Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Sustainability champion entrants


Published on

Published in: Business, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Sustainability champion entrants

  1. 1. 2011 SUSTAINABILITY CHAMPION AWARD Profiling key people or teams who have been ‘sustainability superstars’ Brought to you by: Sponsored by:
  2. 2. Alan Happy - Winstone Aggregates In his capacity as the Environmental Coordinator/Geologist, and most recently, Winstone Aggregates’ Resource and Environment Manager, Alan has played an integral role in the pursuit of sustainability over the past 35 years.
  3. 3. Cate Jessep - Environmental Education, Auckland Council Cate is a member of the Environmental Education Team with the responsibility for leading the Youth Sustainability programme called Make A Difference (M.A.D.). The programme has run since 2004 with over 40 secondary schools participating.
  4. 4. Cathie Simmonds at Fulton Hogan Ltd, Wellington Cathie is the Quality and Environmental Advisor, Wellington Region for Fulton Hogan Ltd. She has been instrumental in helping to embed sustainability into the organisation – a challenge given the wide diversity and geographical area the company covers.
  5. 5. Dr Ann Smith - CarboNZero CertTM Holdings Dr Ann Smith is General Manager – Technical of carboNZero CertTM Holdings and is responsible for managing and developing world leading standards for organisations, products and services to measure carbon footprints and reduce emissions with credibility and integrity.
  6. 6. Julie Roberts - OfficeMax Julie Roberts is the National Health, Safety and Environment Coach at OfficeMax. She has developed a comprehensive Environmental Management System and has championed behavioural change and staff engagement.
  7. 7. Michelle Elborn - Tauranga City Council Michelle is Sustainability Advisor for TCC. She’s helped lead and support Council in establishing a more strategic, consistent and coordinated approach to environmental sustainability.
  8. 8. Debbie Summers – NZ Post Group New Zealand Post (NZP) is a State Owned Enterprise and has been part of our communities for over 170 years. Debbie is the Worksite Sustainability Manager and has shown leadership across energy efficiency, waste minimisation, and behavioural change initiatives.
  9. 9. Nicola Morrison - Fletcher Building Rooftile Group Nicola is Environmental Coordinator and Technologist at FB RTG and was instrumental in organising the highly successful “Operation RED uction” – a 2-week focus on numerous aspects of sustainability through staff engagement.
  10. 10. Pat LaRoche - Piha Coastcare Trust The Trust operates in the Piha coastal environment, coastal village, and adjoining Waitakere Ranges, facilitating projects that restore, enhance and protect the natural environment. Its work has been driven and inspired by Pat’s enthusiasm, persistence and huge time commitment to working for the enhancement of the natural environment.
  11. 11. Peter McKeown - Smartpower Peter is Energy Management Specialist at SmartPower which adds value to its clients’ businesses through increasing energy efficiency, reducing energy use, and improving administration processes. The services provided range from hands-on energy management through to consultancy services, and energy audits.
  12. 12. Pippa Coom - Grey Lynn Farmers’ Market and Cycle Action Auckland Pippa chairs the Grey Lynn Farmers’ Market (GLFM) committee and is on the committee for Cycle Action Auckland (CAA). GLFM encourages community engagement via a community-owned and operated farmer’s market while CAA is a cycling advocacy group whose aim is to make Auckland a great place to cycle.
  13. 13. Sitka Team – Surf/Skateware Sitka is a surf/skate/fashion brand design. They design and manufacture two seasons of men’s and women’s clothes each year, and have a very focused approach to sustainability from every angle of their production and way of living.
  14. 14. Steve Ellingford - Bayfair Shopping Centre Since 2002, Steve has been Operations Manager with Bayfair Shopping Centre and has recently been appointed as Acting Centre Manager (seconded for the next 12 months). Right from the beginning and long before sustainability became a household term; Steve implemented changes to the shopping centre’s systems to save on energy and waste.
  15. 15. Tanya Robyn Batt - Once Upon An Island Story Centre Tanya is an arts educator, story teller and writer who travels the world telling stories with messages of sustainability. Her work brings dialogue about issues as diverse as greed, riding bikes, and eating good local food, and teaches us to share our stories and to talk!
  16. 16. Victoria Carter – City Hop Victoria champions carshare, encouraging people to use hire by the hour when they need a car rather than owning. Carshare is a club whereby members have access to cars via an RFID card after they have booked online. Victoria tweets and blogs on sustainable issues including how to drive less.
  17. 17. Please support these incredible organisations! For more details, visit The 2011 NZI National SBN Awards couldn’t happen without our incredible sponsors!
  18. 18. <ul><li>Sarah Holden – Sustainability Manager, IAG </li></ul><ul><li>Jeanette Fitzsimons – Former Green Party Co-Leader and Environmental Campaigner </li></ul><ul><li>Tom Newitt – Corporate Responsibility Manager, Fonterra </li></ul>Thanks to the category judges – we couldn’t do it without you!