Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Fixing Quality Score Unbounce Conversion Road Trip

1,106 views

Published on

Fix your quality score, save your wallet. Quality score is a great diagnostic tool to identify issues and opportunities within your PPC account. At the conversion road show I'm going to walk you through the main characters involved in quality score and what you can do to fix issues you might be experiencing with Ad Relevance, Expected CTR and Landing Page Relevance. Get the Quality Score Assessment workbook here: http://bit.ly/PI-QS

Published in: Marketing
  • Paid To Write? Earn up to $200/day on with simple writing jobs. ♥♥♥ https://tinyurl.com/vvgf8vz
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • What Men Secretly Want? He Will Be Addicted To You Forever, Click Here ◆◆◆ https://bit.ly/315kzPF
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • New Resesrch Shows 74% Of Men Are More Attracted To Women Who Do This One Thing, Click Here ▲▲▲ http://ishbv.com/hissecret/pdf
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here

Fixing Quality Score Unbounce Conversion Road Trip

  1. 1. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson CHRISTI OLSON DIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT SAVE QUALITY SCORE SAVE THE WORLD
  2. 2. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson CHRISTI OLSON DIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT FIX YOUR QUALITY SCORE SAVE YOUR WALLET
  3. 3. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip@ChristiJOlson CONCEALING MY IDENTITY…. CRAZY RUNNER Seattle Based Digital Marketing Agency DIRECTOR OF SEM FAMILY! I‘ve also worked for: DISGUISED AS “MERIDA” FOR A HALF MARATHON
  4. 4. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
  5. 5. @ChristiJOlson I’M MAKING AN ASSUMPTION: #ConvRoadTrip
  6. 6. @ChristiJOlson I’M MAKING AN ASSUMPTION: YOU UNDERSTAND THE BASICS: • TERMINOLOGY • ACCOUNT STRUCTURE • BENEFITS OF PPC ADVERTISING HEARD OF QUALITY SCORE #ConvRoadTrip
  7. 7. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
  8. 8. EVERY GOOD STORY STARTS WITH A BACKSTORY @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
  9. 9. QUALITY SCORE ISN’T A MAGICAL FAIRY TALE @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
  10. 10. IT’S NOT THE CURE ALL TO MANAGING PPC ACCOUNTS @ChristiJOlson “…understanding this information [QUALITY SCORE] is the key to really unlocking AdWords” #ConvRoadTrip
  11. 11. @ChristiJOlson QUALITY SCORE (QS) ISN’T A KPI IT’S A DIAGNOSTIC TOOL #ConvRoadTrip
  12. 12. @ChristiJOlson GOOGLE TALK ABOUT “VISIBLE QS” ACCOUNT CAMPAIGN KEYWORD IMPRESSION WEIGHTED ACCOUNT AVERAGE IMPRESSION WEIGHTED CAMPAIGN AVERAGE VISIBLE IN THE ADWORDS UI #ConvRoadTrip SO WHAT OTHER QS IS THERE?
  13. 13. @ChristiJOlson HISTORICAL ACCOUNT PERFORMANCE MATTERS ACCOUNT CAMPAIGN KEYWORD #ConvRoadTrip NEW CAMPAIGNS IN EXISTING ACCOUNTS
  14. 14. @ChristiJOlson HISTORICAL CAMPAIGN PERFORMANCE MATTERS ACCOUNT CAMPAIGN KEYWORD NEW AD GROUPS & KEYWORDS IN EXISTING CAMPAIGNS #ConvRoadTrip
  15. 15. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip DON’T OBSESS ABOUT QUALITY SCORE, BUT USE IT AS A DIRECTIONAL GUIDE FOR ACCOUNT OPTIMIZATION
  16. 16. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson QUALITY SCORE PUTS THE USER FIRST USER FINDS WHAT THEY ARE LOOKING FOR REWARDS ADVERTISERS FOR RELEVANT ADS
  17. 17. @ChristiJOlson WHAT I WON’T COVER IN DEPTH TODAY MOBILE QS DISPLAY QS #ConvRoadTrip
  18. 18. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE THE CHARACTERS: WHAT MAKES UP QS SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
  19. 19. @ChristiJOlson LET’S DIG IN…. #ConvRoadTrip
  20. 20. @ChristiJOlson LET’S MEET THE CHARACTERS IN THIS STORY… Keyword #ConvRoadTrip
  21. 21. @ChristiJOlson VISIBLE QUALITY SCORE ELEMENTS: Keyword relevance #ConvRoadTrip
  22. 22. @ChristiJOlson TRIFECTA OF RELEVANCE #ConvRoadTrip KEYWORDS AD COPY LANDING PAGE
  23. 23. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip BREAKDOWN OF IMPORTANCE OF QS ELEMENTS @Bloomarty bit.ly/QSelements
  24. 24. REALLY, YOU DON’T SAY? TELL ME MORE @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
  25. 25. @ChristiJOlson QS IS A MULTIPLER IN AD RANK AD RANK HELPS DETERMINE POSITION HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION #ConvRoadTrip
