Liturgical calendar


Published on

It includes the seasons and definition of Liturgical Calendar and the meaning of the different colors. It also includes about the Advent wreath.

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Liturgical calendar

  1. 1. O Just as a typical calendar has twelve months, fifty-two weeks, and 365 days that include holidays and days that are just "average," the Liturgical Year Calendar of the Church uses similar terms and measurements.O The Liturgical Year is also marked by special seasons—Advent, Christmas, Lent, The Triduum or Three Days, Easter, and Ordinary Time. The Liturgical Year begins on the first Sunday of Advent, which usually occurs around the beginning of December or the end of November, and ends on the feast of Christ the King.O However, the purpose of the Liturgical Year Calendar is not to mark the passage of time,
  2. 2. O Liturgies celebrated during the different seasons of the liturgical year have distinctive music and specific readings, prayers, and rituals. All of these work together to reflect the spirit of the particular season. The colors of the vestments that the priest wears during the liturgy also help
  3. 3. White, the color of joy and victory, is used forthe seasons of Easter and Christmas. It is alsoused for the feasts of Our Lord, for feasts ofMary, the angels, and for saints who are notmartyrs. Gold may also be used on solemnoccasions.
  4. 4. Red (the color of blood) is used on days when wecelebrate the passion of Jesus on Passion Sundayand Good Friday. It is also used for the birthdayfeasts of the apostles and evangelists and for thecelebrations of martyrs. Red (the color of fire)recalls the Holy Spirit and is used on Pentecostand for the sacrament of Confirmation.
  5. 5. Green, seen everywhere in plants and trees,symbolizes life and hope and is used duringOrdinary Time.
  6. 6. The colors violet or purple in Advent help us toremember that we are preparing for the comingof Christ. Lent, the season of penance andrenewal, also uses the colors violet or purple.
  7. 7. Rose may be used on the Third Sunday of Advent,Gaudete Sunday, and on the Fourth Sunday of Lent,Laetare Sunday. It expresses the joy ofanticipation for Christmas and Easter,respectively
  8. 8. O The liturgical cycle divides the year into a series of seasons, each with their own mood, theological emphases, and modes of prayerO This determines the ff: o different ways of decorating churches o colors of Paraments and Vestments for clergy o scriptural readings o themes for preaching and even different traditions and practices often observed personally or in the home o In churches that follow the liturgical year, the scripture passages for each Sunday (and even each day of the year in some traditions) are specified by a list called a lectionary.O AdventO ChristmasO Ordinary Time or Time after EpiphanyO LentO Easter TriduumO Easter SeasonO Ordinary Time, Time after Pentecost, Time after Trinity, or Kingdomtide
  9. 9. 1.) Advent-the time of joyful preparation for thetwofold coming of the Lord; the first in Bethlehemand the second at the end of the times. Season ofpreparation and waiting. Color:Violet2.) Christmas- the time of celebration of the birth ofJesus. It ends on the feast of the Baptism of Jesus. Color: White3.)a.) Ordinary Time(short)- the Church celebrates themany feasts of the Saints.b.)Ordinary time(long)- the time of the liturgical yearthat lies outside the seasons of Lent-Easter and
  10. 10. 4.) Lenten Season- the time of conversion and preparation for theEaster by means of 40 days of prayer, fasting and almsgiving. Itbegins on the Ash Wednesday.Lent means spring Color: Violet5.) Easter Triduum- the time of celebration of the Passion, Deathand Resurrection of our Lord. The holiest 3 days of the ChurchYear during Holy week. It begins with the Mass of the Lord’sSupper on Holy Thursday and ends with the Evening Prayer onEaster Sunday.a.) Holy Thursday- last meal of Jesus with the Apostles. - washing of the feet of the Apostles by Jesusb.) Good Friday-the suffering and death of Jesus. -the Church initiates new members through theSacrament of Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist
  11. 11. 6.) Easter Season- the time of celebration of theResurrection and Ascension of the Lord. as wellas the coming of the Holy Spirit and the beginningof the Church. The season lasts for 50 days, fromEaster Sunday until Pentecost. Color:White
  12. 12. Feasts and Events in The Liturgical Calendar
  13. 13. Advent Season Gaudete Sunday Celebrated during the 3rd Sunday of Advent
  14. 14. Christmas Season Christmas Day the day we celebrate the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ.Mary, Mother of God On the 8th day, Mary’s child wascircumcised and was named Jesus.Epiphany The 3 Wise Men came to the manger and presented theinfant Jesus with gold, frankincense and myrrh. Baptism of Christ Christ was baptized in the River Jordan by his cousin, John the Baptist
  15. 15. Lenten Season Ash Wednesday “From dust we are created and to dust we shall be”
  16. 16. Holy WeekPalm Sunday The grand entrance of Jesus Christ into JerusalemMaundy Thursday The celebration of the Last Supper of Christwith his apostles.
  17. 17. O The Advent wreath is a circular garland of evergreen branches representing eternity. On that wreath, five candles are typically arranged. Each candle represents an aspect of the spiritual preparation for the coming of the Lord, Jesus Christ.O Advent wreaths are used by millions of Christians worldwide to mark the passing of the season of Advent and to symbolize the many ideas and hopes present in the celebration of the birth of Christ.O The meaning of the Advent wreath involves the light and hope that will come with Christmas. The meaning behind the lighting of a new candle on the Advent wreath each week symbolizes the anticipation of Christians awaiting Christs birth and the salvation He will bring to believers.
  18. 18. O Wreath – It is always in O Evergreens -These the form of branches, as the name a circle. Since a circle indicates, are "ever has no beginning and no green" -- ever alive. They end, it is a symbol for are symbolic of Christ, God, Who is eternal and Who died, but Who is alive, without beginning or end. never to die again. -It also symbolize our souls immortality. Christ came into the world to give us never-ending life.
  19. 19. O Red holly berries - It O Violet Candle- represents symbolizes the blood shed repentance. by Christ for mankind. They O Pink Candle- symbolizes remind us that Christ came into this world to die for us joy. and redeem us. It is through O Central Candle( Christ the shedding of His blood Candle)- represents that we have eternal life. Christ himself who is born to save people from their sins.O Blue Bowl- It reminds us of the Virgin Mary. It should be put at the base of each candle or in the wreath itself.
  20. 20. • First Sunday of Advent -the first purple candle is lit. It is typically called the "Prophecy Candle" and it represents hope or expectation in anticipation of the coming Messiah.• Second Sunday of Advent -the second purple candle is lit. It is typically called the "Bethlehem Candle" and it represents love.• Third Sunday of Advent -the pink candle is lit. It is customarily called the "Shepherds Candle" and it represents joy.• Fourth Sunday of Advent -the last purple candle is lit. It oftentimes called the "Angels Candle" and it represents peace.