Web basics 101


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Web basics 101

  1. 1. Web Advertising Basics 101<br />1<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />Krysta Nevin<br />Client Sales Specialist<br />knevin@godengo.com<br />510-863-8724<br />
  2. 2. Agenda<br />Why should I sell my website<br />Basic Ad Units<br />How Websites Monetize<br />Glossary<br />What is SEO<br />2<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  3. 3. Why Sell the Web<br />Print budgets are declining. Online budgets are growing.<br />If an advertiser tells you they don’t have money to advertise in print then sell them online.<br />Online budgets are more than $100’s of dollars. See here: West Penn Allegheny<br />Online offers customized solutions to fit your advertisers needs.<br />3<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  4. 4. The Internet has continued to grow<br />4<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />Sources: IAB Internet Advertising Revenue Report; PwC<br />
  5. 5. Why Sell The Web<br />It’s a great compliment to your print ads<br />Advertisers get placement in your magazine and online.<br />Bundle print and online when you sell.<br />Don’t sell as “added value”.<br />5<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  6. 6. Why Sell The Web<br />People are going mobile<br />$1.2 billion will be spent on mobile marketing this year. (Borrell and Assoc.)<br />More and more people continue to purchase smart phones and tablets.<br />Smartphones now make up 40% of all mobile phones in the US. (Neilsen)<br />6<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  7. 7. Why Sell The Web<br />Online only content that the advertiser might want to be associated with.<br />Special Sections<br />Directories<br />Online only content<br />Ads can be targeted to run only on the pages the client wants to be associated with.<br />7<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  8. 8. Standard Ad Units<br />The following ads are standard<br />ads across your sites:<br />Leaderboard (728x90) <br />Wide Skyscraper (160x600) <br />Medium Rectangle (300x250) <br />Half Page (300x600)*<br />Click for Live 300x600 Example<br />8<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />Leaderboard (728x90)<br />Medium<br />Rectangle<br />(300x250)<br />Wide<br />Sky<br />(160<br />x<br />600)<br />* Not Shown<br />
  9. 9. How Websites Monetize<br />9<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />Advertising agencies and clients may ask for ads to be<br />served these ways:<br />CPM (Cost-Per-Thousand)<br />CPC (Cost-Per-Click)<br />CPA (Cost-Per-Action)<br />What is an impression?<br />The number of times an ad is viewed. <br />
  10. 10. Cost-Per-Thousand (CPM)<br />Cost-Per-Thousand: Advertising bought on the basis of impression. <br />The total price paid in a CPM deal is calculated by multiplying the CPM rate <br />by the number of CPM units. For example, one million impressions at $10 <br />CPM equals a $10,000 total price.<br />Examples:<br /> 1,000,000 / 1,000 = 1,000 units<br /> 1,000 units X $10 CPM = $10,000 total price<br />An advertiser requests 25,000 impressions <br /> Take 25,000/1,000 = 25<br /> CPM= $8 = $200 TOTAL SALE<br />10<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  11. 11. Cost-Per-Click (CPC)<br />Cost-per-click (CPC)<br />The cost or cost-equivalent paid per click-through.<br />The terms pay-per-click (PPC) and cost-per-click (CPC) are sometimes<br />used interchangeably. PPC indicates payment based on click-throughs, <br />while CPC indicates measurement of cost on a per-click basis for contracts <br />not based on click-throughs.<br />Examples:<br />1000 impressions x 2% CTR = 20 click-throughs <br />$10 CPM / 20 click-throughs = $.50 per click<br />The average cost per click is .50 to $1.<br />11<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  12. 12. Cost-Per-Action (CPA)<br />Cost-Per-Action: <br />Online advertising payment model in which payment is<br />based solely on qualifying actions such as sales or registrations.<br />The actions defined in a cost-per-action agreement relate directly to some<br />type of conversion, with sales and registrations among the most common. <br />In a CPA model, the publisher is taking most of the advertising risk, as<br />Theircommissions are dependant on good conversion rates from the<br />advertiser’screative units and Web site.<br />12<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  13. 13. Glossary<br />Ad Campaign: <br />When a specific advertiser buys internet advertising for a set amount of time. Each<br />Time an advertiser chooses to be on your site isconsidered a new ad campaign. <br />Ad Trafficking:<br />Also called Ad Scheduling. Ad Trafficking defines where (targeting), when<br />(scheduling) and how often (impressions) ads appear on the site. <br />Ad Server:<br />Ad serving technology makes it possible to serve the right ad at the right<br />time to the right person.  That means your advertising is being as <br />productive as possible.<br />13<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  14. 14. Glossary<br />Click-Through Rate:<br />A way of measuring the success of an online advertising campaign, the<br />click-through rate is the number of clicks on an ad verses the number of<br />times the ad was downloaded. For example, if one in ten people who <br />downloaded a page clicked on a certain ad, the clickthrough rate would be<br />10%.<br />14<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />Bookend Ad:<br />A small ad that displays the client's logo, typically above or below the content it's sponsoring. I will refer to a bookend ad in future presentations. <br />It’s a key sponsorship ad unit. <br />
  15. 15. Glossary Cont.<br />IAB:<br />Internet Advertising Bureau The Internet advertising guideline site. www.iab.net/<br />IAB Ad units:<br />Industry standard ad sizes. Godengo uses IAB standards for:<br />Leaderboards (728x90)<br />Wideskyscrapers (160x600)<br />Medium Rectangles (300x250)<br />Impression:<br />The number of times an ad is delivered directly to a viewer.<br />15<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  16. 16. Glossary<br />Exclusive Ad:<br />Appears in one location exclusively for the duration of the campaign or ad run. No<br />other clients' ads appear in that location. Works great for selling exclusive <br />sponsorships to particular sections of your site. <br />Inventory:<br />Inventory is the number of ads available for sale on a Web site.<br />ROS (Run-of-Site):<br /> An ad campaign in which banner ads are scheduled to appear in various places all<br />over a site. This is similar to a rotating and is the opposite of an exclusive ad.<br />16<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />
  17. 17. What is SEO?<br />SEO = Search Engine Optimization<br />What is SEO?<br />SEO is a process which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query. SEO helps you get traffic from search engines. <br />17<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2010<br />
  18. 18. Thank you<br />Questions?<br />Future Sessions include:<br />How to monetize your website<br />Basic Sponsorships<br />My Site is too small<br />How do I get ads on my site<br />Where to find a Prospect<br />If you want further information please contact me:<br />Krysta Nevin<br />knevin@godengo.com<br />510-863-8724<br />18<br />Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011<br />