Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

The European Union


Published on

The European Union and its member states, languages, history and economy.

Published in: Travel
  • Be the first to comment

The European Union

  1. 1. The European UnionBy: Viktor Gombocz
  2. 2. Background Established: March 25, 1957 as the European Community Founding members: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany Motto: Unified in Diversity Anthem: Ode to Joy Official languages: 23 (on next slide) Member states: 27 (on slide 4) Currency: Euro Internet TLD: .eu
  3. 3. Languages Bulgarian  Latvian Czech  Lithuanian Danish  Maltese Dutch  Polish English  Portuguese Estonian  Romanian Finnish  Slovak French  Slovene German  Spanish Greek  Swedish Hungarian Irish Italian
  4. 4. Member states Austria  Latvia Belgium  Lithuania Bulgaria  Luxembourg Cyprus  Malta Czech Republic  Netherlands Denmark  Poland Estonia  Portugal Finland  Romania France  Slovakia Germany  Slovenia Greece  Spain Hungary  Sweden Ireland  United Kingdom Italy
  5. 5. Enlargement sinceestablishment Joined in 1957 (founding members ): Belgium, France, Germany (as West Germany), Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Joined in 1973: Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom. Joined in 1981: Greece. Joined in 1986: Portugal and Spain. Joined in 1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden. Joined in 2004: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. Joined in 2007: Bulgaria and Romania.
  6. 6. MAP
  7. 7. Flags – Founding members Belgium, France, (West) Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands.
  8. 8. Flags – Members who joined in1973 Denmark, Ireland, United Kingdom.
  9. 9. Flags – Members who joined in1981 Greece.
  10. 10. Flags – Members who joined in1986 Portugal, Spain.
  11. 11. Flags – Members who joined in1995 Austria, Finland, Sweden.
  12. 12. Flags – Members who joined in2004 Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia.
  13. 13. Flags – Members who joined in2007 Bulgaria and Romania.
  14. 14. EU – Flags of all 27 memberstates
  15. 15. EU – Geography  Borders 13 non-EU members: Albania, Andorra, Belarus, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Moldova, Norway, Russia, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine.  Borders the Black Sea, the Mediterranean Sea, the Adrian Sea, the Ionian Sea, the Tyrrhenian Sea, the Baltic Sea, the North Sea, the Gulf of Finland and the English Channel, the Atlantic Ocean, the Irish Sea, the Celtic Sea.
  16. 16. Flags seen with EUlanguages Bulgarian: Bulgaria Czech: Czech Republic Danish: Denmark Dutch: Belgium, Netherlands English: United Kingdom Estonian: Estonia Finnish: Finland France: Belgium, France, Switzerland German: Austria, Germany, Switzerland Greek: Cyprus, Greece Hungarian: Hungary
  17. 17. Flags seen with EU languages(cont). Irish: Ireland Italian: Italy, Switzerland Latvian: Latvia Lithuanian: Lithuania Maltese: Malta Polish: Poland Portuguese: Portugal Romanian: Moldova, Romania Slovak: Slovakia Slovene: Slovenia Spanish: Spain Swedish: Sweden
  18. 18. Future enlargement Five states are recognized as official EU candidates: Croatia, Iceland, Macedonia, Montenegro and Turkey. Three states are recognized as official potential candidates: Albania, Bosnia and Serbia.
  19. 19. EU – Biggest economies Germany France United Kingdom Italy
  20. 20. EU – Trade and Economics The EU’s biggest trading partners are China, Russia and the U.S. The four biggest economies are Germany, France, the United Kingdom and Italy. France and Germany are the most important members of the EU.
  21. 21. Euro zone and SchengenAgreement Euro zone: Member states that have adopted the Euro currency introduced in 1999 and put into use in 2002. Schengen Agreement: Member states that have ceased passport use at border controls.