How to Renew a New Jersey
Real Estate License
Steps to Renew a New Jersey Real Estate License
New Jersey Real Estate Licensee Checklist
☐ Did you complete 12 credit hours of approved continuing education?
☐ Did you complete the 12 credits by April 30?
☐ Did you renew your license online through the state’s e-licensing portal?
If you answered yes to all three questions above, then you are all set. If not,
New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal Requirements
You must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education to renew
your license. 6 of the 12 credits must be comprised of mandatory
topics and the remaining 6 can be electives.
12 credit hours should take approximately 12 hours to complete.
New Jersey Approved Continuing Ed Topics
Mandatory Topics Elective Topics
3. Legal Issues (i.e. listing agreements, contracts, leases,
leases, attorney review)
4. Ethics (2 Ethics credits mandatory)
5. Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against
6. New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson
Statues and Regulations
7. State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations
Pertaining to Real Estate
8. Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and
1. Commercial Real Estate
2. Property Management
3. Seasonal Rentals
4. Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate
6. Land Use
7. Real Estate Valuation
8. Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
9. Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate
Who is required to complete CE and who is exempt?
Continuing education requirements for brokers and salespersons
Am I required to complete CE? What if I am a reciprocal
What if I am a referral agent?
All license holders must complete
CE by April 30th of odd numbered
years. You are only exempt if you
successfully completed a broker
pre-licensure course during the
current renewal cycle. You may
not apply any CE that was
utilized for a previous license
period to the current CE cycle.
All licensees must complete 12
hours of continuing ed.
Referral Agents do not need to
compete continuing ed to renew
What does it cost?
Real Estate Broker renewal fee (paid to state): $200
Real Estate Salesperson renewal fee (paid to state): $100
Late Fee: $200 if continuing ed is not completed by April 30
Click here to access and complete NJ approved online continuing ed
File your renewal online through the state’s e-licensing portal
We build better training for real estate professionals
Keep Me Certified
SCHOOL OF REAL ESTATE
Building better training for professionals since 2012