Eastern Europe


Published on

Published in: Business
1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Eastern Europe

  1. 1. Benedict (Viktor) Gombocz
  2. 2.  The Cold War definition of Eastern Europecorresponded to the Soviet Union and itssatellite countries: Albania, Bulgaria,Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary,Poland, Romania, and Yugoslavia. The Soviet Union and its communist allieswere members of the Warsaw Pact,excluding neutral Yugoslavia and Albania,which withdrew from the Warsaw Pact inthe 1960s after it broke with the SovietUnion. The communist states in Eastern Europewere also referred to as the Second World.
  3. 3.  Albania Armenia (not on map) Azerbaijan (not on map) Belarus Bosnia & Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Czech Republic Estonia Georgia (not on map) Hungary Latvia Lithuania Republic of Macedonia Moldova Montenegro Poland Romania Russia Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Ukraine
  4. 4.  Belarus Bulgaria Czech Republic Hungary Moldova Poland Romania Russia Slovakia Ukraine
  5. 5.  Baltic states◦ Estonia◦ Latvia◦ Lithuania Central Europe◦ Czech Republic◦ Hungary◦ Poland◦ Slovakia Balkans◦ Albania◦ Bosnia & Herzegovina◦ Bulgaria◦ Croatia◦ Republic of Macedonia◦ Montenegro◦ Romania◦ Serbia◦ Slovenia
  6. 6.  Ex-Soviet states◦ Belarus◦ Moldova◦ Ukraine Eurasia◦ Russia Caucasus◦ Armenia◦ Azerbaijan◦ Georgia
  7. 7.  As noted on slide 4 (see accompanying map),the classification of Eastern Europe used in theCold War is used to define post-CommunistEastern Europe. While these states transitioned to capitalism ordemocracy (or social democracy) in the late1980s/early 1990s, they still fall within thepoorest countries in the world. Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary,Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia,and Slovenia are full member states of theEuropean Union and NATO. Albania and Croatia are full members of NATO;Croatia is due to join the EU on July 1, 2013,and Albania is currently an EU applicant.
  8. 8.  The largest language family of Eastern Europeis the Slavic languages, spoken to a largeextent in Central Europe, Eastern Europe,Northern Asia, and the Balkans (see map fordetails). West Slavic languages (sea green) are spokenin Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia; East Slaviclanguages (dark green) are spoken in Belarus,Russia, and Ukraine; South Slavic languages(blue green) are spoken in Bosnia &Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Republic ofMacedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Slovenia. The smaller language families include theBaltic languages (in Latvia and Lithuania), theFinno-Ugric languages (in Estonia andHungary), and the Romance languages (inMoldova and Romania). Only in Azerbaijan is a Turkic languagespoken; only in Georgia is a Caucasianlanguage spoken. The respective languages of Albania andArmenia form their own language families.
  9. 9.  Eastern Europe is roughly divided betweenWestern and Eastern Christianity; the majorWestern branches practiced in EasternEurope are Roman Catholicism (in Croatia,Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania,Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia) andProtestantism (in Estonia and Latvia). Orthodox Christianity is followed by themajority of the population in various Slaviccountries (Belarus, Bulgaria, Republic ofMacedonia, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia,and Ukraine) and in a few non-Slaviccountries (Georgia, Moldova, andRomania). Islam is the largest religion in Albania,Azerbaijan, and Bosnia & Herzegovina. Armenia has its own church, the ArmenianApostolic Church.
  10. 10.  Baltic states◦ Estonia◦ Latvia◦ Lithuania Eastern Europe◦ Armenia◦ Azerbaijan◦ Belarus◦ Czech Republic◦ Georgia◦ Hungary◦ Moldova◦ Poland◦ Slovakia◦ Ukraine Southern Europe / Balkans◦ Albania◦ Bosnia & Herzegovina◦ Bulgaria◦ Croatia◦ Republic of Macedonia◦ Montenegro◦ Romania◦ Serbia◦ Slovenia Eurasia◦ Russia