Teaching learners with special needs


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

Teaching learners with special needs

  1. 1. Teaching Learners with Special Needs Chapter 1 Overview Strategies for Teaching Learners with Special Needs By: KayLee Saga Sped 413
  2. 2. Critical Legislation: <ul><li>What is… </li></ul><ul><ul><li>PL 94-142 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>IDEA </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Section 504 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>ADA </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>NCLB </li></ul></ul>
  3. 3. EHA Public Law 94-142 <ul><li>Public Law 94-142 is the Education for All Handicapped Children Act. It is now referred to as IDEA </li></ul><ul><li>This law was put in place to provide federal funding to states assisting them in educating students with disabilities </li></ul>
  4. 4. IDEA <ul><li>IDEA is the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act </li></ul><ul><li>It provides early intervention, special education and related services for children ages 3-21 most importantly is provides a Free and Appropriate Public Education </li></ul><ul><li>IDEA separates disabilities into 13 specific categories which include: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Autism </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Deaf-blindness </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Deafness </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Emotional Disturbance </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Hearing Impairment </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Developmental Delays </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Orthopedic Impairment </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Other Health Impairment </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Specific Learning Disabilities </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Traumatic Brain Injury </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Non-Categorical Delay </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Visual Impairment </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Learning Disabilities </li></ul></ul>
  5. 5. Section 504 <ul><li>Section 504 is in the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 </li></ul><ul><li>It gives any student between the ages of 3 and 22,who have a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities and are not covered under IDEA coverage under Section 504. </li></ul>
  6. 6. ADA <ul><li>ADA stands for the Americans with Disabilities Act </li></ul><ul><li>The ADA establishes guidelines for employment, public accommodations, transportation, state and local government operations, and telecommunication systems. </li></ul><ul><li>One of its key elements is to provide individuals with disabilities who are “otherwise qualified” from discrimination </li></ul>
  7. 7. NCLB <ul><li>NCLB stands for the No Child Left Behind Act put in effect in 2001 </li></ul><ul><li>NCLB was made to better serve the “neediest” students in schools and to hold schools more accountable. </li></ul><ul><li>It provides: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Increased Accountability </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Parent & Student Choice </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Greater flexibility to states, school districts, and schools </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>It places reading FIRST </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Ensures highly qualified teachers </li></ul></ul>
  8. 8. What are some key elements in schools today? <ul><li>Standard-Based Education </li></ul><ul><li>Student Accountability </li></ul><ul><li>Inclusion </li></ul><ul><li>RTI </li></ul><ul><li>UDL </li></ul><ul><li>Differentiated Instruction </li></ul><ul><li>Evidence-Based Practices </li></ul><ul><li>Diversity consideration </li></ul><ul><ul><li>What does all of this mean?? </li></ul></ul>
  9. 9. Standard-Based Education <ul><li>This means that what is taught must be tied to the state-derived content and it must meet performance based standards in nearly all core subject areas. </li></ul>
  10. 10. Student Accountability <ul><li>Students must meet standards on the test. NCLB requires testing every year in reading and math for grades 3-8. </li></ul><ul><li>Most students with disabilities can and do take the same regular district or statewide tests that students who do not have disabilities take. </li></ul>Inclusion <ul><li>This is a constant theme in Special Education </li></ul><ul><li>It involves a commitment to providing persons with disabilities the opportunity to have a place in society and in the classroom. </li></ul>
  11. 11. RTI <ul><li>RTI stands for Response To Intervention </li></ul><ul><li>This is the first step in identifying special education needs in a student and determining if they need a refferal to those needs. </li></ul><ul><li>RTI is a 3-tier system: </li></ul><ul><li>- The first tier involves the entire classroom it gives the teacher the opportunity to correct and rule out things that are not special needs </li></ul><ul><li>-The second provides a more intense research based instruction that is done in small groups </li></ul><ul><li>-The third tier is intensive intervention with specialized interventions, if found eligible after this a referral may be mad </li></ul>
  12. 12. UDL <ul><li>UDL stands for Universal Design for Learning. </li></ul><ul><li>It can be used as a design for an environment to be usable by all people, to the greatest extent possible without need for adaptation or specialized design. It is also a way to do lesson plans which attend to individual needs without drawing attention to one student. It also uses lots of new technology and electronic resources. </li></ul>Differentiated Instruction <ul><li>This is a teaching approach that allows students of different levels to learn in the same classroom. Using multiple approaches to teach something a seeing what works for specific students </li></ul><ul><li>The purpose is to maximize each students growth and individual success. </li></ul>
  13. 13. Evidence-Based Practice <ul><li>This is a technique which requires teachers to incorporate research based interventions. That way if they try a technique and it is unsuccessful they can try another one. </li></ul>Diversity Considerations <ul><li>Because student populations are increasingly diverse as a teacher you must remember that students to not represent the stereotypical image of a typical student. Every student in different! </li></ul>
  14. 14. The most important thing to remember is that…