Making Advocacy Pay: Understanding the Link Between Activism & Giving

1,531 views

Published on

Are you looking for a way to engage your donors without always asking for a donation?

Do you need strategies and tactics for doing online acquisition?

This session talks about the relationship between advocacy and fundraising, how organizations are using advocacy successfully for list growth and engagement, and shows you valuable case studies from successful organizations. We also discuss best practices in assessing ROI (return on investment) for online acquisition, so you can see how to make advocacy pay.

"Making Advocacy Pay: Understanding the Link Between Activism and Giving"

This thought-provoking session features these industry leaders:
-Vinay Bhagat, Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Convio
-Yvonne Garrett, Partner, OMP
-Randy Paynter, Founder & CEO, Care2


About the Presenters:

Vinay Bhagat, Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Convio: Vinay Bhagat is Founder and Chief Strategy Officer of Convio. Vinay founded Convio in April 1999 after volunteering at a public television pledge drive and seeing the opportunity to leverage Internet technology to drive better fundraising results. Today, as chief strategy officer, he oversees corporate strategy and is actively involved in research and client success strategies. A frequent speaker at conferences, Vinay has addressed events hosted by the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Direct Marketing Association Nonprofit Federation, Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, Independent Sector, Integrated Media Association, Politics Online, Public Broadcasting System and National Voluntary Healthcare Association. Vinay also is a widely published author, including a chapter in "People to People Fundraising: Social Networking and Web 2.0 for Charities" and articles that appear regularly in DM News, Journal of the Direct Marketing Association Nonprofit Federation and on OnPhilanthropy.com. Vinay holds degrees from Harvard Business School (MBA) where he graduated as a Baker Scholar, Stanford University (MS) and Cambridge University (MA) in England. He has volunteered for several Austin and international nonprofits.

Yvonne Garrett, Partner, OMP: Yvonne Garrett
 is a Partner at OMP, Inc., a full-service fundraising and communications agency that serves leading causes in the U.S. 

Yvonne has been deeply involved in political and advocacy fundraising for almost 20 years. Working with candidates and groups such as the Natural Resources Defense Council and Oxfam America, she has helped helped her clients achieve dramatic fundraising success and list growth. Today, Yvonne specializes in helping organizations develop cross-channel programs that blend advocacy and fundraising. Prior to joining OMP in 2004, Yvonne was Vice President of the Share Group.

Randy Paynter is the Founder and CEO of social action network Care2.com. With over 15 million members, Care2 is the largest online community of people making a difference for human rights, animals, the environment and o

Published in: Education, Technology, Business
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,531
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
51
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
18
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Making Advocacy Pay: Understanding the Link Between Activism & Giving

