Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.
Candidates Approved for 2014 IEEE Computer Society Election
LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 10 June, 2014 -- The Board of Governors ...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5

Candidates Approved for 2014 IEEE Computer Society Election


Published on

The Board of Governors has approved the slate of candidates for the IEEE Computer Society 2014 election.

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Candidates Approved for 2014 IEEE Computer Society Election

  1. 1. Candidates Approved for 2014 IEEE Computer Society Election LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 10 June, 2014 -- The Board of Governors has approved the slate of candidates for the IEEE Computer Society 2014 election. Roger U. Fujii and Hironori Kasahara will be on the ballot for 2015 President-elect and 2016 President. The President oversees the Society's programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees. Fujii, currently IEEE Division VIII Director, is president of Fujii Systems and formerly Vice President of Northrop Grumman's Network Communications Division. He also previously served as IEEE-CS Vice President of Standards Activities. Kasahara, a professor of computer engineering at Waseda University in Tokyo, is a member of the Board of Governors and has served as chair of the IEEE Computer Society Japan Chapter and a board member of the IEEE Tokyo Section. Candidates for 2015 First Vice President are Elizabeth Burd and Charlene "Chuck" Walrad. Burd is Pro-Vice Chancellor for Learning and Teaching at Australia's University of Newcastle and IEEE-CS First Vice President of Member and Geographic Activities (MGA). Walrad is the founder of Davenport Consulting and IEEE Computer Society Treasurer. Second Vice President candidates are Satish Babu, vice chair, Awards and Recognition, of the Member and Geographic Activities Board; and David Ebert, IEEE CS Secretary. Babu is the Director of the International Centre for Free and Open Source Software and former president of the Computer Society of India. Ebert is the Silicon Valley Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University a University Faculty Scholar, and the Visualization Science team of the Department of Homeland Security's Command Control and Interoperability Center of Excellence. The 11 candidates for 2015-2017 terms on the Board of Governors are: · Erik Altman, Research Staff Member and Manager of IBM's Dynamic Optimization Group · Alfredo Benso, a computer engineering professor at the Politecnico di Torino in Italy · Gregory Byrd, a professor at North Carolina State University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering · Vladmir Getov, a professor of distributed and high-performance computing at the University of Westminster, London · Ming Lin, the John R. & Louise S. Parker Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Fabrizio Lombardi, ITC Endowed Chair in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at Northeastern University · David Lomet, a principal researcher managing the Microsoft Research Database Group at Microsoft Research · Francisco Martinez, founder and CEO of Sistemas Azteca S.A. · Forrest Shull, assistant director for Empirical Research at Carnegie Mellon Universitys Software Engineering Institute (SEI) · Jie Wu, Chair and Laura H. Carnell Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Temple University, and · Albert Zomaya, the Chair Professor of High Performance Computing & Networking and Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow in the School of Information Technologies, The University of Sydney. The seven candidates who receive the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2015. The election area of and Computer's August issue will provide biographical sketches and candidate position statements for each nominee. About the IEEE Computer Society IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars, professional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit For more updates follow us on