Waa Bam!


Published on

Published in: News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Waa Bam!

  1. 1. Waaa-Bam! By: Gus-Gus Michigan Kat
  2. 2. D e m o g r a p h i c s o f C o n g r e s s
  3. 4. ! GENDER ! <ul><li>MALE: </li></ul><ul><li>52% </li></ul><ul><li>FEMALE: </li></ul><ul><li>48% </li></ul>
  4. 5. Marital Status
  5. 6. Religion
  6. 7. Ethnicity
  7. 8. Party
  8. 9. OCCUPATIONAL BACKGROUND <ul><li>269 members served in state territorial legislatures </li></ul><ul><li>214 members list their occupation as public service/politics </li></ul><ul><li>204 members list law </li></ul><ul><li>201 list business </li></ul><ul><li>94 list education </li></ul><ul><li>13 have served as white house staffers </li></ul><ul><li>38 have been mayors </li></ul><ul><li>24 were health care professionals (3 nurses, 2 dentists, 2 veterans, 2 psychologists) </li></ul><ul><li>9 were in agriculture </li></ul><ul><li>6 were engineers </li></ul><ul><li>5 members are scientists </li></ul><ul><li>3 physicists </li></ul><ul><li>5 are former Peace Corps volunteers </li></ul><ul><li>5 were former accountants </li></ul><ul><li>4 members were sheriffs </li></ul><ul><li>3 served as members of the cabinet </li></ul><ul><li>And many more  </li></ul>
  9. 10. Congressional Session <ul><li>It is the 111 th session. It consists of 541 elected officials from 50 states, 5 territories and District of Columbia. The Senate has 100 members and the House of Representatives has 435 and 6 non-voting delegates. </li></ul>
  10. 11. Congress Members from TEXAS Kay Bailey Hutchison <ul><li>In 1993 she was elected into the Senate in a special election. Making her the first and to date the only women elected to represent the state. </li></ul><ul><li>A year later she was reelected to a full six terms. And reelected in 2006. She is up for reelection in 2012. </li></ul><ul><li>She went to law school </li></ul><ul><li>twice elected into the house of representatives </li></ul><ul><li>In 1990 she was elected Texas state treasurer. </li></ul><ul><li>Was the author of 3 books </li></ul>
  11. 12. Congress Members from TEXAS John Cornyn <ul><li>He was elected for his first term in November of 2002 </li></ul><ul><li>In 2008 he had a second term </li></ul><ul><li>Up for reelection in 2014 </li></ul><ul><li>He spent 6 years being a district judge </li></ul><ul><li>Was elected as a Republican into the Texas Supreme court. Where he served seven years </li></ul><ul><li>Was a texas attorney general </li></ul>
  12. 13. Congress member from our district <ul><li>One representative Joe Barton </li></ul><ul><li>Phone number is: (202)225-2002 </li></ul><ul><li>Served in the 6 th congressional district of Texas since 1984 </li></ul><ul><li>Born in Waco Texas </li></ul><ul><li>2 children </li></ul><ul><li>Assumed office January 3, 1985 </li></ul><ul><li>Political party: Republican </li></ul><ul><li>Up for reelection in 2010 </li></ul><ul><li>Served </li></ul>Ooh la la!
  13. 14. <ul><li>We are in the sixth district… </li></ul>
  14. 15. SENATE
  15. 16. U.S. House Senate Leaders <ul><li>President of the Senate- Joseph R. Biden Jr.- </li></ul><ul><li>President Pro Tempore- Robert C. Byrd- </li></ul><ul><li>Majority Leader- Harry Reid- </li></ul><ul><li>Assistant Majority Leader (Democratic Whip)- Richard Durbin </li></ul><ul><li>Minority Leader- Mitch McConnell- </li></ul><ul><li>Assistant Minority Leader (Republican Whip)- Jon Kyl- </li></ul>
  16. 17. House Leaders! <ul><li>Speaker of the House- Richard Thompson </li></ul>