Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.
writing the literature review…..
© Dr. David Sammon, Business Information Systems, University College Cork
email: dsammon@...
N. W. Agnew and S. W. Pyke, The Science Game: An Introduction to Research in Behavioural Sciences. New Jersey: Prentice Ha...
necessa
ry
challengi
ng

ing
rit the
w

Straightforw
ard
scar
importa
y
nt

li
te
ra
t
review ure

borin
impossib
g
frustr...
what is the best literature
review you have read?
what is its defining
characteristic?
what is known?
e
an

ffe

li
ve
cti

ie
rev
ure
rat
te

d:
oul
h
ws
i keep six honest serving-men
they taught me all I knew
their names are What and Why and
When
and How and Where and Who

a...
Do you see these?
you
les
rtic
e a
like
o th er look
D
ev
ead
r
is?
th
theoretical
&
ic
ty g
tr
ivi kin
strength
ex a ca
en
c s
fl -m
e e
tego
r
pt ice
risin
ns
ce tr
arti
se
g con a
cles
m
what does a good literature review
look like?
Google Scholar: 247
citations
Google Scholar: 250
citations
Google
Scholar:
949
citations
gf
do
wn
yo

d!
oo

gm
tin
ea
a quick exercise
drin
king
my o
wn c
ham
pagn
e!
A Concept-Centric Matrix

write a paragraph based on
your observations around
this matrix
Existing research suggests that the sky
can have many different colours ranging
from black (Sammon, 2013) to
oftentimes gr...
First Draft Paragraph
In the last number of years there has been an increase in the volume of empirical case
study researc...
Final Version Paragraph
questions……
© Dr. David Sammon, Business Information Systems, University College Cork
email: dsammon@afis.ucc.ie
tel: 021 ...
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013

788 views

Published on

Published in: Education, Technology, Business
  • Be the first to comment

Writing the Literature Review 13th December 2013

  1. 1. writing the literature review….. © Dr. David Sammon, Business Information Systems, University College Cork email: dsammon@afis.ucc.ie tel: 021 4903836 ie.linkedin.com/in/davesammon
  2. 2. N. W. Agnew and S. W. Pyke, The Science Game: An Introduction to Research in Behavioural Sciences. New Jersey: Prentice Hall, 1969.
  3. 3. necessa ry challengi ng ing rit the w Straightforw ard scar importa y nt li te ra t review ure borin impossib g frustrati le confusi ng enjoyab ng time le inspiri consuming
  4. 4. what is the best literature review you have read? what is its defining characteristic?
  5. 5. what is known?
  6. 6. e an ffe li ve cti ie rev ure rat te d: oul h ws
  7. 7. i keep six honest serving-men they taught me all I knew their names are What and Why and When and How and Where and Who a new way of seeing things raw ’t d can n’t you u do If yo it! t… i and rst nde u
  8. 8. Do you see these?
  9. 9. you les rtic e a like o th er look D ev ead r is? th
  10. 10. theoretical & ic ty g tr ivi kin strength ex a ca en c s fl -m e e tego r pt ice risin ns ce tr arti se g con a cles m
  11. 11. what does a good literature review look like?
  12. 12. Google Scholar: 247 citations
  13. 13. Google Scholar: 250 citations
  14. 14. Google Scholar: 949 citations
  15. 15. gf do wn yo d! oo gm tin ea a quick exercise drin king my o wn c ham pagn e!
  16. 16. A Concept-Centric Matrix write a paragraph based on your observations around this matrix
  17. 17. Existing research suggests that the sky can have many different colours ranging from black (Sammon, 2013) to oftentimes grey (Nagle, 2002) to always being blue (Adam, 2009). Google Scholar: 1332 citations Sammon (2013) stated that the sky is black . Nagle (2002) has observed that the sky is often grey. However, Adam (2009) argued that the sky is always blue.
  18. 18. First Draft Paragraph In the last number of years there has been an increase in the volume of empirical case study research focusing on Agile methods and their adoption/adaption in organisational environments. These studies have examined Agile teams in large organisations (c.f. Conboy, 2009; Matook and Kautz, 2008; Fitzgerald et al., 2006; Wang and Vidgen, 2007; Sharp and Robinson, 2006) and in small firms (c.f. Mathiassen and Vainio, 2007; Vidgen and Wang, 2006), and comparative studies across organisational size, project type, project size and software development methodology (c.f. Cao et al. 2009; Vidgen and Wang, 2009). Furthermore, these studies have utilised a variety of theoretical perspectives, for example, complex adaptive systems (c.f. Vidgen and Wang, 2009), adaptive structuration (c.f. Cao et al. 2009), dynamic capabilities (c.f. Mathiassen and Vainio, 2007), distributed cognition (c.f. Sharp and Robinson, 2006), agility (c.f. Conboy, 2009) and mindfulness (c.f. Matook and Kautz, 2008). Across the majority of these empirical research studies one of the main contributions has been the development of a framework to facilitate a better understanding of Agile development practices and the management of Agile teams. As a collective, these empirical research studies have strengthened the theoretical core of Agile methods, while further presenting recommendations for further research in the area. c.f. is used in this context to mean ‘see’
  19. 19. Final Version Paragraph
  20. 20. questions…… © Dr. David Sammon, Business Information Systems, University College Cork email: dsammon@afis.ucc.ie tel: 021 4903836 ie.linkedin.com/in/davesammon

×