Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

A New Age for the Catholic Church


Published on

Photo Inventory Project. This is a catholic church in my neighborhood. It was recently remodeled and it steps away from a tradition catholic church look by have modernized versions of very traditional symbols.

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

A New Age for the Catholic Church

  1. 1. A New Age for Catholic Church Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha Catholic Parish Caitlin Bridges
  2. 2. Altar The altar is located at the front and center of the chapel. Mass could be performed outside the chapel but it is never performed without an altar. It is said that the altar represents the table in the Last Supper. An altar always has one or more candles on it to represent Jesus Christ. The wax is his body; the wick is his soul; and the flame is his divinity.
  3. 3. Crucifix The large crucifix is hung directly above the altar. It can be seen from any seat in the chapel. It is there to serve as a reminder so every member of the parish can see exactly what Jesus had done for them. The crucifix is a sacred symbol that depicts the story of Jesus Christ and the Passion. It is also a sign of defense and protection.
  4. 4. Ambo The ambo is an elevated desk that is to the left of the altar. The Gospel and Epistle are read from the ambo. Ambo comes from Greek origin supposed to signify mountain or elevation. There is a microphone here rather than on the altar. Deacon’s Chair The deacon’s chair can also be seen in this picture. Deacon is another name for a minister. The deacon has many duties, not only to himself and the church but to the people of his parish as well.
  5. 5. Pews/Kneelers There pews are simply benches for the congregation to sit during Mass. They keep copies of the Bible and The Book of Psalms for the people to follow along. Kneelers are also there for those who want to kneel when they pray.
  6. 6. Ambry Oils Because of oil’s many uses, it is used as a significant symbol in the church. It is blessed and each oil has a different meaning. Oil of the Sick: Used to bless the ill could also be blessed in the home of someone sick to help their illness Catechumens: Explained by the fact that they were regarded to a certain extent as being possessed by the devil until Christ should enter into them through baptism. Oil of Chrism: Used immediately after baptism
  7. 7. Baptismal Font The Baptismal font is a vessel where the water for Baptisms is held. In this case it is a large fountain located at the back of the chapel. It has a place for the priest and a place for the person who is being baptized. Because this is a fountain, it makes it possible to submerge the child completely in the water for his or her baptism. Baptism is often described as “ the first sacrament” or “the door of the sacrament”. It is as if you are being reborn as a member of the church.
  8. 8. Eucharistic Chapel The Eucharistic Chapel is almost like a second chapel located behind the main room. It is a space left for private prayer. It contains holy water at the entrances to bless yourself. There are also confession rooms located here as well. This is a private area where one can confess their sins and be forgiven by a priest. There are different holy books also in this room.
  9. 9. Tabernacle The tabernacle is usually where the Blessed Sacrament is kept. This is kept in the Eucharistic Chapel, directly behind the main Chapel. It symbolizes what the tabernacle should represent. it represents the Blessed Sacrament, the body and blood of Christ. The tabernacle is present in many religions and is mentioned many times throughout important historical events.
  10. 10. Sanctuary Lamp The sanctuary lamp is carried in at the beginning of every Mass. It is also known as the altar lamp. It is kept with the Tabernacle when not in service. It signifies Christ and the pure light he brings. Processional Cross The Processional Cross is also carried in at the beginning of Mass. It is another representation of the Crucifix and what that symbolizes.
  11. 11. Stations of the Cross (Way of the Cross) There are 14 of these crosses located along the outside of the chapel. These 14 crosses depict certain scenes from the Passion of Christ. The object of the Stations is to help the faithful to make in spirit. 1. Christ condemned to death 2. The cross is laid upon him 3. His first fall 4. He meets His Blessed Mother 5. Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross 6. Christ's face is wiped by Veronica 7. His second fall 8. He meets the women of Jerusalem 9. His third fall 10. He is stripped of His garments 11. His crucifixion 12. His death on the cross 13. His body is taken down from the cross 14. Laid in the tomb.