SMB Guide to Google AdWords and Facebook Advertising


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  • There is Google AdWords and Google AdWords Express. Express is perfect for small, local businesses that do not have the time to put into managing a full blown AdWords account, or have budget to pay for management. AdWords is for businesses that want more features, more reports, more tools and more control over their ad campaign. With AdWords you can advertise not only locally but also regionally or nationwide. If you want to select your own keywords or write multiple ads (for example, if you want to promote multiple products or services) you should sign up for Google AdWords.
  • SMB Guide to Google AdWords and Facebook Advertising

    1. 1. Learn How to Manage a Google AdWords Campaign + Facebook Ads (and more) 11/21/2013
    2. 2. WELCOME GUESTS! Scan to Sign Up for Email List
    3. 3. Welcome Learn more at • • • Schedule of Workshops/Seminars/Monthly Meetings Past Presentations in Slide Library More content being developed @ChescoMarketing #ChescoMG
    4. 4. A Small Business Intro to Google AdWords 4
    5. 5. Overview of Paid Search/PPC • • • • • Known as Paid Search/PPC/Pay-per-click Not FREE. Google AdWords, Bing Ads Key Definitions of paid ads: – Clicks = # of times ad appears AND is clicked – Impressions = # of times your ad appears – Avg CPC = average cost per click – CTR = # of clicks / impressions. (ex: you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, 5/1000= 0.05%) Ads appear as top 3 results in Google SERP and along the right side of results. 5 5
    6. 6. What is Google AdWords? • • • • • Used by businesses to generate leads, sales and traffic to site Advertise across a region or nationwide Ability to set keywords and multiple ads Manage multiple campaigns Set a daily budget for advertising 6 6
    7. 7. Structure of AdWords Account Best practice: Structure your campaign by multiple AdGroups that focus on topics, products, etc. 7 7
    8. 8. Keyword Matching Types • Keywords Matching Options – Broad & +Modified +Broad – “Phrase Match” • Matches phrase exactly of with words in front or behind • Search “women’s hats” “marketing group” – [Exact Match] • Search needs to be exact – Return close variants of words, plurals, misspellings • Negative Keywords – Filter out word you do not want included Since this example is selling “women’s hats” some good negative words would be “men” “man” “children” “boy” “shoe” “shoes” etc etc etc. 8 8
    9. 9. Inside AdWords AdGroups Keywords 9 9
    10. 10. Facts and Myths My Business Is Too Small. Even though your business is small, you still have customers who are searching online. AdWords lets you select by geography – down to only a few miles of your business – so you can reach a very targeted population. My Marketing Budget Won’t Allow For It. With AdWords, you set the budget you want and pay only when someone clicks on your ad. 10 10
    11. 11. Ways to Geo Target 11
    12. 12. Geo Targeting By Search Enter in your location(s) and Add or Exclude By Radius the ads will target a radius of 20 miles around Boston. TIP!! 12 12
    14. 14. Thank you for attending! Learn more at • • • Schedule of Workshops/Seminars/Monthly Meetings Past Presentations in Slide Library More content being developed @ChescoMarketing #ChescoMG 14