Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

The 50 states


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

The 50 states

  1. 1. The 50 States<br />12 October 2010<br />By: Mary B. Stanley<br />
  2. 2. When learning about the states, it is important to know where all fifty states are located at.<br />Why We Should Learn This?<br />
  3. 3. Along the Atlantic Ocean in the upper right corner on a map of the United States are ninestates known as the “northeastern states.”<br />The Northeastern States<br />
  4. 4. New Jersey<br />New York<br />Pennsylvania<br />Rhode Island<br />Vermont<br />Connecticut<br />Maine<br />Massachusetts<br />New Hampshire<br />The Northeastern States<br />
  5. 5. When looking at the map of the United States, in the lower right are the “southern states.”<br />The Southern States<br />
  6. 6. Mississippi<br />North Carolina<br />Oklahoma<br />South Carolina<br />Tennessee<br />Texas<br />Virgin<br />West Virginia<br />Alabama<br />Arkansas<br />Delaware<br />Florida<br />Georgia<br />Kentucky<br />Louisiana<br />Maryland <br />The Southern States<br />
  7. 7. In the middle <br /> of the United<br /> States towards<br /> the top, are the<br /> mid-west <br /> states.<br />The Mid-Western States<br />
  8. 8. Missouri<br />North Dakota<br />Nebraska<br />Ohio<br />South Dakota<br />Wisconsin<br />Illinois<br />Indiana<br />Iowa<br />Kansas<br />Michigan<br />Minnesota<br />The Mid-Western States<br />
  9. 9. The western<br />side of the map<br />consist of 13 <br />states known <br />as the <br />“western<br />states.” <br />The Western States<br />
  10. 10. Nevada<br />New Mexico<br />Oregon<br />Utah<br />Washington<br />Wyoming<br />Alaska<br />Arizona<br />California<br />Colorado<br />Idaho<br />Hawaii<br />Montana<br />The Western States<br />
  11. 11. Even though Alaska and Hawaii are disconnected from the rest of the United States they are considered a part of the “western states.”<br />Alaska and Hawaii<br />
  12. 12.
  13. 13. State capital: Lansing<br />Largest city: Detroit<br />Known as the “Great Lake<br />State.”<br />*Michigan is the only state that touches four out of the five Great Lakes. It is also the only state to have two peninsulas, the upper and lower.<br />Our State: Michigan<br />
  14. 14. Today, we learned where all fifty states are located. The four different regions are known as, northeastern, southern, mid-western, and the western states.<br />We also learned more about the state we live in, Michigan.<br />What We Learned<br />
  15. 15. Information on the four regions, slides 3-10:<br />Slide 11:<br />Slide 13:,1607,7-247-49069-67959--,00.html<br />Resources for text<br />
  16. 16. Slide 1:<br />Slide 3:<br />Slide 5:<br />Slide 7:<br />Slide 9:<br />Slide 11:<br />Slide 12:<br />Slide 13:<br />Picture Resources<br />
  17. 17. THE END!<br />