Letter sent by Alliance for American Manufacturing to Dept. of Commerce re Steel Dumping by S Korea


Published on

A letter composed and sent by the AAM, and signed by 150 members of Congress, urging Commerce to conduct a speedy and full investigation into the dumping of steel pipes into the American market by South Korea and other countries. Dumping refers to selling products below the cost to manufacture them. It leads to plant closures in the U.S. and loss of jobs.

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Letter sent by Alliance for American Manufacturing to Dept. of Commerce re Steel Dumping by S Korea

  1. 1. The Honorable Penny Pritzker Secretary of Commerce U.S. Department of Commerce 14th Street and Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20230 Dear Secretary Pritzker: We write to express concern over the Commerce Department’s preliminary determination in the antidumping investigation of Oil Country Tubular Goods (OCTG) imports from Korea. As the Department continues its investigation, we ask that you fully consider the domestic industry’s allegations and take action against any unfair dumping to the fullest extent of the law. The discovery and production of shale gas in the United States is a strategic benefit for both America’s economic and energy security. Yet as new domestic oil and natural gas resources fuel demand for steel products like OCTG, U.S. steel producers are being undercut by foreign competitors. Imports of OCTG have doubled since 2008 and increased by 61 percent thus far in 2014 compared to the previous year. Korea, which has no domestic market for OCTG, accounts for almost half of this import surge. U.S. steel producers employ 8,000 workers across the country making OCTG. Each of these jobs supports seven additional jobs in the supply chain and the steel produced for the U.S. energy market accounts for approximately ten percent of domestic production. Addressing unfairly traded imports is essential to ensuring that U.S. OCTG producers have a level playing field on which to compete. One steel company has already reduced hours at three American facilities and idled another as a result of surging OCTG imports. We have been told that more reductions and layoffs could occur. As this case proceeds, we urge you to ensure that the Department’s investigation is objective and accurate and to closely verify the information submitted by the Korean producers. Strict and full enforcement of our trade laws is essential for the future of the U.S. steel industry, its workers, and steel communities throughout the country. Thank you for your attention to this important matter. Sincerely, Tim Murphy, Steel Caucus Chairman Peter J. Visclosky, Steel Caucus Vice Chairman Additional signers: Aderholt, Robert Bachus, Spencer Barletta, Lou Bass, Karen Beatty, Joyce Benishek M.D., Dan Bentivolio, Kerry
  2. 2. Bishop, Rob Bishop, Sanford Blackburn, Marsha Blumenauer, Earl Bonamici, Suzanne Brady, Bob Braley, Bruce Brooks, Mo Brown, Corrine Bustos, Cheri Butterfield, G. K. Byrne, Bradley Capito, Shelley Moore Carson, André Cartwright, Matt Castro, Joaquin Clyburn, James Coble, Howard Cohen, Steve Conyers, John Courtney, Joe Crawford, Rick Davis, Danny K. Davis, Rodney DeFazio, Peter DeGette, Diana DeLauro, Rosa Dent, Charles W. Diaz-Balart, Mario Dingell, John Doggett, Lloyd Doyle, Mike Duckworth, Tammy Edwards, Donna F. Ellison, Keith Enyart, William L. Esty, Elizabeth Farr, Sam Fitzpatrick, Mike Flores, Bill Fortenberry, Jeff Foster, Bill Fudge, Marcia Garamendi, John Gerlach, Jim Gibbs, Bob
  3. 3. Gibson, Chris Gohmert, Louie Green, Al Green, Gene Griffin, Tim Guthrie, Brett Hall, Ralph Hanabusa, Colleen Heck, Denny Higgins, Brian Himes, Jim Holt, Rush Johnson, Bill Johnson, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Hank Jones, Walter Joyce, David P. Kaptur, Marcy Kelly, Mike Kelly, Robin Kildee, Dan Kinzinger, Adam Kirkpatrick, Ann Kuster, Ann McLane Lamborn, Doug Lankford, James Larsen, Rick Latta, Bob Lipinski, Dan Loebsack, Dave Long, Billy Lowenthal, Alan Lujan Grisham, Michelle Luján, Ben Ray Lummis, Cynthia M. Matheson, Jim McCollum, Betty McGovern, James P. McKinley, David McNerney, Jerry Meehan, Pat Messer, Luke Michaud, Mike Miller, George Moore, Gwen Napolitano, Grace
  4. 4. Nolan, Rick Nugent, Richard Nunnelee, Alan Owens, Bill Pascrell, Bill Pastor, Ed Perlmutter, Ed Peters, Gary Peterson, Colin Pittenger, Robert Pocan. Mark Rahall, Nick Reed, Tom Renacci, Jim Rice, Tom Richmond, Cedric Rogers, Mike (MI) Rokita, Todd Rothfus, Keith Roybal-Allard, Lucille Ruppersberger, Dutch Ryan, Tim (OH) Sanchez, Linda Schakowsky, Jan Schwartz, Allyson Sewell, Terri Shea-Porter, Carol Shimkus, John Shuster, Bill Sinema, Kyrsten Sires, Albio Smith, Adam Smith, Adrian Smith, Jason Southerland, Steve Stivers, Steve Stockman, Steve Stutzman, Marlin Terry, Lee Thompson, Glenn “GT” Tiberi, Pat Tipton, Scott Tonko, Paul Turner, Michael Vargas, Juan Walberg, Tim
  5. 5. Walorski, Jackie Whitfield, Ed Wilson, Frederica Wilson, Joe Yarmuth, John Young, Todd ###