District 205 High School - 2010 Jefferson Awards Students In Action Presentation


Published on

Students In Action is a national youth volunteer leadership, recognition and reward program, designed to pass the tradition of service on to the next generation.

Co-developed by Jefferson Awards for Public Service and Deloitte, it is now in over 250 High Schools.

Each spring, Student Leaders from the participating schools compete in regional competitions. They are asked to report on the implementation of the program, and the impact they've had, both in their schools and within their communities.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

District 205 High School - 2010 Jefferson Awards Students In Action Presentation

  1. 1. 2010 Jefferson Awards District 205’s Student Board of Education Promoting Service Leadership through Excellence, Respect and Pride
  2. 2. STUDENT BOARD MEMBERSHIP PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT SECRETARY Adilah Muhammad Jeremiah Whittington Sara Curtis Thornwood Thornton Thornridge JEFFERSON AWARD COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON Markist Booker - TR MEMBERS Jeremiah Whittington – TT Vincent Jones - TR Adilah Muhammad - TW
  3. 3. Jefferson Awards: 2009 - 2010 <ul><li>Game plan adding two schools </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Met with District and school administrators </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Principal selected faculty sponsors for each building </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Sent emails to faculty sponsors, publicizing program </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Volunteer Hour log books to record community service </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>We also partnered with District SAVE Committee and Law and Social Justice Committee </li></ul></ul>
  4. 4. Mission, Vision Statement and Leadership <ul><li>Vision of the Jefferson Award Committee is to implement the Jefferson Award program in District 205, highlight and increase voluntarism/community service and promote school spirit. </li></ul><ul><li>Student, Faculty, Administration and Board of Education compose shared leadership team with input from all stakeholders. </li></ul>
  5. 5. 2010 - 2011 Succession Plan <ul><li>Implement program in feeder school districts (middle schools) </li></ul><ul><li>Partner with Restorative Justice Program to implement in all three schools and increase volunteer opportunities for students </li></ul><ul><li>Continue to partner with SAVE (Students Against Violence Everywhere) to increase volunteer opportunities and expand to feeder school districts </li></ul><ul><li>We did not attend leadership conference; however, attended Illinois Team Institute Conference Summer 2009 </li></ul>
  6. 6. Fundraising/ Community Service <ul><li>CEDA- Christmas Toy Drive </li></ul><ul><li>Gift Cards for Seniors at Christmas </li></ul><ul><li>Hope Funds for Haiti </li></ul><ul><li>Anti-violence Turnabout Dance </li></ul><ul><li>Thanksgiving Food Drive </li></ul><ul><li>Blood Drive </li></ul><ul><li>Play for the cure </li></ul><ul><li>March of Dimes </li></ul>
  7. 7. The Plan and Action 2009 - 2010 <ul><li>Recognition: One outstanding student per month, per school awarded </li></ul><ul><li>Nomination: Faculty based submissions </li></ul><ul><li>Selection: Student Board (comprised of student and administrative representatives from all the district high schools) chose winners through meaningful discussion and consideration </li></ul><ul><li>Attraction: Prestige of Jefferson Awards, school publications and announcements </li></ul><ul><li>MEDIA RELATIONS: PRESS RELEASES IN LOCAL NEWSPAPER, SCHOOL WEBSITE, CABLE TV, POSTED SCHOOL BULLETIN BOARD </li></ul><ul><li>2009 – 2010 RECRUITMENT GOAL: BY END OF YEAR, IMPLEMENTED PROGRAM IN ALL THREE DISTRICT SCHOOLS </li></ul><ul><li>LEADERSHIP: ATTEND TRAINING TO FURTHER SKILL-SET (ITI) </li></ul>
  8. 8. Jefferson Award Winners <ul><li>Thornton High School Winners </li></ul>Ciera Williams J’Waan Smith Edgar Alcala Kenneth Smith Yelyse Wells
  9. 9. Jefferson Award Winners Thornridge High School Winners Christina Estrada Jalissa Cole Sharna Hines Takiya Shemwell Andrew Pritchett
  10. 10. Jefferson Award Winners Thornwood High School Winners Cody Wilson Lasanya Hernandez Kenya Lewis Marius Osborne Solola Rotimi
  11. 11. Telling the story <ul><li>P.A. Announcement </li></ul><ul><li>Newspaper </li></ul><ul><li>Cable access </li></ul><ul><li>Bulletin Boards </li></ul><ul><li>Assemblies </li></ul><ul><li>Websites </li></ul>
  12. 12. Growth and Expansion of SIA <ul><li>Presented Jefferson Award program to Board of Education for permission to implement in the district </li></ul><ul><li>Met with students, staff and administrators to plan implementation </li></ul><ul><li>Provided technical support to building level faculty sponsors and students for implementation at each school </li></ul><ul><li>The Student Board Jefferson Awards Committee successfully recruited Thornton and Thornwood High School </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Thornton High School contact is Ebony Williams </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Thornwood High School contact is Darcelle Williams </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Thornridge High School contact is Brad Beilfuss </li></ul></ul>
  13. 13. Building and expanding Volunteer Capacity <ul><li>Reformed Jefferson Awards committee to include representation from all buildings and internally select committee chairman. </li></ul><ul><li>Worked with faculty sponsor, other organization sponsors and principals to assist groups with logistics and coordinating implementation across the district </li></ul><ul><li>2009-2010 assistance with volunteer projects </li></ul><ul><ul><li>SAVE (Students Against Violence Everywhere) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Restorative Justice (Peer Jury) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Law and Social Justice (District 205 Schaumburg Student Exchange) </li></ul></ul>
  14. 14. Innovates <ul><li>Created standardized recommendations forms for all three buildings. </li></ul><ul><li>Reformed Jefferson Awards committee to include representation from all buildings and internally select committee chairman </li></ul>