Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Key Cities and Towns in Chaco


Published on

A presentation by 4 2nd year students describing the importance and characteristics of the main cities and towns in Chaco

Published in: Education, Travel, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Key Cities and Towns in Chaco

  1. 1. <ul><li>CHACO </li></ul><ul><li>One of the 23 Argentinean provinces </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Northeast part of the country </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cotton cultivation </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Economy :Agriculture </li></ul></ul>
  2. 2. Main cities: The province can be divided into six zones, each one of them has a main city: Southeast: Resistencia Centre:Presidencia Roque Sáenz Peña South: Villa Ángela Southwest: Charata
  3. 3. RESISTENCIA Northeast city of the country. San Fernando department. The capital city of Chaco. Also called the City of Sculptures, due to the fact that it has a great quantity of them along its streets and squares. A very important commercial city which interact with Corrientes. National Universities. (UNNE, UTN). International Airport. Its square is one of the biggest in the country. (4ha). Recreational places: parque 2 de Febrero (5ha), Paseo Costanero and Parque Norte Caraguatá. Many museums: Museo de Ciencias Naturales Augusto Schulz; Museo del Hombre Chaqueño, el Museo de Antropología Regional Juan Alfredo Martinet and Museo Ichoalay. Famuos people: Elisa Carió ( politician woman); Fernando ( a vagabond dog); Florencia de la V (comic actress); Mempo Giardinelli ( writer and journalist); Zitto Segovia ( singer); Juan Manuel Silva ( motorist).
  4. 10. Presidencia roque sáenz peña Also known as Saenz Peña Founded in 1912 Second city in importance. Department Comandante Fernandez In the province it is called “ La Termal” Economy: based in agriculture. Its Cathedral is very important. It has a Thermal Complex; one of the main tourist attractions. It also has Ecology Complex 150ha (Zoo, Botany Reserve) It has recently created a Complex for children. 12 street is its main street. University: Chaco Austral.
  5. 17. Villa Angela Is a southeast city. It is the third developed town. Department Mayor Luis Jorge Fontana. It has a complex infrastructure of services Economy: agriculture. It has its own “corsodromo”. It has one of the most famous carnivals of the country. Its first level processions are Ara Sunu, Bahia and Hawaianas. Regional Historical Museum It is homeland of Luis Landriscina. Santuario de la Virgen de la Laguna.
  6. 22. CHARATA It is the most important town of Chaco southeast. Department Chacabuco. Founded by provincial decree on  4 October   1914 . Located in a fertile region. It is considered a promissory city. Economy: cotton and soya. It has a large and diverse immigrant population. It has two popular sports clubs: Asociacion Española and Asociacion Italiana. Cultural events: Encuentro de Artesanos del Nordeste; Encuentro de Interprovincial de Escultores. Expo-Agronea. AM Radio Mocoví. Near to “Pampa del Cielo”