  26. 26. @ChristiJOlson HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK $0.50 * 10 = 5 $1.00 * 4 = 4 $4.00 * 1 = 4 POS 1 2 3 AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS #ConvRoadTrip
  27. 27. @ChristiJOlson HOW ADWORDS CALCULATES CPC ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK $0.50 * 10 = 5 $1.00 * 4 = 4 $4.00 * 1 = 4 POS CPC 1 (4/10) + $0.01 = $0.41 2 (4/4) + 0.01 = $1.01 3 CPC = (AD RANK TO BEAT/QS) +0.01 #ConvRoadTrip
  28. 28. @ChristiJOlson AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS * FORMAT AD EXTENSIONS #ConvRoadTrip
  29. 29. @ChristiJOlson HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK ($2.00 * 9 ) * = 18 ($4.00 * 4 ) * = 16 ($4.00 * 4 ) * = 16 POS 1 2 3 AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS none high medium FORMAT IMPACT #ConvRoadTrip
  30. 30. @ChristiJOlson If the Bid & QS is equal the ads with better expected CTR from extensions can appear in higher position. #ConvRoadTrip
  31. 31. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE THE CHARACTERS: WHAT MAKES UP QS CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
  32. 32. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson TRIFECTA OF RELEVANCE KEYWORDS AD COPY LANDING PAGE
  33. 33. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson KEYWORDS QUERY TO KEYWORD MATCH TYPE
  34. 34. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson KEYWORDS QUERY TO KEYWORD KEYWORD TO AD COPY
  35. 35. @ChristiJOlson SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE EVALUATE YOUR STRUCTURE: • # KEYWORDS/AD GROUP • TIGHTLY KNIT AD GROUPS • NEGATIVE KEYWORDS TO RING- FENCE AD GROUPS #ConvRoadTrip Campaign Ad Group Keywords Ads
  36. 36. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson MATCH TYPES & NEGATIVE KEYWORD MATCHING bit.ly/SEL-sqrScript
  37. 37. @ChristiJOlson SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE GOOGLE CALCULATES QS FOR EXACT MATCH BUT YOU WILL SEE QS DIFFERENCES BY MATCH TYPE #ConvRoadTrip IW QS Broad 4.7 Phrase 5.1 Exact 6.8  Impression Weighted Quality Score
  38. 38. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip TYING KEYWORDS TO AD COPY
  39. 39. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip WE’VE ALL SEEN IT BEFORE…
  40. 40. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY USER INTENT CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS
  41. 41. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY USER INTENT CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS STRUCTURE OF AD GROUPS QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE SOLID COPY WRITING
  42. 42. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY USER INTENT CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS QUERY TYPE STAGE IN PURCHASE FUNNEL COPY WRITTEN TO CONVEY INTENT?
  43. 43. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY USER INTENT CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS WHY WOULD I WANT TO CLICK? DOES YOUR AD STAND OUT?
  44. 44. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
  45. 45. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY USER INTENT CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS WHY WOULD I WANT TO CLICK? DOES YOUR AD STAND OUT?
  46. 46. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY USER INTENT CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS DIFFERENTIATION CALL TO ACTION!
  47. 47. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR KEYWORD IN COPY COMPELLING COPY CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS USER INTENT AD EXTENSIONS
  48. 48. #ConvRoadTrip@ChristiJOlson TOGETHER KWDS + COPY TELL YOUR STORY
  49. 49. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip DON’T STRANGLE YOUR CHANCES BEFORE THE CLICK
  50. 50. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip ADD AD EXTENSIONS bit.ly/PI-adextensions Seller Rating Review Callout Social Annotation Sitelinks Location Bing RAIS Google “Mega” Ad Mobile Click-to-Call
  51. 51. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip IT’S NOT A MAGIC TRICK, IT’S SOLID PPC
  52. 52. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip LANDING PAGE • TO AD & KEYWORDS • UNIQUE CONTENT • BASED ON USER INTENT RELEVANT • TRUSTWORTHINESS • EASY TO FIND CONTACT INFORMATION • ADS/SPONSORED CONTENT CALLED OUT TRANSPARENCY • USABLE ACROSS DEVICES • EASY TO FIND PRODUCT / SERVICE INFO • NO POP-UPS • PAGE LOAD TIME (SLOW vs FAST) EASE OF NAVIGATION
  53. 53. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
