Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2014


Published on

Sixty-two IEEE Computer Society members and associates will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2014. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2014

  1. 1. IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2014 LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 4 December 2013 –Sixty-two IEEE Computer Society members and associates will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2014. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession. The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 293 members to Fellow status for 2014, compared with 298 last year. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2014 include: Amr El Abbadi, University of California, Santa Barbara Mohammad Alam, University of South Alabama Gustavo Alonso, ETH Zurich Krste Asanovi, University of California- Berkeley Nader Bagherzadeh, University of California-Irvine Chandrajit Bajaj, University of Texas at Austin Gautam Biswas, Vanderbilt University Alberto Broggi, University of Parma Richard Brown, University of Utah Kathleen Carley, Carnegie Mellon University Danny Chen, University of Notre Dame Kwok Cheung, Alstom Grid Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University James Colgate, Northwestern University Manuel Dabreu, SanDisk Corp. Sujit Dey, University of California, San Diego Inderjit Dhillon, University of Texas at Austin David Doermann, University of Maryland College Park Paolo Faraboschi, Hewlett-Packard Alejandro Frangi Caregnato, University of Sheffield Phillip Gibbons, Intel Labs Garth Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University
  2. 2. Antonio Gonzalez, Intel Labs Barcelona and Universitat Politcnica de Catalunya Ramesh Govindan, University of Southern California Adolfo Guzman, Instituto Politecnico Nacional (IPN) John Heidemann, USC/Information Sciences Institute Yiwei Hou, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University Weihua Jiang, Nagaoka University of Technology Christopher Johnson, University of Utah Mohan Kankanhalli, National University of Singapore Krishna Kant, George Mason University Yu-Kwong Kwok, University of Hong Kong David Laidlaw, Brown University Bing Liu, University of Illinois at Chicago Daniel Menasce, George Mason University Cecilia Metra, Universita di Bologna Paul Mockapetris, Nominum Paolo Montuschi, Politecnico di Torino Yi Murphey, University of Michigan-Dearborn Jain Pei, Simon Fraser University Fatih Porikli, Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs Padma Raghavan, Pennsylvania State University Umakishore Ramachandran, Georgia Institute of Technology Michael Reiter, University of North Carolina -Chapel Hill Amir Said, Hewlett Packard Laboratories Guillermo Sapiro, Duke University Steven Scott, NVIDIA Cyrus Shahabi, University of Southern California Shiuhpyng Shieh, National Chiao Tung Unviersity Sandeep Shukla, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
  3. 3. Raghupathy Sivakumar, Georgia Institute of Technology Ashok Srivastava, NASA Ames Research Center John Stasko, Georgia Institute of Technology Hisao Taoka, University of Fukui Keiichi Tokuda, Nagoya Institute of Technology Wade Trappe, Rutgers University Rene Vidal, Johns Hopkins University Ross Whitaker, University of Utah Changsheng Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences Sudhakar Yalamanchili, Georgia Institute of Technology Franco Zambonelli, Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia Yongguang Zhang, Microsoft Research Beijing The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information, visit To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must: • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society; • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted; • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation. The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination. About the IEEE Computer Society IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and careerdevelopment source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars, professional training, and a Corporate Affiliate Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. The Computer Society is the producer of Rock Stars of Big Data, the must-attend big data event of the year, and the personalized information tool, myComputer, now available at an introductory price. . To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit Media Contact: Margo McCall: Corporate Communications Manager,,(714) 816-2182 (office) (714) 822-9253 (mobile)