Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Handout: Nerdy book club for teachers session

5,546 views

Published on

Handout for Nerdy Book Club for Teachers session at Chippewa River Writing Project Conference

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Handout: Nerdy book club for teachers session

  1. 1. Nerdy Book Club for Teachers Session Chippewa River Writing Project Conference Donalyn Miller Effective reading communities encourage readers’ reactions, spark discussions, and provide real purposes and audiences for writing (Baker & Moss, 1993). READING LIVES “Solace and Joy” by Kathy Burnette: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/solace-and-joy/ “Guilt Trip: Accepting My Reading Slump” by Donalyn Miller https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/guilt-trip-accepting-my- reading-slump-by-donalyn-miller/ AUTHOR POSTS “Strange Birds” by Kelly Barnhill: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/strange-birds-by-kelly- barnhill/ “Beach Combing for Books” by Kirby Larson: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/searching-for-treasure-by- kirby-larson/ “Books Build” by Alexander London: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/books-build/ NEW BOOK REVIEWS and RETRO REVIEWS “This Book Makes My Heart Sing!” By Teri Lesesne: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/12/03/this-book-makes-my-heart- sing-by-teri-lesesne/ “The Iridescence of Birds” by Michelle Webb Fandrich: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/the-brilliance-of-words-and- non-fiction-picture-books-by-michelle-webb-fandrich/ PAY IT FORWARD “Underpants are Optional, Diversity Isn’t” by Arika Dickens: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/12/12/underpants-are- optional-diversity-isnt-by-arika-dickens/
  2. 2. “The Power of a Teacher” by Tammy Mulligan: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/12/18/the-power-of-a-teacher-by- tammy-mulligan/ TOP TEN “Top Ten Fat Books” by Karin Perry: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/top-ten-fat-books-by-karin- perry/ “Raising Sharp Readers” by Alaina and Colby Sharp: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/raising-sharp-readers-by- colby-and-alaina-sharp/ “Top Ten Reasons to Marry a Nerdy Book Club Member” by Brian and Lisa Wyzlic: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/10/11/top-ten-reasons-to-marry-a- nerdy-book-club-member-by-lisa-frazer-and-brian-wyzlic/ “Titles That Have Legs” by Donalyn Miller and Katherine Sokolowski: https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2014/01/19/titles-that-have-legs-by- katherine-sokolowski-and-donalyn-miller/ SURPRISE SUNDAY Sunday posts are random and include the other types of Nerdy posts, cover reveals, interviews, and polls.

×