  54. 54. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip DON’T DIG AROUND AIMLESSLY TRYING TO IMPROVE QS http://bit.ly/PI-QS
  55. 55. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip GOOGLE DOESN’T SAVE HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE IN YOUR ACCOUNT.
  56. 56. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip bit.ly/MR-qstrackerScript @bloomarty USE SCRIPTS TO TRACK HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE
  57. 57. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip bit.ly/SEL-sqrScript @marceladevivo @siliconvallaeys USE SCRIPTS TO MANAGE SEARCH QUERIES
  58. 58. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip LANDING PAGE QS DATA ISN’T EASY TO FIND
  59. 59. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip CLICK ON SPEECH BUTTON IN STATUS COLUMN TO SEE QS FACTORS PER KEYWORD
  60. 60. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip HOW DO YOU TROUBLESHOOT LANDING PAGES ISSUES?
  61. 61. @ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip BING ADS PROVIDES… TRANSPARENCY TO QS PERFORMANCE REPORTING TO GET ACTIONABLE INSIGHTS
  62. 62. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip DETERMINE IF YOU HAVE AND ISSUE AND WHAT IT IS QS AD RELEVANCE LANDING PAGE EXPECTED CTR
  63. 63. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip QUALITY SCORE ASSESSMENT WORKBOOK
  64. 64. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip PULL KEYWORD PERFORMANCE DATA FOR 30-60 DAYS PASTE IT INTO THE WORKBOOK COPY FORMULAS TO POWER THE WORKBOOK REFRESH DATA TABLES VOILA – LOOK AT YOUR ACCOUNT DATA TO IDENTIFY OPPORTUNITIES
  65. 65. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip IS THERE OPPORTUNITY TO IMPROVE QS? Account Average QS 4.8 Account Weighted QS 5.4 IS YOUR WEIGHTED QS>6? DO 75-80% OF KWDS HAVE QS > 5?
  66. 66. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip WHERE ARE YOU SPENDING THE MOST $$?
  67. 67. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip ESTIMATING THE POTENTIAL SAVINGS VS EFFORT
  68. 68. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip ESTIMATING THE POTENTIAL SAVINGS VS EFFORT
  69. 69. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson QUALITY SCORE AFFECTS YOUR CPC 10 decreased by 50% 9 decreased by 44% 8 decreased by 38% 7 decreased by 29% 6 decreased by 17% 5 Googles Baseline 4 increased by 25% 3 increased by 68% 2 increased by 150% 1 increased by 400% #ConvRoadTrip
  70. 70. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson QUALITY SCORE AFFECTS YOUR CPC #ConvRoadTrip If your Quality Score is: Word Stream: bit.ly/WS-qscost Your CPC vs QS 5 QS + 1 Savings QS -1 Costs 10 -50% 0% 11% 9 -44% 10% 13% 8 -38% 11% 14% 7 -29% 13% 17% 6 -17% 14% 20% 5 0% 17% 25% 4 25% 20% 33% 3 67% 25% 50% 2 150% 33% 100% 1 400% 50% 0%
  71. 71. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip IS YOUR CTR AN ISSUE? CTR by Position: bit.ly/1Qjv8BU IS IT DUE TO: SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE KEYWORD TO AD RELEVANCE
  72. 72. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip HOW WELL IS YOUR ACCOUNT PERFORMING COMPARED TO EXPECTED RESULTS? GOOD QUALITY SCORES MEAN LOWER CPC'S AND HIGHER CTR'S. LONG TAIL TERMS SHOULD HAVE HIGHER CONVERSION RATES AND BE LESS EXPENSIVE (CHEAPER CPCS.)
  73. 73. #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip USE THE “CAMPAIGN” TAB TO DIG IN DEEPER
  74. 74. @ChristiJOlson YOUR NEXT STEPS USE THE QS ASSESMENT WORKBOOK (XLS) TO IDENTIFY TROUBLE AREAS • 30-60 DAYS OF PERFORMANCE DATA • START WITH LOW QUALITY / HIGH VOLUME CAMPAIGNS • IDENTIFY IF THE ISSUE IS RELATED USE THE SEARCH QUERY REPORT [MIN QUARTERLY] FOR KWD RELVANCE • ADD NEGATIVES TO KEEP QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCY HIGH • ADD AND SEGEMENT AD GROUPS BASED ON NEW QUERIES #ConvRoadTrip
  75. 75. @ChristiJOlson YOUR NEXT STEPS DEVELOP YOUR ACTION PLAN • ISSUE: KEYWORDS • EVALUATE MATCH TYPE BREAKDOWN • DEVELOP TIGHTER THEMED AD GROUPS • PAUSE / REMOVE LOW QS KEYWORDS THAT DON’T CONVERT • ISSUES: AD COPY • CUSTOMIZE AD COPY USING RELEVANT KEYWORDS FOR EACH AD GROUP • TEST AD CUSTOMIZERS TO IMPROVE RELEVANCE • TEST [OPTIMIZE CONTENT OF] AD EXTENSIONS • ISSUES: LANDING PAGE • TEST DIFFERENT LANDING PAGES TO IMPROVE CVR & QS • LEVERAGE LP TESTING SOFTWARE TO DYNAMICALLY INSERT RELEVANT CONTENT #ConvRoadTrip
  76. 76. @ChristiJOlson THANK YOU! bit.ly/PI-QS #ConvRoadTrip

×