Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Presentation

238 views

Published on

Family History project

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Presentation

  1. 1. FAMILY HISTORY Jazmine Mendoza
  2. 2. MY FATHERS SIDE
  3. 3. My fathers side is from Zacatecas, Mexico
  4. 4. MY FAMILY CHOSE TO MOVE TO THEUNITED STATES FOR THE OBVIOUS REASON….To seek a BETTER LIFE 
  5. 5. My Grandma moved to the United States in the year of 1950. My Grandpa moved in 1945.My Grandma had moved to PasadenaMy Grandpa moved to Los Angeles
  6. 6. Then they met and both moved to El Monte together in 1962.
  7. 7. Together they opened a small Mexican Food restaurantWithin time they had to close it because it wasn’t doing so well.My Grandmother was a homemaker and my Grandpa worked for a company that made parts for airplanes.
  8. 8. FOOD They ate traditional Mexican food - Carne Asada , Pork, Chicken - Tortillas - Rice and BeansExcept for Fridays, they couldn’t eat meat for religious reasons.
  9. 9. RELIGIONMy Grandparents were raised Catholic in which they chose to stick with that religion. - Although they weren’t very religious, my Grandma went to Church sometimes on Sundays.
  10. 10. MOVED…After their family started to grow (They had 7 children) they decided to move.They moved in 1975 to Hacienda Heights
  11. 11. TRADITIONS Every Christmas our family makes tamales On Christmas Day everyone goes to my Grandparents house to open gifts and eat.
  12. 12. TODAY Until this day my Grandparents still live in Hacienda Heights They still live in the same exact house they did when they first moved
  13. 13. MY MOTHERS SIDEMy Grandma was born in Santa Barbara , Chihuahua, MexicoMy Grandfather was born in Columbus, Chihuahua , Mexico
  14. 14. UNITED STATES My Grandpa came to Deming, New Mexico when he was 5 years old My Grandma came to Juarez, Mexico around the same age; 5 years old.
  15. 15. THEY MOVED AGAIN They both moved to El Paso, Texas when they were teenagers; about 15 years old. Then they eventually met around the age of 18 years old
  16. 16. WORK My Grandma worked at a Grocery store My Grandpa worked at Diary corporation -My Grandma then started working for the same company too.
  17. 17. FOOD They ate traditional Mexican Food and American food. - Rice and Beans - Tortillas - Carne Asada etc. - Hamburgers - Pizza. Etc.
  18. 18. RELIGION They were both Catholic - They were not very religious but they did go to church on Sunday every now and then.They did not eat meat on Good Friday
  19. 19. THEY MOVED… They got married in 1962 They moved to L.A; they lived there for about 5 years. Until their family starting growing. They then moved to La Puente and lived there for about 16 years.
  20. 20.  My grandparents then moved to West Covina because the La Puente area wasn’t a very good area to live in. They lived in West Covina for about 15 years until…. My Grandma passed away due to cancer. My Grandpa sold the house the following year.
  21. 21. TODAYMy Grandpa lives in Chino CaliforniaHe actually lives about 5 blocks away from my house.My moms side of the family doesn’t have passed on tradition -For holidays we sometimes get together to celebrate, however it’s very rare when we do.
  22. 22. BOTH SIDES OF MY FAMILYToday both sides of my family all live very close together. - Everyone lives in the same city. My moms side all lives very close in Chino/Diamond Bar area. - My Dad’s side of the family all live in the same area as well. They all live in Hacienda Heights.

×