Mail merge like a boss

1,209 views

Published on

I created this mail merge training for my co-workers at Spark, right before our program was set to launch. It's a busy time when we're creating a lot of documents. All of them were able to mail merge afterward, saving lots of time! For a better version (where you'll be able to see notes), check out http://kevinverhoff.com/portfolio/

0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,209
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
14
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • Why mail merge, It’s a really good tool that helps you make professional documents by “pasting” en masse text into form letters. It’s a little like photoshop (see ridiculous Obama picture) for words. And it can help you do your work “Like a boss”
  • Mail merge connects lists in excel with a document in word to create multiple documents. It takes the columns in excel and fills them into the blanks in a word document. The result is multiple documents personalized for the each reader.
  • There’s three basic steps to mail merge:1. Set up your excel spreadsheet with the names or objects you want to use to fill the document. 2. Set up the word document (eg: type your form letter) with blank spaces for where excel will fill in the gaps.3. Merge the documents together
  • Here’s an example for step 1
  • Example for step 2
  • This is how you do step three. Click “tools” and open the “mail merge manager.”
  • A box will pop up. Pick the type of document you want to create. If it’s labels, a new box will ask you what size labels you want.
  • The next thing to do is to open the data source. Click “Get List” and open “Open Data Source.” Find your document.
  • Loading the document can take your computer a LONG time! Be patient. You’re almost done.
  • Once it’s done loading, pick the excel page you want. Click okay.
  • Then, just slide the parts over!
  • Final step: Open it into a new document or print it!
  • And that’s it. Set up excel. Set up word. Merge ‘em together. Like a boss.
  • Objective met!
  • Now you’re mergin’ like a boss!
  • Mail merge like a boss

    1. 1. Let’s learn how to mail merge Like A Pro
    2. 2. Why Mail Merge?
    3. 3. Objective Team Members will be able to: effectively use Excel and Word to quickly (ie: in a matter of seconds) create personalized documents, letters, labels, lanyards, stickers, reminders, etc. for program activities…
    4. 4. What is mail merge?
    5. 5. Simple Steps 1. Set up Excel 2. Set up Word 3. Merge ‘em
    6. 6. 1. Set Up Excel Student Marianna Hangy Mariana Andrea Tamera Maureen Zuri Abigal Nickolas Robyn Javier Mentor Jess Michael Hannah Michael Brian Laura Kathyjean Dan Josh Amy Kate E-mail Jess@example.com Michael@example.com Hannah@example.com Michael@example.com Brian@example.com Laura@example.com Kathyjean@example.com Dan@example.com Josh@example.com Amy@example.com Kate@example.com
    7. 7. 2. Set Up Word Depending on the document: - A letter: Write the letter, leave space for things you want filled in - Labels: Just open word
    8. 8. 3. Merge ‘Em
    9. 9. 3. Merge ‘Em Pick what you want. If it’s labels, pick the size
    10. 10. 3. Merge ‘Em
    11. 11. 3. Merge ‘Em
    12. 12. 3. Merge ‘Em FILL IN THE SPACES Dear ______, I’m mergin’ like a Boss Thanks, Kevin
    13. 13. 3. Merge ‘Em Open it in a new document Just print it!
    14. 14. Let’s do it now. 1. Set up Excel 2. Set up Word 3. Merge ‘em
    15. 15. Objective Team Members will be able to: effectively use Excel and Word to quickly (ie: in a matter of seconds) create personalized documents, letters, labels, lanyards, stickers, reminders, etc. for program activities…
    16. 16. Mergin’

    ×