  1. 1. Making Advocacy Pay Understanding the Link Between Activism and Giving Presented by: Vinay Bhagat, Convio Yvonne Garrett, OMP Randy Paynter, Care2.com Ryann Miller, Care2.com March 24, 2011For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300Meeting Number: 668 671 770
  2. 2. Using •  Chat & Raise hand •  If you are having internet audio problems, you can dial-in using a landline: 1-408-792-6300, Meeting Number: 668 671 770 •  If you lose your internet connection, reconnect using the link emailed to you •  WebEx Support: 1-866-229-3239For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300Meeting Number: 668 671 770
  3. 3. •  This webinar is being recorded. •  The webinar recording will be available on Frogloop blog at http://www.frogloop.com •  You will receive a link to this presentation following the webinar. •  Tweeting the webinar? Use Twitter hashtag: #Care2For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300Meeting Number: 668 671 770
  4. 4. Agenda•  What is online advocacy?•  What does advocacy have to do with fundraising?•  How does it work?•  Making the economic case.
  5. 5.     What is online advocacy?
  6. 6. Advocacy – The active support of an idea or cause etc.; especially the act of pleading or arguing for something  Definion  from:  wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn  
  7. 7. What does advocacy have to do with fundraising?
  8. 8. Advocacy starts the conversation.
  9. 9. NRDC Activist Conversion
  10. 10. Finding New Supporters•  73,000 new wolf activists through paid and organic sources•  $40,000 spent on paid sources  
  11. 11. One Year Later…•  31,000 took another action•  700 converted to donors online•  1,325 converted to donors via mail•  Break even – 15 months
  12. 12. Advocacy builds relationships.
  13. 13. Actions Increased Donor Value
  14. 14. Advocacy keeps donors engaged.
  15. 15. Analysis of Advocacy’sImpact on Fundraising
  16. 16. Activists: 2+ actions Sept – Nov = 4x more likely to give at year end Online Offline Emails Action Takers Conversion Conversion UnsubsMoved into 2+, Highly Responsive: 6,172 9.0% 1.0% 0.2% 1.9%Stayed in L: 88,293 0.7% 0.2% 0.1% 2.0%Prior 2+ Action Takers: 66,239 12.2% 1.0% 0.3% 1.9%Moved into L: 30,817 2.3% 0.4% 0.1% 3.7%
  17. 17. Donors: 2+ actions Sept – Nov = 26% more income at year end Online Offline Emails Action Takers Conversion Conversion UnsubsMoved into 2+, Highly Responsive: 6,172 9.0% 1.0% 0.2% 1.9%Stayed in L: 88,293 0.7% 0.2% 0.1% 2.0%Prior 2+ Action Takers: 66,239 12.2% 1.0% 0.3% 1.9%Moved into L: 30,817 2.3% 0.4% 0.1% 3.7%
  18. 18.    How Does it Work?
  19. 19. Activist Relationship Management Recruit Engage Convert Deepen
  20. 20. Recruit•  Be thoughtful about form of ask –  Pledge vs. contact your legislator –  Constituent relevance•  Multiple venues in addition to your website –  Paid online (e.g. Care2) –  Social media –  In the field•  Strong user experience•  Viral marketing including social media
  21. 21. Engage•  Acknowledge returning Web visitors•  Send tailored updates/ stories•  Related appeals•  Multi-channel appeals - email, text, social•  Rewards/ incentives
  22. 22. Convert•  Campaign specific donation forms•  Email welcome/ conversion series•  Follow up in timely fashion with mail, TM•  Apply filters to prioritize investment•  Select appeals based on advocacy actions
  23. 23. Website Activist to Donor Conversion
  24. 24. Food for Thought •  Major donors frequently active •  It’s increasingly critical to track messaging intensity/congruency across programs and channels
  25. 25.    Making the Economic Case
  26. 26. Online  Advocacy  Increases  Dona2ons   .47%   .07%   No  Online  Ac2on   Took  Ac2on  Online  Source: :  Charitable  Memberships,  Volunteering  and  Discounts:  Evidence  from  a  Large-­‐Scale  Online  Field  Experiment.  May  2009,  Na2onal  Bureau  of  Economic  Research,  A.  Lange,  A.  Stocking.  Sample  size  =    >  700,000  subjects.  
  27. 27. How do you measureeconomic value?•  Time to pay back investment•  Cost per donor•  Cost per dollar raised•  Return on Investment
  28. 28. Online Recruitment: It’s a Relationship Cumulative Donation Income (over  36  months)  250200150100 Return on Investment = Lifetime Value! 50 - 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 Source: M&R Strategic Services
  29. 29. Value of an Email Address Human & Environ- Annual Public Animal Social ment & ALL Donations Affairs Welfare Services WildlifeYear 1* $17.18 $4.81 $3.36 $15.91 $11.68Year 2 $8.59 $2.41 $1.68 $7.96 $5.84Year 3 $4.30 $1.20 $0.84 $3.98 $2.92Year 4 $2.15 $0.60 $0.42 $1.99 $1.46Year 5 $1.07 $0.30 $0.21 $0.99 $0.73Avg LifetimeValue Per Email $33.29 $9.32 $6.51 $30.83 $22.63* * Source: 2010 Convio Online Benchmark Study of roughly 300 nonprofits. Email addresses are usable only (approx50% of total addresses) Years 2 through 5 assume 50% per year drop off in donations.
  30. 30. Online Recruitment: Multi-Channel Returns Cumulative Donation Income Online Direct Mail Telemarketing250200150100 50 0 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 Source: M+R Strategic Services
  31. 31. Fully Load Your Expenses•  Direct Expenses –  Campaign costs (fixed and variable) –  Search Engine Marketing (SEM) –  Email appends –  etc.•  Indirect Expenses –  Consultants (fixed and variable) –  Social Media Outreach (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) –  etc.
  32. 32. The True Cost per LeadIf I spent $1,000 to acquire 1,000 new leads, I spent $1.00 per lead. Great price!But what if…•  100 leads have bad addresses; and 200 leads unsubscribe within first 3 mo.•  Now I’ve only got 700 leads, so the real cost per lead rises to 1,000/700 = $1.42And what if…•  Only 30% are opening my message.•  Now I’ve got only 210 active leads, and the real cost per lead is 1,000/210 = $4.76And what if…•  Only 10% of these people click through and only 10% of those donate?•  Then I paid $1,000 to buy two (2) donors, and my true cost ( Investment ) was $500 per donor. Quality Matters!
  33. 33. List Growth: Speed vs. Value 10High 9Quality Collecting Opt-ins Viral Campaigns on your site 8 Niche site e.g. Democrats.com Paid Acquisition from Google Adwords targeted audiences 7 6 Targeted List Swaps 5 4 Social Name Acquisition Large, Networks Canvassing General Audience 3Low Banner AdvertisingQuality 2 List Append 1 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Slow Growth Rapid Growth (<1k/month) (>10k/month)
  34. 34. Calculate the Value of your Leads SocialNetworkCalculator.com
  35. 35. Ryann MillerDirector, Nonprofit Services Yvonne Garrett416-651-9098 Partner, OMPryannm@care2team.com ygarrett@OMPDirect.comVinay BhagatFounder & Chief Strategy O cer, Conviovinay@convio.com Randy Paynter CEO & Founder, Care2 randy@care2team.com

×