All Hands Organizing Committee Call 2

241 views

Published on

Published in: Technology, Education
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
241
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

All Hands Organizing Committee Call 2

  1. 1. EARTHCUBE ALL-HANDS ORGANIZING COMMITTEE May 8, 2014
  2. 2. AGENDA 1. SOME LOGISTICS 2. REMINDER ON GOALS 3. SPACE AVAILABLE 4. CURRENT PROPOSALS – HOW TO REVIEW?
  3. 3. CALL SCHEDULED Calls @ 11am PDT/noon MDT/1pm CDT/2pm EDT  05/08  05/22  06/05  06/12 tentative  06/19
  4. 4. MEETING REGISTRATION & TRAVEL  Hotel: Marriott Renaissance Dupont Circle, June 23-27 (4 nights)  Flight: Your American based carrier of choice, economy fare  Registration: Covered
  5. 5. OUTCOME FOCUSED EVENT  Meeting Goals:  Convergence on the Demonstration Governance Charter, Next Steps on Implementation  State of CI in the Geosciences by sharing results of existing projects  Provide a forum for communication in the Geosciences
  6. 6. CHARTER REVIEW IN PROGRESS! http://workspace.earthcube.org/test- governance/charter-review  May 5  User Guide  Draft Charter  Draft Structure  May 8 – May 23  Membership Strategic Pathways Exercise  http://spe.earthcube.org  May 9 – June 8  Full Document Review & Feedback  June 24-26  All-Hands Meeting
  7. 7. SPACE AVAILABLE  Plenary Room (~220) – Tuesday & Wednesday  Thursday Largest Room (~90)  5 Breakout Rooms – Tuesday through Thursday  Common Area – Tuesday through Thursday, Rounds of 10  Networking Reception Tuesday Night
  8. 8. BASIC SCHEDULE
  9. 9. CURRENT PROPOSALS Commons/Governance Sessions  Membership Models & More: Building for Engagement, Leadership, and Real Work  Scenario Exercises  Full Governance Scenarios  Communication between Standing Committees  Relationship between Steering Committee and Office  Development Exercises  Instantiation (& Recruitment) of Committee Structures  Social Sciences in the Physical Sciences  Council of Data Facilities  Standards & Conventions  End-User Workshops inform the Science Committee Technology Sessions  Reference Architecture Workshop  Domain Registries of Information Resources: a How- To for Your Community  Metadata, Ontologies, and Conceptual Models for EarthCube - Workshop  Addressing Data Heterogeneity in EarthCube Information: A Semantic Building Blocks & CI Perspective - Panel  Use of CI Platforms to Enhance the Academic Experience  Standards & Conventions Plenary  Engaging the Community  NSF Geosciences Outlook Business Meetings  Test Enterprise Governance Advisory Committee  Funded Projects Meeting

×