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Performance Display - Best practices

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Presentation given at Biddable World 2014 in London by John Were on best practices in real-time bidding/ RTB display campaign planning through execution.

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Performance Display - Best practices

  1. 1. Performance display Best practices
  2. 2. This presentation was produced for BiddableWorld 21 January 2014 where it was delivered in person. The slides by themselves may not be self-explanatory…
  3. 3. Planning Build Go live Reporting/ Analysis Optimisation What’s next?
  4. 4. Getting from A B
  5. 5. Tagging Tag management solution Adserving container tag Media buying platform tags
  6. 6. Campaign structure Avoid
  7. 7. Campaign structure Ideal
  8. 8. Top-level targeting Prospecting – new users
  9. 9. Audience Contextual Reach
  10. 10. Top-level targeting Retargeting – existing users Users <1d 1-2d 4-7d 30d+ 7-14d 14-30d
  11. 11. Buying metrics CPM (dynamic/ variable) CPC CPA
  12. 12. Buying metric examples CPM 1,000 impressions @ $1 CPM Cost = $1 CPC 1,000 impressions * CTR of 0.1% = 1 click @ $1 CPC Cost = $1 CPA 1,000 impressions * CVR of 0.1% = 1 conversion @ $1 CPA Cost = $1
  13. 13. Buying metric examples 2 CPM 1,000 impressions @ $1 CPM Cost = $1 CPC 1,000 impressions * CTR of 1% = 10 clicks @ $1 CPC Cost = $10 CPA 1,000 impressions * CVR of 1% = 10 conversions @ $1 CPA Cost = $10
  14. 14. Buying metric examples 3 CPM 1,000 impressions @ $1 CPM Cost = $1 CPC 1,000 impressions * CTR of 1% = 10 clicks @ $2 CPC Cost = $20 CPA 1,000 impressions * CVR of 1% = 10 conversions @ $10 CPA Cost = $100
  15. 15. Creative Simple is good Engaging is better Rubbish is bad
  16. 16. Simple creative
  17. 17. Engaging creative
  18. 18. Rubbish creative
  19. 19. The plan
  20. 20. Plan sign off
  21. 21. Build!
  22. 22. Test
  23. 23. Go live!
  24. 24. Reporting Numbers – efficient Commentary – insight, actions, questions
  25. 25. Analysis
  26. 26. Analysis Visualisation Attribution modelling Test/ control experiments
  27. 27. Optimisation One change at a time Document
  28. 28. What’s next?
  29. 29. Planning Build Go live Reporting/ Analysis Optimisation What’s next?
  30. 30. John Were CEO, Xelsion See you on the SiteVisibility stand

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