Steering Committee-Minutes-Apr2013


Published on

These meeting minutes were from the April 5th, 2013 Heartland 2050 Steering Committee meeting.

Published in: Technology, Business
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Steering Committee-Minutes-Apr2013

  1. 1. Steering Committee Kick-Off 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM Thursday, April 5, 2013 Scott Conference Center 6450 Pine Street Omaha, Nebraska 68106 MEETING MINUTES Steering Committee Members See attached Steering Committee attendance identifying who was present/absent Staff Greg Youell, MAPA Jake Hansen. MAPA Sloan Dawson, MAPA Clint Sloss, MAPA Sarah Skarka, MAPA Katrina Lane, Waitt Co A. Welcome from Co-Chairs Dana Bradford, CEO of Waitt Company Mayor Tom Hanafan, City of Council Bluffs, IA Mr. Bradford and Mayor Hanafan welcomed committee members back for the second Steering Committee meeting. B. Overview and Update on Planning Process Greg Youell, MAPA Executive Director Mr. Youell updated the committee members on the public engagement efforts to begin as soon as June. This process will gather input from the public via the values laddering survey C. Research Team Presentation: Land & Natural Resources* Steve Oltmans, Mayor’s Chief of Staff- City of Omaha Sloan Dawson, Heartland 2050 Project Coordinator Mr. Dawson started the conversation with a focus on land use and the urban expansion into rural areas. During the period between 1992 and 2006, forests saw a 54% loss in land area covered (435 sq mi to 201 sq mi). In addition, urban land development outpaced population growth effectively decreasing our populationdensity nearly in half (1990- 2,717 pop/sqmi ; 2010- 1,532 pop/sqmi). Mr. Oltmans went through his presentation heavily focused on the Papio-Missouri River watershed and the barriers to locating development on sewerable land. D. Research Team Presentation: Demographics and Mobility* Pete Tulipana, President & CEO- Iowa West Foundation Jake Hansen, MAPA Community & Economic Development Manager Mr. Tulipana led the discussion beginning with a basic review of population change since 1950. Jake focused his portion of the presentation on employment and wages by industry. He also spoke about Stress Indicators, statistics just as percent of 18-24 population without high school degree or unemployed labor force over 16. North 2222 Cuming Street Omaha, NE 68102 (402) 444-6866
  2. 2. Steering Committee Kick-Off 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM Thursday, April 5, 2013 Scott Conference Center 6450 Pine Street Omaha, Nebraska 68106 MEETING MINUTES Omaha and Council Bluffs south of I-80 were two concentration areas that had high levels of Stress Indicators related to poverty. E. Research Team Presentation: Housing and Built Environment* Sandy Dodge, President and Chairman of the Board – NP Dodge Mr. Dodge discussed variety of issues related to land use, housing, and trends in development including developed land, housing unit types, and distribution of housing growth . Mr. Dodge pointed out that housing has been driven by single-family residences, that we’re trending to lower-density development and decentralization, and the physical footprint of Omaha is outpacing population growth almost 10 to 1. The second portion of the presentation focused on the character of housing in the region such as age, affordability, ownership versus rentals, and public housing statistics. Lastly, Mr. Dodge spoke about the distribution of retail and industrial development in the region. For instance, Omaha Central holds 40% or more of the urban metro cores industrial space (percent of total inventory, square foot) while Omaha Suburban holds 40% or more of the urban metro core’s retail real estate inventory. F. Making Sense of the Information This time was provided to allow the committee members Q&A for any of the presentations. *Download the compiled presentations for all three research teams HERE. 2222 Cuming Street Omaha, NE 68102 (402) 444-6866
  3. 3. Heartland 2050 Steering Committee April 5, 2013 Name Title/Organization Dr. Kenneth Bird Fr. Steven Boes Mary Ann Borgeson Dana Bradford David Brown Tim Burke Mike Cassling Dick Christie Barry Cleaveland Sandy Dodge Todd Foje Mikki Frost Lynn Grobe Tom Hanafan Frank Hayes Dave Johnson Doug Kindig Dan Kinney Ron Kohn Stuart Krejci Steve Kruger Clark Lauritzen Amy Lindsay Dave Lutton Bob McCarthy Bruce McCauley Othello Meadows Heath Mello Jim Peterson Carolina Quezada BJ Reed Dick Reiser Tom Richards Daniel Ritter Rita Sanders President & CEO, Avenue Scholars Foundation Executive Director, Boys Town, Nebraska Commissioner, Douglas County, Nebraska CEO, Waitt Corporation CEO, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce Executive VP, Omaha Public Power District CEO, CQuence Health Group Executive Director, Metropolitan Omaha Education Consortium Commissioner, Iowa Transportation Commission CEO, NP Dodge Real Estate CEO, Great Plains Communications Director, Community Benefits & Healthier Communities, Alegent Health Systems Supervisor, Pottawattamie County, Iowa Mayor, City of Council Bluffs President, Hayes & Associates, L.L.C. Business Manager, Mid-American Energy Mayor, City of La Vista, Nebraska President, Iowa Western Community College Supervisor, Mills County, Iowa Senior Vice President, First National Bank of Wahoo Commissioner, Washington County, Nebraska President, First National Bank Wealth Management Board Member, Metropolitan Utilities District Commissioner, Saunders County, Nebraska President, McCarthy Construction Interim Director, 55th Civil Engineer Squadron, USAF - Offutt Air Force Base Executive Director, 75 North Revitalization, Inc. Senator, Metropolitan Community College Commissioner, Cass County, Nebraska Executive Director, Latino Center of the Midlands Dean, University of Nebraska at Omaha VP, Werner Trucking Commissioner, Sarpy County, Nebraska Student, Mayor’s Youth Leadership Commission Mayor, City of Bellevue, Nebraska Attendance? 1 Y N Y Y Y N Y N N Y Y Y N Y N Y N N N N N N N N Y Y Y N N Y N N N Y Y Alternate
  4. 4. Heartland 2050 Steering Committee April 5, 2013 Name Title/Organization Clifford Scott Bob Smith Connie Spellman Jim Suttle Pete Tulipana Andrea Tullos Linda Washburn Michael Young CEO, Omaha Housing Authority Supervisor, Harrison County, Iowa Executive Director, Omaha by Design Mayor, City of Omaha, Nebraska Executive Director, Iowa West Foundation Colonel, Offutt Air Force Base - 55th Support Group Executive Director, Glenwood Area Chamber of Commerce Chair, Metro Transit Attendance? 2 Y Y Y Y Y Y N N Alternate