Steering Committee-Minutes-Feb2013


Published on

These meeting minutes were from the February 7th, 2013 Heartland 2050 Steering Committee meeting.

Published in: Education, Business
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Steering Committee-Minutes-Feb2013

  1. 1. Steering Committee Kick-Off 10:30 AM – 1:00 PM Thursday, February 7, 2013 Scott Conference Center 6450 Pine Street Omaha, Nebraska 68106 MEETING MINUTES Steering Committee Members See attached Steering Committee attendance identifying who was present/absent Staff Greg Youell, MAPA Jake Hansen. MAPA Sloan Dawson, MAPA Isabel Pena, MAPA Katrina Lane, Waitt Co. A. Welcome from Co-Chairs Dana Bradford, CEO of Waitt Company Mayor Tom Hanafan, City of Council Bluffs, IA Mr. Bradford and Mayor Hanafan introduced themselves to the committee members, discussed their roles as the co-chairs, and reviewed the Memorandum document from committee member’s binder. B. Heartland 2050: Why We’re Doing It Greg Youell, MAPA Executive Director Mr. Youell explained the importance of this regional vision process with the aid of the Steering Committee Kick-off presentation. C. Project Approach and Timeline Sloan Dawson, Heartland 2050 Project Coordinator Mr. Dawson took over the presentation at this point to review the approach and project phases through the closeout of this grant funded project, December 2014. A moderated discussion followed the presentation. D. Lunch E. The Value of Visioning Robert Grow, Envision Utah Mr. Grow spoke on their efforts in Salt Lake City and discussed the benefits of conducting a regional vision. The approach taken in Salt Lake City has led to the implementation of light rail system which provides greater access to their region while reducing congestion on their strained highway system. After Mr. Grow completed his presentation, he opened it up to Q&A from the committee. 2222 Cuming Street Omaha, NE 68102 (402) 444-6866
  2. 2. Heartland 2050 Steering Committee April 5, 2013 Name Title/Organization Dr. Kenneth Bird Fr. Steven Boes Mary Ann Borgeson Dana Bradford David Brown Tim Burke Mike Cassling Dick Christie Barry Cleaveland Sandy Dodge Todd Foje Mikki Frost Lynn Grobe Tom Hanafan Frank Hayes Dave Johnson Doug Kindig Dan Kinney Ron Kohn Stuart Krejci Steve Kruger Clark Lauritzen Amy Lindsay Dave Lutton Bob McCarthy Bruce McCauley Othello Meadows Heath Mello Jim Peterson Carolina Quezada BJ Reed Dick Reiser Tom Richards Daniel Ritter Rita Sanders President & CEO, Avenue Scholars Foundation Executive Director, Boys Town, Nebraska Commissioner, Douglas County, Nebraska CEO, Waitt Corporation CEO, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce Executive VP, Omaha Public Power District CEO, CQuence Health Group Executive Director, Metropolitan Omaha Education Consortium Commissioner, Iowa Transportation Commission CEO, NP Dodge Real Estate CEO, Great Plains Communications Director, Community Benefits & Healthier Communities, Alegent Health Systems Supervisor, Pottawattamie County, Iowa Mayor, City of Council Bluffs President, Hayes & Associates, L.L.C. Business Manager, Mid-American Energy Mayor, City of La Vista, Nebraska President, Iowa Western Community College Supervisor, Mills County, Iowa Senior Vice President, First National Bank of Wahoo Commissioner, Washington County, Nebraska President, First National Bank Wealth Management Board Member, Metropolitan Utilities District Commissioner, Saunders County, Nebraska President, McCarthy Construction Interim Director, 55th Civil Engineer Squadron, USAF - Offutt Air Force Base Executive Director, 75 North Revitalization, Inc. Senator, Metropolitan Community College Commissioner, Cass County, Nebraska Executive Director, Latino Center of the Midlands Dean, University of Nebraska at Omaha VP, Werner Trucking Commissioner, Sarpy County, Nebraska Student, Mayor’s Youth Leadership Commission Mayor, City of Bellevue, Nebraska Attendance? 1 N N Y Y Y N N N Y Y Y N Y Y N Y N Y Y N N N Y N N N N N N N Y Y N N Y Alternate
  3. 3. Heartland 2050 Steering Committee Feburary 7, 2013 Name Title/Organization Clifford Scott Bob Smith Connie Spellman Jim Suttle Pete Tulipana Andrea Tullos Linda Washburn Michael Young CEO, Omaha Housing Authority Supervisor, Harrison County, Iowa Executive Director, Omaha by Design Mayor, City of Omaha, Nebraska Executive Director, Iowa West Foundation Colonel, Offutt Air Force Base - 55th Support Group Executive Director, Glenwood Area Chamber of Commerce Chair, Metro Transit Attendance? 2 Y N Y N Y Y Y Y Alternate Renea Anderson Steve Oltmans Bruce McCauley