I. Drunk Driving is responsible for about 13,000 deaths in the US every yearII. 36 a day and one every forty minutesIII. 3 in 10 Americans will be involved in alcohol-related crash at some time in their lifeIV. Costs our nation $24 billion annuallyV. About twenty years ago 25,000 people were killed each year. Over ten years this equaled more than five times the number killed in the Vietnam War.
I. Driving with a BAC of 0.08 or greater is considered driving drunk.II. BAC: Blood Alcohol Concentration
Alcohol firsts affects the frontal lobe, then attacks yourmid brain, finally affects the brainstem.
So we know 0.08 is the limit so if we are caught what happens? Rhode Island has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. First Offense-6 month license suspension, 10-60 hours community service, $200-$500 fine Second Offense- 1 year license suspension, 60-100 hours community service, $600-$1,000 fine, possibly jail Third Offense- 2-5 year license suspension, 100 hours community service, $800-$1,000 fine, possibly jail • DUI Resulting in Death- Jail sentence 5-15 years, fined $5,000-$10,000, revoked license for 5 years, and at the judges discretion possible enrollment in an alcohol treatment program Look back Period: 5 years (Period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing. Also known as a “washout” period.)
I. Vehicular homicide (manslaughter)- is a crime in which death results from the negligent operation of a motor vehicle. Depending on the exact circumstances of the accident, vehicular homicide can be classified as either a misdemeanor or felony.II. Some of the variables that come into play when determining the degree of punishment for such a charge include: I. The role of gross negligence, or blatant, willful disregard for the health, safety and property of others II. The related concept of recklessness III. The role of alcohol impairment, if any, and whether or not the accident occurred when the driver was over the legal blood alcohol limit (BAC) of 0.08 percent IV. Speeding or otherwise failing to observe traffic laws
I. A common misconception about vehicular homicide is that it is not as serious a charge as murder. However, even without proof of intent, some states see this crime as a capital offense that warrants hefty jail time or even life imprisonment.II. Studies have shown that, while the identity of the accused does not greatly affect the verdict or sentence, the identity of the victim can have an impact. Longer sentences have been imposed upon people who hit and kill children, females, and those with no criminal record.
I. 2,131 arrested in Rhode Island for drunk driving / DUI (Driving under the Influence)II. 20 fatal accidents in Rhode Island where at least one driver had a BAC of 0.08% or aboveIII. 22 people were killed in Rhode Island in accidents where at least one driver had a BAC of 0.08% or aboveIV. 7 people were killed in Rhode Island in accidents where at least one driver had a BAC between 0.01% and 0.07%V. 29 total deaths caused in Rhode Island where at least one driver had a BAC of 0.01% or above
I. MADD- Mothers Against Drunk DrivingII. SADD- Students Against Drunk Driving (JWU, Brown, RISDI, PC)III. Rhode Island State Police- Task force on substance abuseIV. Local police departments, the state department of transportation, and the governors highway safety association.
I. Simply don’t drink & drive!!!!!II. Designate someone who’s not going to drink to driveIII. “Friends don’t let friends drink & drive”- don’t let friends drive drug, not smartIV. If you’re driving and you suspect someone is driving drunk you can dial *77 from your cell phone/Smartphone, goes straight to the police.