How to Make Money with Social Media                   Jamie Turner Co-author, “How to Make Money with Social Media”  Chief...
Hash Tag: #SocialROI
Let’s Kick Things Off
Introductions: Jamie Turner•   Co-author of How to Make Money    with Social Media available at fine    bookstores (and a f...
Hash Tag: #SocialROI
Why People Buy Stuff
Why People Buy Stuff
How People Buy Stuff    Female Brain       Male Brain
How the Fortune 500 Make Money withSocial Media
Social Media Business ModelsBranding: Use social media as a branding tool to build awareness andconnect with customers
Social Media Business ModelsE-Commerce: Drive prospects to an e-commerce landing page and convertthose prospects to custom...
Social Media Business ModelsResearch: Use social media as a research tool to generate customer inputand feedback
Social Media Business ModelsCustomer Retention: Use social media as a customer retention tool to reducechurn
Social Media Business Models Lead Generation: Drive leads to a website and re-market to those leads, ultimately converting...
The Social Media ROI Cycle
The Social Media ROI Cycle                                                                      The 3 Stages of the Social...
The Social Media ROI Cycle                                                                                   Launching the...
The Social Media ROI Cycle                                                                                          Qual. ...
The Social Media ROI Cycle                                                                           Stage 3: Optimization...
Where is Your Company?Stage 1: LaunchStage 2: ManagementStage 3: Optimization
How to Measure the ROI of aSocial Media Campaign
Calculating Customer Lifetime ValueThe revenue generated by a customerduring his or her lifetime with your brand.CLV for S...
Calculating Customer Lifetime ValueScott’s Direct Mail:200 pieces x 0.5% = 1 new customer$1.44 per piece x 200 = $288Allow...
Calculating Customer Lifetime ValueTesting Direct Mail vs. Social Media$2.8 million x 10% = $280,000 to test a social medi...
What’s Next?
To Learn More, Google “Jamie Turner”How to Make Money withSocial Media now availableat fine bookstores (and afew crappy on...
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SXSW Jamie Turner on Social Media ROI

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Jamie Turner, co-author of "How to Make Money with Social Media" presented these slides at SXSW in March of 2011. If you're looking for more information on social media case studies, social media ROI or social media best practices, you'll find it here.

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SXSW Jamie Turner on Social Media ROI

  1. 1. How to Make Money with Social Media Jamie Turner Co-author, “How to Make Money with Social Media” Chief Content Officer, BKV’s 60 Second Marketer
  2. 2. Hash Tag: #SocialROI
  3. 3. Let’s Kick Things Off
  4. 4. Introductions: Jamie Turner• Co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media available at fine bookstores (and a few crappy ones, too)• Worked with AT&T, CNN, The Coca- Cola Company, Cartoon Network and other major brands• Chief Content Officer of BKV’s 60 Second Marketer• Regular contributor on Mashable
  5. 5. Hash Tag: #SocialROI
  6. 6. Why People Buy Stuff
  7. 7. Why People Buy Stuff
  8. 8. How People Buy Stuff Female Brain Male Brain
  9. 9. How the Fortune 500 Make Money withSocial Media
  10. 10. Social Media Business ModelsBranding: Use social media as a branding tool to build awareness andconnect with customers
  11. 11. Social Media Business ModelsE-Commerce: Drive prospects to an e-commerce landing page and convertthose prospects to customers
  12. 12. Social Media Business ModelsResearch: Use social media as a research tool to generate customer inputand feedback
  13. 13. Social Media Business ModelsCustomer Retention: Use social media as a customer retention tool to reducechurn
  14. 14. Social Media Business Models Lead Generation: Drive leads to a website and re-market to those leads, ultimately converting them to customers E-Newsletter YouTube Channel Email Marketing Forums Speeches Your Company Live Events Twitter eBooks Virtual Events Mobile Apps Blog Postings Webinars
  15. 15. The Social Media ROI Cycle
  16. 16. The Social Media ROI Cycle The 3 Stages of the Social Media ROI Cycle Setting up, running and optimizing an effective social media campaign 1 happens in three stages: •Stage 1: Launch 2 •Stage 2: Management •Stage 3: Optimization 3Source: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer
  17. 17. The Social Media ROI Cycle Launching the Big 4 Stage 1: Launch 1 •Approach: Executional •Focus: Short-Term 2 •Objective: To Have a Social Media Presence •Results: Negligible 3Source: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer
  18. 18. The Social Media ROI Cycle Qual. Quant. Big 4 plus More Creative New initiatives 1 2 Stage 2: Management •Approach: Tactical •Focus: Mid-Term •Objective: Customer Engagement 3 •Results: Increased TrafficSource: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer
  19. 19. The Social Media ROI Cycle Stage 3: Optimization •Approach: Strategic •Focus: Long-Term •Objective: Social Media ROI •Results: Revenue Growth 1 2 ROI Big 4 plus More 3 Conversion/ Optimization Creative Quant. Qual. New initiativesSource: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer
  20. 20. Where is Your Company?Stage 1: LaunchStage 2: ManagementStage 3: Optimization
  21. 21. How to Measure the ROI of aSocial Media Campaign
  22. 22. Calculating Customer Lifetime ValueThe revenue generated by a customerduring his or her lifetime with your brand.CLV for Scott’s Lawn Care:$80 per month x 12 months x 3.0 yearsCLV = $2,880Allowable Cost Per Sale:$2,880 x 10% = $288
  23. 23. Calculating Customer Lifetime ValueScott’s Direct Mail:200 pieces x 0.5% = 1 new customer$1.44 per piece x 200 = $288Allowable Cost Per Sale = $2881 customer for every $288 spentScott’s Annual Direct Mail Spend:$2.8 million = 2 million pieces x 0.5% =10,000 new customers per year
  24. 24. Calculating Customer Lifetime ValueTesting Direct Mail vs. Social Media$2.8 million x 10% = $280,000 to test a social mediacampaignSocial media campaign costs:Labor: $140,000Production: $100,000Miscellaneous: $ 40,000Total: $ 280,000Social media success:$280,000 spent in direct mail = 1,000 new customers$280,000 spent in social media = ?
  25. 25. What’s Next?
  26. 26. To Learn More, Google “Jamie Turner”How to Make Money withSocial Media now availableat fine bookstores (and afew crappy ones, too).Follow me here:60SecondMarketer.com/blog@60SecondTweetsContact me:Jamie.Turner@60SecondMarketer.com

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