. Mizoram had the same points and goal difference as Railways. Luckily it had one more “Goal For” than Railways. Winner of cluster 1: Karnataka Winner of cluster 2: Maharashtra Winner of cluster 3: Punjab Winner of cluster 4: Manipur Winner of cluster 5: Delhi Winner of cluster 6: Chhattisgarh Winner of cluster 7: Kerala Winner of cluster 8: Mizoram
  8. 8. Here’s how it works. Pre-Quarterfinals. Now the winner of each cluster plays against the adjacent cluster winner. For example, winner of cluster 1 versus winner of cluster 2, and so on. This is a knock-out format. Winner of cluster 1: Karnataka Vs. Karnataka Winner of cluster 2: Maharashtra Winner of cluster 3: Punjab So you can see for yourself that Pre-Quarters stage do Vs. Punjab not even have 16 teams Winner of cluster 4: Manipur playing. Only 12 teams are left in the tournament, out Winner of cluster 5: Delhi of which only 8 teams are Vs. Delhi playing this round. Winner of cluster 6: Chhattisgarh Winner of cluster 7: Kerala Vs. Mizoram Winner of cluster 8: Mizoram
  9. 9. Here’s how it works. Quarter Finals. So now the four winners of the Pre Quarters stage Karnataka, Delhi, Punjab and Mizoram move to the Quarter Finals stage and meet the other four teams (last year’s winners) Tamilnadu, Services, West Bengal and Goa. They are equally distributed to two pools. Group A Group B Goa West Bengal Services Tamilnadu Karnataka Delhi Punjab Mizoram The matches will follow the league system. First QF match starts tomorrow (July 28, 2010).
  10. 10. Here’s how it works. Semi Finals and Finals. After this, it is simple. Hopefully, Mizoram!
  11. 11. Hope that information was helpful. Cheers, and all the best to all the qualifying teams!