New mediadl adwords_intro


Published on

  • Be the first to like this

New mediadl adwords_intro

  1. 1. AdWords Overview Google Confidential and Proprietary
  2. 2. Definitions SoupInventory available page slots for adsKeywords terms entered in a searchImpression showing ad to a userCreative – the text/image that is shownCPM Cost Per Mille (1,000 impressions)CPC Cost Per ClickCTR Click Through Rate (= Clicks/Impressions) Google Confidential and Proprietary 2
  3. 3. 98% Revenue – „Sponsored Links” Queries Ads Clicks Revenue Revenue = Users * * * * User Query Ads Click Google Confidential and Proprietary 3
  4. 4. AdWords AdWords Ads Google Confidential and Proprietary
  5. 5. Google Advertising Auction Speed Not an auction that closes in 7 to 10 days – Google auctions close almost instantaneously Scale A live auction is run for every single query – every user, everywhere around the world Quality In addition to price, there s a consumer component – critical for usefulness Google Confidential and Proprietary
  6. 6. How the Ad Auction Works Ad Position is determined by... Relevance Willingness to pay Ad rank … Quality Score X Max CPC = which denotes ad position Quality Score is Max CPC is the highest $ determined by a amount an advertiser is combination of factors, willing to pay for one click including: on their ad •  Click-through-rate on •  Maximum CPC bids are (clicks used as an upper limit divided by impressions) •  Each advertiser pays only the minimum amount •  Keyword and ad text required to maintain their relevance position •  Landing page quality Google Confidential and Proprietary 6
  7. 7. Targeting: Sharpen Your Focus Region City Radius Set BordersCountry, Regional, and City-level Targeting•  Reach customers searching for results in geographic areas you chooseCustomized Targeting•  Reach customers searching for results in an area you defineLanguage Targeting•  Reach users searching in a specific language, wherever they are* *Marketer is responsible for translating ads into selected languages. Google Confidential and Proprietary 7
  8. 8. Practical Steps Google Confidential and Proprietary
  9. 9. Step 1What do you want to achieve? Google Confidential and Proprietary
  10. 10. What Do You Want To Achieve?Goals Metrics•  Increase brand awareness •  Increase in sales•  Educate a market •  Increase in page views•  Gather market data •  Free trial of product•  Influence decision makers •  Downloads of whitepapers•  Capture qualified leads •  Webcast registrations•  Sell product •  Event participation Google Confidential and Proprietary 10 Google Confidential
  11. 11. What Action Do You Want Your Visitor ToPerform?•  New customer •  Email address opt-in•  Subscriber •  Contest entries, downloads•  Whitepaper downloads •  Shop locator PVs•  Webinar, conference •  Coupon downloads; in-store registration redemptions of online promo•  Newsletter registrations Google Confidential and Proprietary 11 Google Confidential
  12. 12. What Value Do You Place On Those Actions?•  Positive return on advertising spend (aka ROI)•  Cost per customer acquisition•  Lifetime customer value•  Cost per call•  Cost per Action Value of Action % of visitors sent by to you X AdWords that = CPC perform action $24 x 1.0% = $0.24 Google Confidential and Proprietary 12 Google Confidential
  13. 13. Step 2 How to Achieve your Goals Google Confidential and Proprietary
  14. 14. Four Steps To A Successful Search Campaign Identify your Select relevant 1 target user 2 keywords and group by goals Measure results Test messaging 4 and costs 3 and keywords Google Confidential and Proprietary 14 Google Confidential
  15. 15. Step 1 Identify Your Target User Google Confidential and Proprietary15 Google Confidential
  16. 16. Step 2 Keyword Selection •  Jet ski •  Jet ski break jet ski holiday •  Jet ski breaks •  Jet ski holiday •  Jet ski holidays •  Barbados jet ski •  Water sports •  Caribbean water sports •  Fun activity break •  Water sports course •  Water motor sport •  etc… Google Confidential and Proprietary16 Google Confidential
  17. 17. Step 2 Keyword Selection jet ski chamonix jet water ski pic ski naked jet ski movie james bond jet ski used jet ski abrasive water jet water sports water sports vacation negative keywords water activityjet ski fast water sportjet ski break motorboat funlearn to jet ski barbados activity breakjet ski coursewater sports jet ski Google Confidential and Proprietary 17 Google Confidential
  18. 18. Step 2 Keyword SelectionOther Ideas•  Product names jet ski holiday, water sports course, learn to jet ski•  Pluralize/Singularise jet ski holidays•  Spelling Variations jetski, jet ski vacs, watersports Google Confidential and Proprietary 18 Google Confidential
  19. 19. Step 2 Keyword Selection Use the AdWords Keyword Suggestion tool•  Look over the suggestions carefully•  Pull out any irrelevant words•  Look for negative keywords Google Confidential and Proprietary 19 Google Confidential
  20. 20. Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords jet ski holiday Google Confidential and Proprietary 20 Google Confidential
  21. 21. Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your KeywordsJET SKI: WATER SPORT: BARBADOS:jet ski water sports barbados holidayjet ski break water sports vacation barbados vacationlearn to jet ski water activity barbados breaksjet ski course water sports break activity barbadoswater sports jet ski water sports activity caribbean water Google Confidential and Proprietary 21 Google Confidential
  22. 22. Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your KeywordsAdopt Landing Page testing Landing Pages Affect Conversions •  Aim for a smooth landing •  Land on a page specific to the product •  Use similar language to your ad text •  Make it easy for the user to act or purchase Google Confidential and Proprietary 22 Google Confidential
  23. 23. Step 4 Results & CostsYou control your budget in two ways: 1.  Select a maximum cost per click (max CPC) for your keywords –  Never pay more per click than your maximum CPC –  The minimum CPC for any keyword starts at £0.04p 2.  Manage your spending by setting a daily budget –  AdWords controls how frequently your ad appears to keep you at or below your desired budget Google Confidential and Proprietary 23 Google Confidential
  24. 24. Step 4 Results & Costs: Relevancy Matters•  Ranking/Bidding –  Ad Rank = Max CPC * Quality Score –  Quality Score = Keyword CTR, Ad Text relevance, historical performance plus other relevance factors•  Improve your rank –  Check the min bids for your keywords constantly –  Always adjust min bids per keyword, not per campaign/ad group –  Could you increase your bid or QS? Google Confidential and Proprietary 24 Google Confidential
  25. 25. Step 4 Results and Costs: AdWords DiscounterThe AdWords Discounter minimises your costs by setting your CPC aslow as possible:•  You pay only $0.01p more than the minimum necessary to maintain your position on the page Example Max CPC Advertiser Pays * Advertiser 1: $ 1.00 $ 0.76 Advertiser 2: $ 0.75 $ 0.51 Advertiser 3: $ 0.50 $ 0.11 Advertiser 4: $ 0.10 $ 0.04 min £0.04 * Assuming each advertiser has the same QS Google Confidential and Proprietary 25 Google Confidential
  26. 26. Step 3 How do I know it s working? Google Confidential and Proprietary
  27. 27. Measure Results & Revise Campaigns•  Conversion tracking lets you see exactly what works•  Customise by tracking multiple types of conversions: purchases, sign-ups, leads, page views•  No cost – free tool Google Confidential and Proprietary 27 Google Confidential
  28. 28. Questions? Google Confidential and Proprietary